We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Miraya Hotel(Torre del Mar)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Villa al Alba(Torre del Mar)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Apartamentos Guerrero(Torre del Mar)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Beachfront
  • Free Internet
Apartamentos Proamar(Torre del Mar)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Apartamentos Acuario(Torre del Mar)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Apartamentos Torremar(Torre del Mar)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
B&B El Pajaro(Torre del Mar)
Booking.com
View Deal
Booking.com
View Deal
Reviews (156)
Filter reviews
156 results
Traveller rating
50
71
26
6
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
50
71
26
6
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsreception staffswimming poolcar parkinggreat hotelshort walk to the beachthe hotel is cleanshort breakon arrivalacross the roadpedestrianbalconyseatubspainfridgetoiletriesthursday
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 156 reviews
Reviewed 21 October 2016 via mobile

Big room, with a balcon. The room is quite. A swimming pool on the top of the building. Close to the boulevard and beached. You can park for free in the street. Cheap and good service. Nice stay here. Facilitirs downstairs

Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Jan-Auwke D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jesus P, Gerente at Hotel Mainake, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2016

Hi Jan:

Many thanks for take a few minutes to give us your review. We are very pleasant to read your words. You help us to improve with it.

We hope see you soon in our hotel.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2016 via mobile

Came across by chance. Booked directly with hotel. Compared to prices being charged by 1&2* hostels, €70 a night was not a bad price for this hotel.
We had room 315 which had a sea view in the distance which was unexpected and a surprise.
The hotel is situated literally around the corner from the beach.
Reception staff extremely helpful and always ready to say hello.
Beds really comfortable, pillows not so.
Bathroom was great with a good shower and normal size bath. Hot water was plentiful and good toiletries.

Breakfast was okay, a bit hit and miss. Sometimes fresh melon, sometimes not. They don't tell you that you order your cooked breakfast from the waitress. There is a big difference in breakfast items available at weekends compared to weekdays but croissants were always fresh. Coffee is absolutely dreadful. Only the cappuccino option is actually drinkable.

Room was cleaned and towels replaced everyday. Rooms were always spotless.

Pool area was always empty. Pool is separate from the sun beds and was freezing. Bring drinks up with you if you plan to spend a few hours relaxing as there is nothing up there.

As the hotel bar seems to close early which is a pity (good prices for drinks), make sure to have supply of water as there is nowhere to get water (vending machine would be handy). We managed to find a Chinese bazar luckily still open on way home to get water.
**Watch out for guys trying to sell you phones if you sit outside the hotel bar. We, although normally sensible, were conned on our first day.

There is a hairdresser directly opposite the hotels main entrance, cut colour and blow dry €31 and she's really fast too.
Parking (in September) was plentiful on the street.

Would definitely return to this hotel again if in the area.

Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Danielle2home
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jesus P, Gerente at Hotel Mainake, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2016

Dear Danielle:

Many thanks for take a few momentos to write your review. It help us to make better our hotel.

We hare very happy to read your words and we take note about the "problems" that you tell us.

We hope see you s as soon as possible.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2016

We spent a few days here to chill after visiting Nerja and before setting off for home. Location is near the Paseo Maritimo.
The hotel is clean and functional but in need of a facelift. Staff were pleasant and helpful.
Breakfast could have been better, most items were pre packed and coffee was a self service machine.
Rooftop pool was lovely, especially as it received the sun all day.

Room Tip: All rooms face towards the sea, but are obscured by towers of apartments infront
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank penninelass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jesus P, Gerente at Hotel Mainake, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2016

Many thanks for your review. Your words help us to make better our hotel.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2016

We have recently returned from a 4 day break in Torre Del Mar which is a beautiful fishing suburb in the South of Spain (Malaga airport roughly 40 minutes) - We arrived at the Mainake which is located in the back streets of the town but still offers sea views and the beach can be accessed within less than 5 minute breezy walk. The hotel facilitates were suitable for our needs, its a typical Spanish design which we found lovely. The pool is located on the roof which is a little alarming when traveling with small kids but we managed to come back with them both. The staff were superb and the rooms were clean and modern. We enjoyed breakfasting in the office one of the morning we stayed which was reasonable and tasty, if you visit Torre Del Mar the residents speak limited English so brush up or google translate. We would definitely returned to Torre Del Mar and would not hesitate to stay in the Mainake.

Room Tip: Quite roof top pool & sea views
  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank aidey1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jesus P, Gerente at Hotel Mainake, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2016

Hi! Many thanks for your review. We are very happy to read your words. I send this review to all people thar work in the hotel.

Many thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2016

We didn't even end up staying here because they cancelled our booking! I rang one day before we were due to arrive to check the cot bed arrangement for my baby and they said our booking was cancelled. The lady I spoke to, Miraya, was the most unprofessional and rude woman I have ever come across. No attempt to find us a solution or explain what had happened. Awful - just disgusting behaviour and attitude over the phone. Really upsetting, I do not recommend this hotel on the basis of how rude and unprofessional the staff have been.

Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
1  Thank allyliv12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jesus P, Gerente at Hotel Mainake, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2016

We are sorry about your incident but we remember you that the reserve (book) was canceled by your agency and you wanted to trick at our receptionist, telling her that you had other confirmed reserve (book) in our hotel. False!
As you will understand, we need (and want) to sell rooms without problems, but i repeat: You were who wanted to trick us.
In all Social Networks and Hotel Networks, our clients congratulated with all our receptionists, besides.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews