We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food in place with nice view”
Review of Restaurant Huippu

Restaurant Huippu
Ranked #6 of 20 Restaurants in Saariselka
Certificate of Excellence
Restaurant details
Helsinki, Finland
Level 6 Contributor
174 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Great food in place with nice view”
Reviewed 23 August 2014

Almost every time I travel to Saariselka I visit this place due to unique location and beautiful view. This time we went there to have a lunch. As always, the service was great and the food even better.

The salad bar is great choice for a starter and for the main course I selected Artic Char, which is my favourite in this place!

I recommend this restaurant very warmly - you can have better culinary experience, but anyway this food is great! The way it is served could be different, but the place would be something else than the cosy place it is right now.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Traveller007Finland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    50
    8
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Auchterarder, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
185 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Disapointing food”
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Following previous reviews we had high expectations. We ordered a reindeer soup which was very greasy compared to that at Kiilopaa Huippu, salad was charged separately and had 14 items was ok, a more expensive main course was ordered containing reindeer with a filling which was fantastic but expensive compared to Kiilopaa Huippu. It was very hot and sunny outside with no shade so sat inside in the shade but was very warm. Good views, also a coach tour arrived. Closed at 5pm

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank heleneshaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“best food in saariselka”
Reviewed 3 June 2014 via mobile

We have visited Saariselka four times over recent years to see the northern lights (successful every time), skidoo safari and husky safari but the highlight is to get the skibus or lift to the Huippu (known to us as High uppy) have there delicious burger and chip and then toboggan back down to the village. Fab shopping, leather fur lined gloves a must.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Victoria W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Finland
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Excellent food, amazing cheesecake”
Reviewed 21 May 2014

This is a must-visit place in Saariselkä. I don't even like cheesecake yet I think I'm addicted to theirs (with crowberries). Also their hot crowberry juice is great for warming up.

During our last visit we had late lunch/early dinner here. We had the salad buffet as an appetizer and fried salmon as main course. The salad buffet had an excellent selection including cold meats. If you want to taste a little bit of everything and don't necessarily need anything warm, I highly recommend choosing the buffet as main course! The fried salmon was also delicious, the portion was beautiful and combined with the buffet the portion size was good.

Just a heads up: sometimes the restaurant is closed because of a private event or holidays. Don't leave your visit for the last night.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Arctus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A good spot to warm up”
Reviewed 6 March 2014

A busy and well organised restaurant at the top of the ski run and toboggan run. Tasty food, buzzy atmosphere. Yummy doughnuts and soups. Make sure you check the last bus down to Saariselka village or it's a nice walk or toboggan down.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank littlemonster74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Restaurant Huippu also viewed

Saariselka, Lapland
Saariselka, Lapland
 

Been to Restaurant Huippu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing