We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice but had a strange encounter”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Crown Regency Suites Mactan
Ranked #23 of 41 Hotels in Mactan Island
Zamboanga City
Level Contributor
27 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Nice but had a strange encounter”
Reviewed 9 November 2009

The hotel was nice, and really posh. I stayed there with my family friends at their family room, complete with the kitchen, and dining area. Despite the fabulosity image of the room, its looks can be deceiving. It was really unexpected that as I was watching television in the living room area of the suite, I saw a teeny tiny mouse ran from the tv armoire to the room. And when I was throwing a trash in the bin found inside the kitchen cabinets, I saw a roach crawl out of the black trash bag. It was kinda disappointing for an elegant hotel to have animals like those in the room. I guess pests will be hardly controlled especially if cooking or storage of food is allowed in the suite, but then again, cleanliness should ever be jeopardized at all costs.

  • Stayed July 2006, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KathleenXy-za
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

229 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    31
    68
    78
    34
    18
See reviews for
66
42
23
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
54 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2009

This hotel is great! I was only with my bf but our room is big enough to accommodate 4, because of the sofa bed in the living room. The kitchen is fully-equipped with a microwave oven, fridge, rice cooker, toaster and gas range. The room had a bathtub, hot/cold water, hair dryer, cable tv. The room was clean, the staff very friendly. The in-house guests have access to the gym, swimming pool, spa and other services such as computer rentals, laundry, among others. The breakfast buffet is very good!!! :)

The downside: it's location. It's near Cebu City, but it's quite a bit far from the beaches and other tourist attractions within Mactan Island. In fact, we didn't think there was any place to go to within the vicinity. Good thing we knew someone from the staff and he asked the airport shuttle to bring us to the Lapu-lapu monument and Sutokil. Otherwise, we would have paid big bucks for the taxi fare. Good thing they have the Fifties Cafe for those who are craving for some nightlife even without leaving the hotel. Another downside: the curtain inside the room can't fully close because of the aircon unit. There's also a balcony, but not that great view though. I just saw grass and goats.........

Good thing our room was great and the bed was sooooo comfortable that we didn't mind staying inside the room and getting lazy. :)

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank redrained
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loughton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
126 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2009

Got a room for £33 a night through Asia Travel. We were given a large, clean (didn't see a single unwanted guest!) spacious room with kitchenette. There was a double and a single bed. It was a non-smoking on the 5th floor. Staff were very helpful and upon request will put the gass and untensils out for you. The kitchenette had a four ring gas hob, microwave and a large fridge.
When you arrive at the airport there is a Crown Regency reception and your shuttle is included in the price.
It is 150 pesos (£2) to the beach. I would recommend staying here if you are on a stop over. We went onto Bohol via the Ocean Jet from Pier 1.
There are nice restaurants and cafes all close by.
The gym is not great, the machines are run down and not maintained. Better than nothing though!

Stayed October 2009
Helpful?
2 Thank AlisonLoughton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Honolulu
Level Contributor
51 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2009

Decent room with a small kitchenette. My room had a lingering smell from the last visitor cooking something. Wasn't bad to me, but you could smell something. Free breakfast with the room.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LyketoGolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mactan Island hotels
0.5 mi away
Chambre Hotel Mactan
Chambre Hotel Mactan
#11 of 30 in Lapu Lapu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
1.2 mi away
Goldberry Suites & Hotel
Goldberry Suites & Hotel
#10 of 30 in Lapu Lapu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 266 reviews
1.4 mi away
Waterfront Airport Hotel and Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
ALTA Cebu Resort
ALTA Cebu Resort
#1 of 4 in Cordova
4.0 of 5 bubbles 306 reviews
0.2 mi away
Eloisa Royal Suites
Eloisa Royal Suites
#5 of 30 in Lapu Lapu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 401 reviews
0.8 mi away
Dulcinea Hotel and Suites
Dulcinea Hotel and Suites
#14 of 30 in Lapu Lapu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crown Regency Suites Mactan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crown Regency Suites Mactan

Property: Crown Regency Suites Mactan
Address: Maximo V. Patalinhug Jr. Avenue, 6015, Philippines
Region: Philippines > Visayas > Cebu Island > Mactan Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Mactan Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Crown Regency Suites Mactan 4*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sublime, captivating, and historical. Crown Regency Suites & Residences is located in an island famous for benchmarking a heroic event in the past or the famed Battle of Mactan, "Ang Kadaugan" or The Victory. Its interiors are a reflection of the indigenous nature of the city and its rich cultural history. Featuring 112 spacious and elegant suites and 36 picturesque garden villas, this Mediterranean-inspired property was one of the first in the Crown Regency Hotels & Resorts collection. The hotel is devoted to the pursuit of service and elegance that extends world-class comfort to every guest from arrival to departure. This 3-star hotel features the signature Lobby Lounge and other dining options, a sports center, a grand ballroom, a swimming pool, a playground, and a multi-purpose hall that can accommodate up to 1,800 guests. Guests will feel victorious in life while they stay at this grand hotel. Crown Regency Suites & Residences offers guests an extraordinary place that is created by combining exceptional architecture and structure, expressive décor and artistry, and magnificent features all in one great location. Airport pickup and drop off is available and free for all guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Travel Book Philippines, Inc., getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crown Regency Suites Mactan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crown Regency Suites Mactan Hotel Mactan Island
Regency Mactan Island
Mactan Island Regency
Crown Regency Suites Mactan Cebu Island/Mactan Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing