We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal Snowy Log Cabin!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Saariselka
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Saariselka Inn Log Cabins
Reviewed 22 January 2013

Just returned from a week in the Saariselka log cabins.
We booked independently through booking dot com, and got flights from heathrow to ivalo via helsinki with finnair.
We arrived late on a sunday night, the woman in the Panimo Pub reception was quite rude and abrupt, gave us a map of how to get to the cabins and sent us on our way (she did offer to call a taxi to take us there) We asked to hire bed linen and towels which was only an extra 5 euro for the week.

The cabins are only a short 10 minute walk from the Panimo pub, we stayed in number 2.
As others have said the lighting is not that bright but it adds to the charm of the cabin, making it extra cosy. We did bring a lantern to brighten things up.
The cabin has pokers so you can cook your own sausages/marshmallow on the log fire. As others have said a massive supply of wood on the porch.
The sauna is excellent, perfect for drying your clothes aswell.
We brought food with us to keep us going - sausages, smash, tea bags, cheese, ham, beans, soup, but you can get these in the supermarket out there too, the hob and microwave was enough to cook a few meals with.

We booked the 5 days of skiing lessons at the ski school, which we enjoyed, Me and my husband are at different levels and the instructor accommodated us both very well. It was -24 for a couple of days so we had to have a break after an hour to warm up a bit! The ski school is about a 20 minute walk from the cabin, you can get a bus but we enjoyed the walk there (we got the bus back on the first day as we were aching!)

We booked a northern lights safari with Top Safaris, which was expensive but well worth it as we got to see the northern lights! (cost 300 Euro)
We also saw the lights as we were walking back to the cabin on our last night, they appeared towards the top of the mountain - looking up the hill form the cabin, we did walk up there a couple of nights trying to see them to no avail but that is the beauty of the lights, they could appear at any time - and only for a few minutes.

We eat pizza (13 euro) at the pirkon pirtti a couple of nights, and had nice burgers at the supermarket restaurant too (around 8 euro for a meal), we also tried the scan burger at the petrol station, which was nice.
We brought two boxes of wine from the UK to have in the cabin.
We drank beer at a few restaurants for 6-7 euro a pint.

We had 'daylight' from around 10am until 3pm

Overall an excellent trip, would go back anytime! Had a lot of fun on the toboggan run too!

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank vanilla8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (69)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

40 - 46 of 69 reviews

Reviewed 20 January 2013

CABINS
We went to Saariselka over the new year 2012/2013 and stayed in the 3* log cabins known as 'Panimo' cabins.The cabins are basic but amazing, the fire is very easy to light and keeps the already warm cabin cosy. There are heaters in each room and underfloor heating in the bathroom. We used the sauna every day, which was good for getting rid of the aches and pains of skiing!!
TOWN
Saariselka is quite a big town and the cabins are about a 10 miunte walk away, there is a huge supermarket whiich sells everything you might need, lots of shops and hotels. We did take some things which we found useful and saved us money: Noodles, variety pack cereal, matches, tea bags, pasta and other dry stuff but all could have been bought there. We ate out a couple of times at the Holidays club Italian and the Tunturi hotel, food is very nice and mostly reasonably priced.

ACTIVITIES
We did not pre-book anything (though others did) and this was not a problem as everything is always available, we did the huskies (very short but sweet) and the 3 mountains snow mobile expedition, which was excellent and well worth the extra money, we wanted to ski for 3 days but you have to do this concesutivly though inghams and as days are set in stone for excursions this was not possible, inghams did not offer a 2 day package so we booked straight with the ski centre and this was very easy. The tobaggan run is amazing, it can get a bit bumpy if there is no fresh snow, but otherwise is great fun. The ski bus is 5 euros for the day and is the best way to get to the top of the tobaggan run, we managed to catch the bus 5 times in one day for 5 full runs, you can walk up but it takes about 1/2 hour.

All in all we all had a fantastic time although we did not see the northern lights, i would reccomend this resort and the 3* cabins (though not B&B as you have to walk to the hotel every morning and are governed by times, you may not feel like an early morning after watching out for the northern lights all night!!)

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Charliebaby19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2013

My boyfriend and I booked Saariselka log cabins through Inghams, for 7 nights from 2nd Dec 2012. We wanted to try skiing but also wanted to experience Lapland so we thought we'd kill two birds with one stone.
Firstly I'd just like to say how good the outbound flight was. We flew with Jet2 and they really did make it so magical for the kids on the plane. The air hostess's got all the kids up to the front to the mic and they sung rudolph the red nose reindeer, then the pilot came over and said 'did you hear that boys and girls, that was santas reindeer latching onto the plane, they're going to guide us in safely'. It was brilliant!
On arriving at Kittila airport, we were told that there only ourselves and a family of four were travelling to Saariselka (3 hour transfer). We were told on our transfer by one of our lovely reps Becky, that Saariselka is approx 160 miles in from the arctic circle and is the northernmost winter sports centre in Finland. She also told us that Saariselka is an extremely small village, with a ratio of 300 reindeer to every 1 person. Also saw quite a few reindeer on our transfer, the minibus driver would slow down so we could see them.
We arrived quite late, so couldnt eat anywhere as all closed, so defo recommend taking soups or packet pastas to cook for the first night if you're arriving late. We met our Rep David on arriving and he kindly took us to our cabin. We stayed in the beautiful Panimo cabins, number 8. Panimo cabins are in the woods, about a 15 minute walk from the other hotels and restaurants, but its a good fun walk if you can find a sled.
We collected our thermal suits & boots the following morning. I highly recommend hiring these as they were exceptional prices if you pre-book, £9 for the week for boots and £24 for the week for the all in one suit. They were in excellent condition and so warm.
The ski bus took us to the ski centre each day, only 5 mins up the road. Ski centre was fantastic, very friendly instructors and all spoke excellent English. Slopes were empty the week we were there, but started getting busier towards the end. Highly recommend pre-booking all ski stuff. Tution, ski passes, ski equipment etc. Much cheaper!!
We also did the Husky safari which was excellent, scottish bloke who trains his huskies professionally showed us around and gave us a talk about his dogs. My boyfriend did the mushing and I sat in the sled. Also did the snowmobiles, and this was hands down THE best experience, ended up just me and my boyfriend and the instructor. Took us out for an hour through woods, and up mountains in search of the Northern Lights. Didnt see them but was still an amazing adventure.
Saariselka also had one of the longest toboggan runs in Europe. If you see a plastic sled hanging about the village you can just pick it up and use it, take it to the toboggan run and go go go!! Its so much fun!
Weather went down to as cold as -26 during one of the days on the slopes so really really do wrap up warm.
Overall this was THE BEST holiday I've ever been on and I am dying to go back already. I recommend to everyone!!!!!!

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ChelseErsser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2013

As three adults which included myself and my twenty something daughter and son I am excited to say our booked holiday with Inghams to Saariselka over the Christmas period 23rd-30thDec 2012 was everything and more.
I had booked to stay in a log cabin (Panimo 10) which suited us totally,giving us plenty of space to relax whenever we had time.My son soon took on Bear Ghrylls mode and was out collecting firewood to keep us womenfolk cosy and really warm.The cabin became so hot on one occasion that I had to venture out in my pyjamas into the arctic chill to cool down.
We missed breakfast in the hotel each morning even though I had booked half board in the Tunteri Hotel.It was our choice to do this but assisted by the fact that it was a good 15 min walk from our cabin to the hotel.We all thoroughly enjoyed our evening meals and the walk there and back helped walk off the reindeer steaks and salmon.
All the activities which included huskies,reindeer and my favourite snow mobile journey into the forest late evening were booked prior to leaving and although add quite an extra cost to the holiday are a must.
The resort itself is charming and although it was a bit off putting not to get any eye contact or conversation with people as you walked about.(difficult as I am Welsh and say hello to everyone)
The shopkeepers and restaurant workers were all lovely and keen to help but it is of note that the incidence of depression is greater due to the lack of sunlight.
A special thanks must be said to David the one and only Inghams rep for our resort.He was so helpful and very caring ensuring that everyones need were catered and so good with all the well behaved beautiful children.
I packed far too much as didnt want to get cold but truth was that I was toasty warm most of the timeWould recommend the hire of thermal suits and boots then with your two or three layers underneath no problem.Everything is slowly peeled off once indoors.
This has certainly been a most memorable and magical Christmas.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank BestsUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2013

Stayed in cabin - which was gorgeous. Sauna was easy to use. Everything worked well. Cd player and TV found channels which were in English but then to be honest we wernt there to watch tv. Kitchen was well equipped. Log burner took a while to get going and would def recommend buying firelighters as otherwise you will be there for a while but once going was so hot in cabin - in the end we only burned it for few hours max. The cabins are not really signposted so do remember your way as in dark you may not remember LOL! We wernt the only ones either who did this. Cabins are set about 15min walk from main area in town and toboggan run. Very picturesque and quiet! Winter wonderland id say. When we had a lot of snow - owner come and cleared steps to cabins and pathways. Plenty of bedding provided and set of towels. Bin area to dispose of cabin rubbish was found by pure chance which was near exit of cabin area. Overall a fantastic time and would def recommend staying here. Storage is a little limited for a large family. Our group had 2 cabins and could not fault either.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cadburygirlUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2012

We travelled with Inghams and had great service from David, their rep.The cabins are beautiful but a little dark, as everything non-electrical is made of wood, even the lampshades so you definitely need a torch or two! We took frozen bacon and bread rolls for the first night and oats and dried soups. The supermarket is good and prices not too dissimilar to UK.
We skied but not all slopes were open which I suppose is early season for you. Lots of lovely walks though through pretty snowy woods. We walked to the ski centre, it's about 30 mins.
The sauna in the cabin is great and easy to use. We took our ipad with downloaded films which whiled away a few very early dark nights. TV reception is poor and little for English speakers. All in all, a pretty location and a relaxing break.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank Longhurst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2012

just got back from saariselka, stayed in no 10 panimo cabin, excellant accomodation, warm and cosy, beautiful setting amongst the trees., so peaceful and scenic and made more special by the visit from a reindeer who liked to call at each cabin to try his luck for food. Would definately go back for another week as theres plenty to do in the area and plenty of things we didnt have time to do. Only dissapointment was not seeing the northern lights but maybe next time we might be lucky....
Definately hire thermal suits and boots and take plenty of thermals,fleeces etc,. We booked with inghams and the service was first class David our rep was brill and on hand from beginning to the end of the holiday joining us on the trips etc , we did the huskys and reindeers and snowshoeing which i might add you need to be fit as its like a two hour workout!! The tobbogan run is brill n also the ski slopes which were quiet while we there . All in all a brilliant winter holiday hope i get the chance to go again some day.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank judyYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Saariselka hotels
0.3 mi away
Santa's Hotel Tunturi
Santa's Hotel Tunturi
#3 of 6 in Saariselka
379 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lapland Hotel Riekonlinna
Lapland Hotel Riekonlinna
#5 of 6 in Saariselka
385 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Club Saariselka
Holiday Club Saariselka
#4 of 6 in Saariselka
514 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Wilderness Hotel Muotka
Wilderness Hotel Muotka
#1 of 6 in Saariselka
244 reviews
6.2 mi away
Kakslauttanen Arctic Resort
0.1 mi away
Lodge Kuukkeli Teerenpesa
Lodge Kuukkeli Teerenpesa
#6 of 7 in Saariselka
20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Saariselka Inn Log Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saariselka Inn Log Cabins

Address: Saariselaentie 10, Saariselka 99830, Finland
Region: Finland > Lapland > Saariselka
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Speciality Lodging in Saariselka
Number of rooms: 12
Also Known As:
Saariselka Log Cabins Hotel Saariselka
Saariselka Inn Log Cabins Finland - Lapland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing