We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't Judge a Book etc !!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Quay Taphouse

Quay Taphouse
Ranked #1 of 106 Restaurants in North Shields
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Cheap Eats, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, After-hours, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
101 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Don't Judge a Book etc !!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014

Popped into Tap House for a light lunch and was pleasantly surprised by quality of food, as on first sight, one would perhaps be forgiven for having reservations. Styled as a Tapas Eaterie, the portions are however, proper Northern !! ie we chose two to share & these were quite adequate for a lunchtime snack. Both were delicious - chicken in honey & mustard / hake goujons.
For an evening one could easily be tempted to go for two or three items from the menu.
Worth a pop in to anyone - or sit outside & watch the river flow by -

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Christine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    183
    54
    13
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014

Great choice of food and reasonably priced. Good atmosphere and pleasant staff. Would recommend this restaurant for a nice lunch with friends

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank turkeyfan28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Shields, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
108 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“KEEP IT A SECRET”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

I must say I am very reluctant to give this review. This is based on selfishness alone. I do not want too many people to know about this hidden gem of a pub on the North Shields fish quay. Praise indeed from a born and bred Sandy!!! (Locals will know but to those who do not it means I was born and bred in South Shields). I have eaten here a few times over the last few weeks and have never been disappointed. The 3 tapas and a bottle of house wine for £18.95 is an absolute bargain which is available between 3pm and 6pm. The portions are very generous and offer plenty of variety. The potted crab is a must which is my personal favourite. My wife and I normally get 1 Extra tapas and that is more than enough for the two of us. Also you can always upgrade the wine for something of your liking for a minimal cost. Every time I have been at all times through the week it has been busy. So be prepared to wait for a table at busy times. There is also a good selection of beers. If possible get a seat at a window to view the traffic on the river which is only a few yards away from the pub. Please do not tell too many people keep it a secret!!!!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Freddie4B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
“Good experience ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2014 via mobile

Definitely happy with the experience. Big plates (lots of pine nuts and a fully dressed salad), affordable prices and a pleasant atmosphere. Good choice for vegetarians as well! Recommended!

Helpful?
Thank Pier T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“fab food as always”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014

enjoyed the offer 3 tapas and a bottle of wine for £18.95 food was amazing, especially enjoyed the potted crab, been several times and food is always good, nice clean place to eat and even on a wednesday evening business was steady xx

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank lynn823
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Quay Taphouse also viewed

North Shields, Tyne and Wear
North Shields, Tyne and Wear
 
North Shields, Tyne and Wear
North Shields, Tyne and Wear
 

Been to Quay Taphouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing