We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful, but be prepared”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kakslauttanen Arctic Resort
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Saariselka
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Wonderful, but be prepared”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2014

I stayed at Kakslauttanen for two nights in early April 2014 and I stayed in one of the glass igloos.

This place is stunningly beautiful, especially as it was still completely under snow when we were there. (I'm guessing it's under snow for most of the year...?) The igloos are quirky (to quote one other reviewer here) but functional. Check out the virtual tour at the place's website to get a better idea. They can be configured to a double or twin setting, but the beds were pretty uncomfortable. Still, the igloos are well-heated and being able to see the sky while in bed was quite a novelty.

And we did see the northern lights on our second night so that showed the igloos' real advantage to perfection.

Each igloo has a tiny bathroom containing a toilet and basin and a handheld apparatus which can be used for washing (while making a very big mess) but not really for showering unless you're able to contort yourself into odd shapes in the tiny space. In the igloos one is only provided with a hand towel, not a bath towel. There is a shower/sauna block a few minutes' walk away, which in the snow was quite an experience, and the showers are communal (no private stalls) but there are separate men's and women's facilities. Bath towels are provided there.

Meals are served in the restaurant in the main building, some minutes' walk away in the snow as well, and these were well made and tasty. The breakfast was excellent.

Staff were a little reserved but still very polite and there were no language problems.

There's no wifi in the igloos but free wifi is available in the restaurant/reception building.

So it was an amazing experience to visit this place and stay in the glass igloos, but be prepared for a walk to your meals and your showers, and be prepared for sharing them both with others.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank GrahaminAdelaide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,245 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    478
    351
    201
    121
    94
See reviews for
259
676
26
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (280)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
76 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2014 via mobile

There are mixed reviews for this property and having stayed here I think both apply. If you see the lights from a glass igloo you'll love the place, if not it's more akin to a budget hotel experience. We stayed one night in an igloo. This on its own is very nice and quirky. We saw no northern lights but it was still beautiful. The adjustable beds had no controller and the pillow was incredibly thin. The mattress was very soft but comfortable enough. Directions around the property are simple enough but traipsing around at night looking for the sauna without any decent lighting along the way doesn't make for a relaxing evening. We encountered both nice and brusque staff. The breakfast was undeniably simple, even by Finnish standards but did the job. There just wasn't any pizazz or nice special touches in could identify so I was left with a feeling of impersonality, that this was just a hotel out to charge tourists a lot of money because they have igloos. Without those there wouldn't be too much to attract travellers here when there are much nicer options around Lapland.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
16 Thank zteu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2014 via mobile

We can only recommend this beautiful hotel, their facilities, staff and food. Arrived at 23:00 after the plane had to turn back to Helsinki due to a technical fault. Still found the kitchen open and friendly staff served us with a (freshly made) three course meal. Where else will you find this? All the arrangements for country trips were professionally done and in time. We stayed for one night in a glass igloo and four in a wooden cabin (number 7). Very clean and neat with everything you need. Wish we could stay there forever!

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
7 Thank coenie s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2014 via mobile

We stayed in an igloo one night then a 2 bed cabin the next.
The igloos are fantastic, they have 2 twin beds, plenty of places to put suitcases etc and a loo. I even had a shower and there is some strange shower type hose under the sink. A ins great, place is beautiful, stunning beyond belief. As three vegetarians we survived, they cook different things for us so didn't go hungry. Both igloo and cabin spotless.
Go, it's much fun

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
10 Thank Tracy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2014

AMAZING place! Stayed in a glass igloo for one night a few weeks ago.Yes, the igloo's don't have showers- they're a glass igloo what do you expect?! Yes, the igloo's are away from the main resort- people would complain about light pollution if they were any nearer?!... No bell service?!... The whole fun of it is pulling your luggage on a sledge to the igloo, no?!... How can people say the bed is uncomfortable? It's an electric bed that you can move to make yourself as comfortable as you please!
We found the staff friendly and helpful. The owner is incredibly friendly and you always see him around.
The food was a pretty good standard to say you're in the middle of Lapland! If you're unhappy with the set menu at dinner, you can choose from the a la carte menu. The chicken we were given for our main course was actually delicious! And we got pancakes for desert which was a plus since it was pancake day back in the UK! Good choice of bread, cheese, meat, cereal and eggs for breakfast, with juice and hot drinks. Free WIFI in the public area too (Hilton Hotels don't even provide free WIFI!!!).
The resort is stunning and despite what people say, it isn't very big (so not far AT ALL to walk to the igloo's). You get a map of the resort when checking in. You'll definitely need it to find the showers- it was very fun finding them, not a problem like people say it is!
It is next to the main road, but lets face it, it's not a busy road what-so-ever and in the igloo we didn't hear any traffic noise! And if the resort was any further from the main road and bus stop, people would be complaining about how difficult it is to get to (the reception area is 1 minute walk from the main bus route bus stop!).
We found the igloo very comfortable, warm and in a great condition.
It is pricey, but when else are you going to sleep in a GLASS IGLOO?! If it's pure luxury you're wanting, don't go or if you do, keep your negative opinions to yourself. If you're open minded and want to see the northern lights over head whilst laying in your bed then this place is a must!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank Louise R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2014

One night in a glass igloo and 3 nights in a large cabin as a 40th bday gift to my husband in this exotic and charming place called kakslautannen igloo village was all we could ask for!!!and we saw the northern lights alongwith the rainbow colours of the sunset the first evening itself which also happened to be my husband's bday!the owner of the place was very warm and interacted personally with everyone and the staff was more than helpful on all accord.we had our 10year old son with us and we enjoyed husky sledding,snowmobile and toboggan run at saariselka!would love to go there again!!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Tewq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
171 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2014

Stayed one night in an igloo in the middle of winter. It's a fun experience and one has to accept the fact that, while there is a toilet, there is no shower. We were lucky because we were there on a clear night and the Aurora Borealis put on quite a display. We could raise the back of the bed and lie there in comfort watching it all happen.
The main disadvantage lies in the fact that the dining room is about 500 metres from the igloos. This means quite a hike to dinner and to breakfast the next morning (make sure you bring your crampons).
Not luxury, but go for it!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank StayalotNewcastle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saariselka
1.3 mi away
Wilderness Hotel Muotka
Wilderness Hotel Muotka
#1 of 6 in Saariselka
5.0 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
6.5 mi away
Lapland Hotel Riekonlinna
Lapland Hotel Riekonlinna
#5 of 6 in Saariselka
3.5 of 5 bubbles 360 reviews
6.3 mi away
Holiday Club Saariselka
Holiday Club Saariselka
#4 of 6 in Saariselka
3.5 of 5 bubbles 490 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Santa's Hotel Tunturi
Santa's Hotel Tunturi
#3 of 6 in Saariselka
4.0 of 5 bubbles 361 reviews
23.1 mi away
Kultahippu Hotel & Restaurant
6.2 mi away
Northern Lights Village
Northern Lights Village
#1 of 4 in Saariselka
4.0 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kakslauttanen Arctic Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kakslauttanen Arctic Resort

Property: Kakslauttanen Arctic Resort
Address: Kiilopaantie | 9, Saariselka 99830, Finland (Formerly Kakslauttanen Hotel & Igloo Village)
Region: Finland > Lapland > Saariselka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Saariselka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Kakslauttanen Arctic Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Booking.com so you can book your Kakslauttanen Arctic Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kakslauttanen Hotel And Igloo Village
Kakslauttanen Hotel Igloo Village
Kakslauttanen Hotel Saariselka
Kakslauttanen Arctic Resort Saariselka, Finland - Lapland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing