We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cosy,authentic,quality accomodation in pristine peaceful wilderness”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Saariselka
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Saariselka Inn Log Cabins
Manila, Philippines
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Cosy,authentic,quality accomodation in pristine peaceful wilderness”
Reviewed 21 January 2014

Memorable stay in the cottages through Saariselka inn for 5 nights DEC 2013 .9 days overall in Saariselka - a perfect stay Prisitine lovely surroundings with perfect level of snow on the trip ..lucky enough to extend the stay for another night in the cottages so great flexibility of staff ! They have fantastic facilities in the town and the accomodation are close but remote enough from the town 10 minutes away to feel you have plenty of peace and to enjoy the walk. All the log cabins have ample space between them so can make your own snow sculptures peacefully. Lovely log fire and great to have all kitchen facilities in good working order. Authentic snow living even if only a holiday!The property clean with necessary bedding that you can hire. The accomodation catered for 6 comfortably so extremely spacious for 2 and definitely christmas feel. The bathroom - clean and roomy , great to have a sauna. The size and layout perfect,.Cosy bunks spacious enough to sleep two on bottom bunks and the window layout means lucky enough to catch the animals while snug inside in bed . The large white rabbit burrowing in the twilight was a highlight! the toboggan run awesome fun and an interesting history museum in the town in the tourism building. Pleasantly surprised by services such as sweeping of the ice snow on the verandahs and making sure wood there for the fire. Saariselka inn staff always available for help.

The supermarket has a wide range of goods and plenty of reasonable restuarants pubs and cafes and entertainment including live music. All open reasonable hrs. All the activities great No northern lights this time but still worth the visit. Great weather, great stay and the cost is reasonable considering the opportunities and the sheer enjoyment! Just need to work out the best options. Accessability to have fun solitude and peace in natural wilderness with no cost including town activities in the central street. Recommend accomodation /location -Its just pristine peaceful remote wilderness to enjoy for all and all ages and the beauty the environment with the accessability to all entertainment and activities in walking distance in perfect light makes it all easy ! A great place to lose track of time have exhilerating adventures and enjoy breathtaking scenery. Remember to book for 24th Dec if out to dinner . Christmas eve is the Finish traditional celebration date and alcohol is expensive in Finland.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank evafam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    49
    14
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
28
19
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bexhill-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2013

We booked a Panimo Cabin in Saariselka through Inghams, and had great holiday. The cabins are located about 10 minutes walk from town and are VERY quiet (which appealed to us). The cabins have an open plan reception room with a living area at one end; a simple kitchen diner at the other; and a wood-burner in the middle. In the back of the cabin are two bedrooms, with a sunken sauna & wet room in the middle and a mezzanine (serving as a third bedroom) above.

Inghams excursions included a reindeer safari (interesting & informative); a husky safari (great fun, but we'd pay extra for the maxi rather than the mini next time); a snowmobile safari (2 hours and approx 30km into the wilderness); and a visit to Santa's house (a tacky, over-priced, commercial rip-off with all the magic removed: avoid at all costs). However, the real highlights were ice-skating (free of charge, but hire your skates at a shop in the village first) and the longest toboggan run in Finland.

Great support from the Inghams rep: thank you David!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nigel J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leyburn
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2013

We travelled to Saariselka with Inghams, it was well organised and David the rep was very friendly and helpful. The cabins are great, very rustic and very fitting for a Lapland visit. They are very dark though so be organised, trying to find stray thermals and socks in the gloom on a morning was a chore. We took a few strings of fairy lights which added to the atmosphere. We opted for half board at the Tunturi which was a sensible decision with three teenage boys as eating and drinking out would have been very expensive! We enjoyed the snowy walk twice a day and it was so quiet. The food was plentiful with just a couple of hot choices, our fussy eater suffered and lived on bread and fries (the latter didn't appear after the Thomson lot left on boxing day so after that it was just bread!). We particularly enjoyed the breakfast rice pudding and gala dinners. The cafe at the bottom of the ski slope had some good food and cakes at reasonable prices, the one at the top was a bit more expensive but great views. The Panimo bar was also a nice spot to enjoy a Christmas eve drink, very wooden and Finnish. The toboggan run was amazing if a bit white knuckle in places, after we finished skiing we would take the chairlift up and toboggan back down into the village. The only problem was that if you put a toboggan down for two minutes it was invariably removed by someone else as it is a bit of a free for all! We heard from someone who had rented them and they disappeared on the first night so beware. We had evening husky and snowmobile safaris and in retrospect I would go back to daytime ones in future as you really miss out on the scenery. All the ski tutors and people running the lifts were very friendly and helpful. A great holiday in a lovely resort. We will be back!

Room Tip: The three star cabins appear to be much nearer to the resort than the four star.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WendyC952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2013

We stayed in Saariselka early in December - travelling with Inghams. The trip was truly amazing! Here's a runthrough that might help. I thought I was prepared for the cold, but I wasn't. Make sure you have great quality clothes to keep the cold out - I didn't and I suffered on the first night. The most important thing I was lacking was a face protector. My jacket did up quite high and I had a great hat but it's the eyes, nose, cheeks and mouth that needed protecting. When we arrived at Kittila airport we very quickly spotted the Inghams representatives as they were all in light blue outfits. We were rounded up quickly, the instructions were clear - we were to head off to a coach that would take us to our destination. Our guide, David, was brilliant. He stayed with us throughout the holiday and was always on hand to give tips and advice. Anyway, our coach took us the 3 hour drive up North. We were dropped off just by our cabin (we opted for the self-catering cabin). The coach journey itself was lovely as it was still light for the first hour or so, and David was on the intercom giving us lots of information about Finland. We even saw some wild reindeer on that journey - great for kids and adults alike! About half way on the coach trip we stopped at a little cafe in a petrol station. They had a good selection of sandwiches, cakes, crisps, coffee etc. David gave us a time and venue to meet up the next day to go through all the tours. When we got to our cabin we had a problem opening the door - there's certainly a knack to it but you get used to it once you've opened it twice. The cabin was amazing! A lounge, kitchen, two big bedrooms and a big bathroom and sauna on he ground floor and another bedroom up a little ladder on the mezzanine floor. You could actually sleep 10 people in that cabin, although with only one bathroom and a small lounge it would be a bit much. After a short break we headed out to the local supermarket to stock up on essentials. Most people think Finland is very expensive, but we got a lot for our money and we didn't complain about the cost. The prices were comparable with our supermarkets. The rest of the week were spent with the cabin as our base and taking the excursions available to us. We tried, skiing, snow-shoeing, tobogganing and we went to the Sami museum. One tip - if you haven't skied before and are slightly nervous, book onto the taster session rather than pre-booking the 3 hour long sessions. I did the latter and didn't go back for the other 2 sessions as it wasn't for me. The tobogganing was my highlight. Perfectly safe, quite exhausting but so thrilling to come rolling down the hill at speed. Other excursions were husky sledding, skidooing, trip to see Santa, a pub night with an Elk dinner, a crabbing excursion and a night in a glass igloo under the stars. We saw the Northern Lights about 3 times in total. On the Tuesday night they were out in full force and it was a very clear night sky. We got some great photos. The other nights weren't quite as good because it was cloudy but it was still an incredible sight. On the last night of our stay Inghams put on a meal with party games and we had a visit from Santa. Great for the kids and the young at heart. Our journey back was interesting as we had a long delay with our flight, but that's a whole other story.... In summary, it's an amazing place to visit. The town is quite small so everything is in walking distance, it's VERY cold, there's tons to do and the cabins were brilliant - especially when you put the wood on the fire and sit around in your tshirt and shorts, looking out the window at tons of snow.

Room Tip: We stayed in a self-catering cabin. You can choose for a half-board cabin or a half-board or full b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jason H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2013

We had a wonderful stay!! Myself, Husband and young children had a fantastic time in Saariselka. The cabins were cosy, good locations and family friendly. We would definately recommend as we loved the independence that we were home from home which you dont get in hotels.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank c b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kiev, Ukraine
Level 6 Contributor
221 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2013

If you are looking for a new experience, log cabins are really great.
Made solely of wood, they offer you a chance to enjoy a simple lifestyle, which comes with the convenience of a good hotel.

Don't expect jacuzzis, but there are 2 rooms, a living room, small kitchen and a sauna.
Great for a family or a small group.

The breakfast is as simple as the accomodation, but sushi or lavish variety of dishes would definitely feel out of place.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EgorParienko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2013

This was our second visit to Finland (previously staying at Basecamp Oulanka near Kuusamo through Exodus), & it's likely we'll return again. We booked this trip through Inghams as we wanted to stay in a log cabin & to avoid a flight connection in Helsinki. The bus transfer to Saariselka takes 3 hours, so in reality we could probably have arrived sooner if we'd flown to Ivalo via Helsinki, but this would have meant arranging accommodation & transfers ourselves.

Saariselka is a small town, but there are enough activities, shops & restaurants etc for a week's visit.

The Panimo cabins are 10-15 mins walk from the town. We got lost a couple of times in the first few days, as one snowy tree looks much like another, & there are few signs. We stayed in cabin 5; there are 10 cabins arranged in a horseshoe type shape. The cabins are in a quiet wooded area; most overlook either another Panimo cabin or separate cabins, but there is no sense of being in a crowded area. The cabins have a front porch, where we sat most days with a hot drink. The cabins could sleep 10 people, even though they're advertised as for 2-6. There are 2 small bedrooms, which each sleep 3 people - a single bunk over a double - but at 5' 2" I would have struggled to use the bunk as there's no ladder. There's a mezzanine/loft area which can sleep 2 or 3, plus the lounge seating area could sleep another 2. We didn't want to feel compelled to eat at a hotel every day, so we chose to self-cater. The kitchen is well equipped & can easily provide breakfast & pasta & rice dinners. There's a toaster & a kettle, plus 2 rings, a microwave & fridge. For us it was the right choice, as we could have a lazy breakfast, before going out for the day. The supermarket is large, & prices are reasonable, although fruit is expensive. Alcohol from the bottle shop next door was more expensive than the UK, but still affordable - red wine for < €10. The electric heaters work extremely well, so the wood burner isn't really needed but it gives a cosy feel to the cabin. Wood & matches are provided; pick up some free newspapers from the supermarket entrance. The lighting in the cabin is poor, so if you want to read in the evening, you either need to sit directly under one of the lights or to have a tablet. Brighter bulbs or more lights would be an improvement. There's a table & 2 benches, plus a corner seating area, but there are no chairs, so by the end of the week we both had backache. A couple of kitchen chairs, or better still two comfy chairs by the wood burner might tempt me to return to these cabins.

We are not skiiers but we love the snow & wanted a chance to see the Northern lights, hence choosing Saariselka. We booked a day of cross-country skiing & a snowshoe walk with Top Safari (via Inghams), plus we hired snowsuits & boots from them. The groups were of mixed ability, but Paulo is a very patient instructor.The snowsuits are very good, so if you don't have ski gear, at £30 hire for the week, they're a good choice. There's a 2-3 & 7-8km snowshoe walk through the national park, plus a 1200m toboggan run which we did. We only saw the northern lights once as the other nights were cloudy. It wasn't a strong sighting but I got some photos. Overall, we did a nice mix of things.

We only ate out once, so we treated ourselves to a meal at the Siberia restaurant. We had an excellent evening, & felt the food was as good as any we've eaten in London - very impressive given how remote Saariselka is. The restaurant describes its menu as "a surprise menu", which means the chef is in charge! The menu changes daily & it uses local ingredients. The dishes were all excellent & presented beautifully. Fish & reindeer were served, but the standout dish for me was a mushroom brulee; given I don't really like mushrooms, this shows how good the food is. The staff were lovely, with very good English, so we knew exactly what we were eating. The 6 course tasting menu is €75 per person, which we felt was reasonable, & comparable with UK prices in restaurants of a similar standard. The wine list is expensive though, with no red wine <€50, so that pushes the bill up. We would highly recommend this restaurant,

We are not 'package' holiday fans (welcome meetings & all that), but this trip worked well for us.

Room Tip: Cabins 8, 9 & 10 are the furthest from the road & set back from the others
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
7 Thank 1WO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Saariselka hotels
0.1 mi away
Holiday Club Saariselka
Holiday Club Saariselka
#4 of 6 in Saariselka
501 reviews
0.3 mi away
Santa's Hotel Tunturi
Santa's Hotel Tunturi
#3 of 6 in Saariselka
372 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lapland Hotel Riekonlinna
Lapland Hotel Riekonlinna
#5 of 6 in Saariselka
368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Kakslauttanen Arctic Resort
6.4 mi away
Wilderness Hotel Muotka
Wilderness Hotel Muotka
#1 of 6 in Saariselka
238 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lodge Kuukkeli Teerenpesa
Lodge Kuukkeli Teerenpesa
#5 of 7 in Saariselka
19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Saariselka Inn Log Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saariselka Inn Log Cabins

Property: Saariselka Inn Log Cabins
Address: Saariselaentie 10, Saariselka 99830, Finland
Region: Finland > Lapland > Saariselka
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Speciality Lodging in Saariselka
Number of rooms: 12
Also Known As:
Saariselka Log Cabins Hotel Saariselka
Saariselka Inn Log Cabins Finland - Lapland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing