We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean decent rooms in a hotel well located for the ferries”
Review of Hotel HirtsHals

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel HirtsHals
Ranked #6 of 12 Hirtshals B&B and Inns
Reviewed 4 May 2014 via mobile

I had a clean, relatively recently decorated room with vaulted ceiling and French balcony. Initially the decor of the hotel, corridors and reception didn't inspire confidence but the room was much better.

Breakfast was a large range of continental items plus scrambled egg and sausages for those wanting them.

Hotel has high speed wifi which worked well. All in all a good value place with decent rooms and dated public areas.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
Thank RegularTravellerMatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (58)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

13 - 19 of 58 reviews

Reviewed 31 July 2013

A good location in the small town, but rarely does it feel so much like nobody cares about how the place is run. Sheets are clean and breakfast is ok and there on time, but nobody has wiped the dust in the rooms for quite a while and the staff thinks it's fine to blast their favourite tunes trough the hotel PA as they clean the breakfast room. Feels more like a hostel than a hotel for that reason.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aaltowave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2012

We were looking for a hotel in Hirtshals for one night, just before our ferry was leaving for the Faeroe Islands.
At the internet, I found the Hotel Hirtshals, at a room rate of 695 DKK (100 EURO), and a description "no luxury", as we got only a room in the attached Motel. But this description is very much misleading. What we found was an unacceptable bath room, dirty and with lots of moulds building up on the tiles and gaps. No TV, no telephone, light bulbs were missing, no pictures on the walls. Only the bed was just acceptable. The breakfast in the main builduing is very basic, nothing special, no fresh rolls, staff was sitting bored in the dining room.
Conclusion: definitely not recommendable!!! A Youth Hostel may have a better quality at a much lower price.

Room Tip: maybe there are good rooms in the main building, but definitely not in the Motel!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank cjbBheide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2011

I am shocked in reading previous reviews about this great hotel! We stay as regularly as possible on our trek driving through Europe just to get into Norway every year. Have found my disabled room clean-comfy-tv with good picture-staff are extremely helpfull and polite. I have already recommended this hotel with sea views and good food to many of my friends,and they have reported back to me and said "Thank you!" They stay themselves when they travel from Norway or the U.K. as regulars nowadays.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jayell50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2010

We have travelled in many countries in Europe, Asia and Africa, but this is the most dirty hotel ever. The location was good, just by the fishing harbour and the ocean, the outside look of it good (potential!), but inside.... You will not like to loose anything on the floor, it looks like it is rolled in dust. Bits and pieces from an electrician in a corner. The bathroom was dirty that you hesitate to go barefooted on it. The sink was cracked and the toiletring so worn that it looked like it had not been washed (maybe it hadn't?). The beds was comfortable though.

Electric cables across the floor in the breakfastroom. The cooling device for food had lost some sidepanels and the machinery inside was dusty and full of cobwebs.

If you have to stay a night in this little, boring danish town, waiting for a ferry, do it in Skagen some 50 km away.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lisbet-1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2010

The hotel didn't entirely meet our expectations... The first impression was an odor of unknown origin in the lobby, but not a pleasant one in any case... The bed and the room was ok, but how they managed to put the TV on the wall next to the head-end of the bed is beyond my comprehension... That, however didn't matter much, since the picture quality was bad, you could hardly watch it...

Buffet breakfast was ok... Half of the staff was friendly, the other half not...

Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
1  Thank galar71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
Thank Maritha Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hirtshals hotels
1 mi away
Motel Nordsoen
Motel Nordsoen
#2 of 4 in Hirtshals
82 reviews
0.8 mi away
Skaga Hotel
Skaga Hotel
#1 of 4 in Hirtshals
178 reviews
2.7 mi away
Tornby Strand Camping
Tornby Strand Camping
#5 of 8 in Hirtshals
18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Danland i HirtsHals - Feriehotel Fyrklit
2.7 mi away
Munchs Badehotel
Munchs Badehotel
#3 of 4 in Hirtshals
21 reviews
0 mi away
Seafront Hotel
Seafront Hotel
#6 of 8 in Hirtshals
15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel HirtsHals? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel HirtsHals

Address: Havnegade 2, Hirtshals, Hjorring 9850, Denmark
Region: Denmark > Jutland > North Jutland > Hjorring > Hirtshals
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Hirtshals
Price Range: £78 - £122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel HirtsHals 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel HirtsHals reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing