We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location for the ferry”
Review of Motel Nordsoen

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Motel Nordsoen
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Hirtshals
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent location for the ferry”
Reviewed 6 October 2013

We stayed overnight in both directions when travelling to/from Norway in July. We had a disabled accessible room with plenty of space and good shower. The room was clean and the beds comfortable. The room wasn't far from the reception and parking was just outside, so I can't comment on the rest of the hotel, which seemed to spread out at low level in all sorts of directions. The gardens were well maintained, with plenty of areas which had good seating and were lovely and sunny.

Excellent self-serve breakfast in the morning with refills for the buffet continually coming out. The staff at all times were friendly and very helpful.

Finally, it's only a couple of minutes from the ferry port so very convenient.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kitchenmaide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5
    28
    29
    7
    3
See reviews for
23
28
4
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2013 via mobile

My wife and I stayed over for one night before taking the ferry to Kristiansand. Convenient with two minutes to the ferry terminal. Friendly staff as well, and the rooms are clean. There is no television in the room, but that did not bother us. The room had two single beds, but we could easily rearrange and pull them together. The breakfast is also excellent.

Unfortunately, one of the beds did not have the additional top matress, and this made it hard to sleep on. We did not notice this until the morning, when one of us complained of a poor night's sleep. Furthermore, the window did not have anything but a light white curtain, which could not keep the light out. This means that in summertime, the room will be light as day from 4 am, which can make it difficult to sleep. The simple cafe (not restaurant) at the hotel across the street was fine with us, but if you want anything else than a burger, frites or a sandwich you are better off going into the city centre.

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Yrjar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bheide
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2013

Motel Nordsoen is a Family owned Hotel with very friendly staff and clean and quiet rooms. We had an excellent stay there for one night before our Ferry left to the Faroe Islands. Breakfast is good and always fresh. Overall good value for Money and truly a good place in Hirtshals!

Room Tip: so far as we could see, all rooms are ok, all are quiet, no traffic close by!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cjbBheide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norway
Level 6 Contributor
72 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2013

We stayed here one night after arriving late with the ferry from Norway. This is actually a former high school that has been made into a motel. Nicely located not far from the sea, and also close to Hirtshals centre. We had a quite big room that had been renovated the week before we arrived, so everything was spotlessly clean and in perfect condition. A big bathroom also well suited for people using wheelchairs. The breakfast was good with all things fresh. This is a family run motel, so the whole family seemed to take part in the business. All of them very friendly. Wifi was free, but only working in the public area.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pebe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2012

I stayed here in October 2012 while on a course in Hirtshals. There was nothing wrong with this place but it was not stunning either. In terms of a roof over your head, tidiness, and a place for breakfast it gets a pass mark. A lot of rooms have no internet access however and I think that is quite poor in this day and age. I've stayed in few places in recent years that don't provide wireless internet to all rooms, or at least the option of an ethernet cable. The motel was hosting 26 people from all over the world for a course and easy internet access would have been helpful

Snacks were available from reception for a reasonable price and the staff were were reasonably friendly

Room Tip: If you want internet access be sure to ask for a room that has it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hoki_man_NZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2012

excellent location for an overnight stay before catching ferry to Norway. Easy stroll to restaurant over road for dinner and excellent breakfast in the morning. Helpful and cheerful family staff.

Room Tip: all rooms seemed identically good
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank win12chester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
norway stavanger
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2011

very close to boat terminal. nice staff very helpful. big large room and clean.nice placed motel close to the sea. breakfast is ok. will stay again at this motel thanks steve norway/ english

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank aafk_steve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hirtshals
0.2 mi away
Skaga Hotel
Skaga Hotel
#1 of 4 in Hirtshals
162 reviews
3.0 mi away
Munchs Badehotel
Munchs Badehotel
#2 of 4 in Hirtshals
20 reviews
8.8 mi away
Hotel Phonix Hjorring
Hotel Phonix Hjorring
#6 of 7 in Hjorring
61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.3 mi away
Color Hotel Skagen
Color Hotel Skagen
#1 of 4 in Skagen
258 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hotel Strandlyst
Hotel Strandlyst
#4 of 12 in Hirtshals
43 reviews
8.3 mi away
Hjorring Camping
Hjorring Camping
#11 of 23 in Hjorring
10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel Nordsoen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel Nordsoen

Property: Motel Nordsoen
Address: Niels Juelsvej 32, Hirtshals, Hjorring 9850, Denmark
Region: Denmark > Jutland > North Jutland > Hjorring > Hirtshals
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Hirtshals
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Motel Nordsoen 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Motel Nordsoen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing