We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dump”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of The Magnesia Bank

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
The Magnesia Bank
Ranked #70 of 106 Restaurants in North Shields
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Dump”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2014

Music when "bands" playing FAR too loud - could be heard streets away! Reasonable selection of beers but sadly mostly based around British keg beers

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    11
    5
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Whitley Bay
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fabulous Pub”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2013

My family recently held a function at the Magnesia Bank and we were delighted with the service and in particular the help of Mike the manager. It has a lovely atmosphere and is very warm and inviting. The drinks are a good price and the food we had was lovely. We look forward to going back and watching a band soon.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Rachel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Belter pub”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2013

Have enjoyed many a great band at the Magnesia Bank. The staff are pleasant and you get served quickly. The food is good too. Oldy Worldy, roaring coal fire, warm atmosphere. Well done x

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fantastic Pub Great Food And Drink”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2013

Myself and my wife have been here many time and absolutely love it. The Magnesia Bank gets a ten out of ten from me. A lovely friendly place to go for a meal and a drink.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Hypnosis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Great Live Music”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2012

Great bar, lovely atmospehere.
Good live music acts and some great beers. Have heard that Sunday lunch is worth a look too so thats next on our agenda.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank henryhoover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Magnesia Bank also viewed

North Shields, Tyne and Wear
North Shields, Tyne and Wear
 
North Shields, Tyne and Wear
North Shields, Tyne and Wear
 
North Shields, Tyne and Wear
North Shields, Tyne and Wear
 

Been to The Magnesia Bank? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing