We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unforgettable experience.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Saariselka
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Saariselka Inn Log Cabins
Reviewed 2 April 2013

If you are looking for a new experience, log cabins are really great.
Made solely of wood, they offer you a chance to enjoy a simple lifestyle, which comes with the convenience of a good hotel.

Don't expect jacuzzis, but there are 2 rooms, a living room, small kitchen and a sauna.
Great for a family or a small group.

The breakfast is as simple as the accomodation, but sushi or lavish variety of dishes would definitely feel out of place.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EgorParienko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (69)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

33 - 39 of 69 reviews

Reviewed 23 February 2013

This was our second visit to Finland (previously staying at Basecamp Oulanka near Kuusamo through Exodus), & it's likely we'll return again. We booked this trip through Inghams as we wanted to stay in a log cabin & to avoid a flight connection in Helsinki. The bus transfer to Saariselka takes 3 hours, so in reality we could probably have arrived sooner if we'd flown to Ivalo via Helsinki, but this would have meant arranging accommodation & transfers ourselves.

Saariselka is a small town, but there are enough activities, shops & restaurants etc for a week's visit.

The Panimo cabins are 10-15 mins walk from the town. We got lost a couple of times in the first few days, as one snowy tree looks much like another, & there are few signs. We stayed in cabin 5; there are 10 cabins arranged in a horseshoe type shape. The cabins are in a quiet wooded area; most overlook either another Panimo cabin or separate cabins, but there is no sense of being in a crowded area. The cabins have a front porch, where we sat most days with a hot drink. The cabins could sleep 10 people, even though they're advertised as for 2-6. There are 2 small bedrooms, which each sleep 3 people - a single bunk over a double - but at 5' 2" I would have struggled to use the bunk as there's no ladder. There's a mezzanine/loft area which can sleep 2 or 3, plus the lounge seating area could sleep another 2. We didn't want to feel compelled to eat at a hotel every day, so we chose to self-cater. The kitchen is well equipped & can easily provide breakfast & pasta & rice dinners. There's a toaster & a kettle, plus 2 rings, a microwave & fridge. For us it was the right choice, as we could have a lazy breakfast, before going out for the day. The supermarket is large, & prices are reasonable, although fruit is expensive. Alcohol from the bottle shop next door was more expensive than the UK, but still affordable - red wine for < €10. The electric heaters work extremely well, so the wood burner isn't really needed but it gives a cosy feel to the cabin. Wood & matches are provided; pick up some free newspapers from the supermarket entrance. The lighting in the cabin is poor, so if you want to read in the evening, you either need to sit directly under one of the lights or to have a tablet. Brighter bulbs or more lights would be an improvement. There's a table & 2 benches, plus a corner seating area, but there are no chairs, so by the end of the week we both had backache. A couple of kitchen chairs, or better still two comfy chairs by the wood burner might tempt me to return to these cabins.

We are not skiiers but we love the snow & wanted a chance to see the Northern lights, hence choosing Saariselka. We booked a day of cross-country skiing & a snowshoe walk with Top Safari (via Inghams), plus we hired snowsuits & boots from them. The groups were of mixed ability, but Paulo is a very patient instructor.The snowsuits are very good, so if you don't have ski gear, at £30 hire for the week, they're a good choice. There's a 2-3 & 7-8km snowshoe walk through the national park, plus a 1200m toboggan run which we did. We only saw the northern lights once as the other nights were cloudy. It wasn't a strong sighting but I got some photos. Overall, we did a nice mix of things.

We only ate out once, so we treated ourselves to a meal at the Siberia restaurant. We had an excellent evening, & felt the food was as good as any we've eaten in London - very impressive given how remote Saariselka is. The restaurant describes its menu as "a surprise menu", which means the chef is in charge! The menu changes daily & it uses local ingredients. The dishes were all excellent & presented beautifully. Fish & reindeer were served, but the standout dish for me was a mushroom brulee; given I don't really like mushrooms, this shows how good the food is. The staff were lovely, with very good English, so we knew exactly what we were eating. The 6 course tasting menu is €75 per person, which we felt was reasonable, & comparable with UK prices in restaurants of a similar standard. The wine list is expensive though, with no red wine <€50, so that pushes the bill up. We would highly recommend this restaurant,

We are not 'package' holiday fans (welcome meetings & all that), but this trip worked well for us.

Room Tip: Cabins 8, 9 & 10 are the furthest from the road & set back from the others
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
7  Thank 1WO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2013

Nice log cabins situated a short walk from the village centre. They are fairly basic with a two ring electric hob and a microwave for cooking, and a wood burner and electric heaters to keep you warm. The beds are comfortable enough, but the loft beds can be really warm at night. We found it best to light the wood burner early evening and leave it to go out an hour or so before bed time. There is plenty of chopped wood available outside the door just remember to bring it in to dry for a bit before using it.

The sauna is a nice addition, not as hot as some but still a nice relaxing way to warm up after a day on the ski trails. Set it to max about an hour before you want it and it does the job. Don't mess with the timer too much or it will come on in the middle of the night.

There are two supermarkets in the village for your food. Choice is limited compared to the UK, but there is plenty of pasta and that sort of thing so you won't starve. The one by the tourist info is far nicer. Prices are perhaps slightly higher than the UK, bread was around 1 Euro a loaf and a bottle of water is a little over 1 Euro. A bottle of Coke costs around 5 Euros for a pack of two 1.5 bottles but is more expensive if you buy smaller bottles out and about. Coffee is cheap and available just about everywhere.

Alcohol is sold on the Alko supermarket attached to the main supermarket but has different opening times. It is not open on Sundays and closes daily at 6pm. Spirts cost about the same as the UK, perhaps a little more but I'm not a spirit's drinker so I can't really say. A box of win is between 30 and 50 Euros but the local stuff is under 10 for a litre carton and is drinkable enough unless you're a connoisseur! You can buy beer in the "normal" supermarket too, but not wine or spirit's.

If you prefer to eat out try the restaurant at the Tunturi. A burger or pizza will set you back around 10 to 15 Euros and is well worth it. A beer with your meal is around 6 Euros. There are a few other restaurants dotted around and prices seem daily similar everywhere. The restaurant at the top of the tobbogan run.is also very good.

The cabins are an excellent base for you holiday if you don't mind a little extra effort. They are incredibly peaceful and easily spacious enough for a couple or a family.of four. I would happily go back and stay there again.

Room Tip: Take some food for your first night and save yourselves a lot of hassle. And don't forget the te...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2013

Quaint, charming log cabins situated on the outskirts of the village.
Very cosy, and the log burner was the perfect added touch.
The cabin was clean, comfortable and definitely spacious enough for four, although it may be a bit cramped if six/seven people are staying there.
Would recommend it to anyone wanting to stay somewhere a bit different

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank ImogenCB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2013

We stayed in Panimo Cabin 5 as part of our week in Saariselka booked via Inghams. The cabins are postivitely chariming in every way and ideal as they are set slightly outside the main village - around a 10/15 min walk via a lovely path to the main street. They are set far enough apart to feel private which is nice. We had all we needed inside, they are rustic but cozy and warm, and the sauna is simply brilliant - we had one every night. Agree with previous poster about firelighters as the log burner sometimes struggled to get going. There are two supermarkets where you can buy everything you might need. We are definately going back to Saariselka and plan to stay at the cabins again - we loved it.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank weemoose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2013 via mobile

Wife and i stayed in the Panimo Log Cabin lovely, peaceful location. Saariselka is a excellent resort not only for families but also was very relaxing for couples. Wife as Coeliac could find somewhere to eat in various cafes and restaurants around Saariselka.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2013

My wife & I travelled to Saariselka January 13-20, 2013 & we have nothing but praise for this wonderful winter wonderland. Its a beautiful Lappish town set in the fells of Northern Lapland.
We went to do a little bit of skiing aswell as take in the reindeer & husky & snowmobile safari's & the tobaggan run.
Do make the most of every available opportunity as it's worth the money you pay.
The log cabins are in a fantastic location, out in the woods with stunning scenery - great for photographers. They have 2 bedrooms, a mezzanine, a wet room/shower room/toilet & their very own sauna. A small kitchen with microwave, 2 electric rings & a fridge, basic but you wouldnt want it any other way. There is a TV - though we never used it.They are about a 10 minute walk from the centre of town & the ski bus stop.
If you prefer to walk to the ski centre & not take the bus, its around a 20 minute walk.
It is extremely cold, but I still feel we packed too much. you can get by with 2 pairs of base layers/thermals, a couple of fleeces & ski gear, or you can hire thermal suits for a minimal charge.
Thermal suits are provided on the snowmobile safari - we opted to go out at night in serach of the Northern Lights & were lucky enough to see them for the second time in our weeks stay here. By the end of the week we had seen them four times, our last night being the most impressive & they came out to play a few times - they are truly awesome. There is an information board outside Panimo Inn that is quite accurate in its predictions of % & strength of the lights in the coming hours - do take note & have camera ready on the highest ISO available.
I could go on forever about this amazing place, but in a nutshell its beautiful, cold but well worth a visit.
Its not as expensive as we had first thought, we returned with a good slice of our foreign currency, we ate out twice at 2 different restaurants - which can be pricey, but your'e only here once & you have to try the reindeer! I believe all the restaurants are up to a very high standard, we certainly had no complaints.
The Scan Burger at the gas station does huge burgers, more than enough should you want a cheaper option.
The local supermarket is well stocked & has take-away pizzeria also, reasonably priced & decent food.
All in all, a fantastic place & hope to go again someday.
We went as skiiers, taking a break from the usual resorts in central Europe, we wanted to stay in a log cabin to see the Northern Lights & were not disappointed. The cabins were better than I expected & the Northern Lights were mesmerizing.
We fully recommend this holiday to anyone, there is plenty to do - or not, if thats what you wish.
We travelled with Inghams from Birmingham to Kittila then about a 3 & half coach ride to resort.
The Inghams rep, David, is very knowledgeable & friendly & helped me out with a lost ski glove!
FULLY RECOMMENDED A+++

Room Tip: Log cabins are quite dark inside, even the lampshades are made of wood, but it adds to the cosiness...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
4  Thank lonewolf_534
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Saariselka hotels
0.3 mi away
Santa's Hotel Tunturi
Santa's Hotel Tunturi
#3 of 6 in Saariselka
379 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lapland Hotel Riekonlinna
Lapland Hotel Riekonlinna
#5 of 6 in Saariselka
385 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Club Saariselka
Holiday Club Saariselka
#4 of 6 in Saariselka
514 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Wilderness Hotel Muotka
Wilderness Hotel Muotka
#1 of 6 in Saariselka
245 reviews
6.2 mi away
Kakslauttanen Arctic Resort
0.1 mi away
Lodge Kuukkeli Teerenpesa
Lodge Kuukkeli Teerenpesa
#6 of 7 in Saariselka
20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Saariselka Inn Log Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saariselka Inn Log Cabins

Address: Saariselaentie 10, Saariselka 99830, Finland
Region: Finland > Lapland > Saariselka
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Speciality Lodging in Saariselka
Number of rooms: 12
Also Known As:
Saariselka Log Cabins Hotel Saariselka
Saariselka Inn Log Cabins Finland - Lapland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing