We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Kakslauttanen Arctic Resort
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Javri Lodge(Saariselka)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Kieppi(Saariselka)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,576)
Filter reviews
1,576 results
Traveller rating
624
443
239
145
125
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
624
443
239
145
125
Show reviews that mention
All reviewseast villageglass iglooset menuqueen suitelog cabinaurora huntingnorthern lightsigloo villagesoupyour luggagehusky safarionce in a lifetimeunique experiencereception areapiano barsnow igloosmall glass
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
936 - 941 of 1,576 reviews
Reviewed 7 April 2014

I stayed at Kakslauttanen for two nights in early April 2014 and I stayed in one of the glass igloos.

This place is stunningly beautiful, especially as it was still completely under snow when we were there. (I'm guessing it's under snow for most of the year...?) The igloos are quirky (to quote one other reviewer here) but functional. Check out the virtual tour at the place's website to get a better idea. They can be configured to a double or twin setting, but the beds were pretty uncomfortable. Still, the igloos are well-heated and being able to see the sky while in bed was quite a novelty.

And we did see the northern lights on our second night so that showed the igloos' real advantage to perfection.

Each igloo has a tiny bathroom containing a toilet and basin and a handheld apparatus which can be used for washing (while making a very big mess) but not really for showering unless you're able to contort yourself into odd shapes in the tiny space. In the igloos one is only provided with a hand towel, not a bath towel. There is a shower/sauna block a few minutes' walk away, which in the snow was quite an experience, and the showers are communal (no private stalls) but there are separate men's and women's facilities. Bath towels are provided there.

Meals are served in the restaurant in the main building, some minutes' walk away in the snow as well, and these were well made and tasty. The breakfast was excellent.

Staff were a little reserved but still very polite and there were no language problems.

There's no wifi in the igloos but free wifi is available in the restaurant/reception building.

So it was an amazing experience to visit this place and stay in the glass igloos, but be prepared for a walk to your meals and your showers, and be prepared for sharing them both with others.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank GrahaminAdelaide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2014 via mobile

There are mixed reviews for this property and having stayed here I think both apply. If you see the lights from a glass igloo you'll love the place, if not it's more akin to a budget hotel experience. We stayed one night in an igloo. This on its own is very nice and quirky. We saw no northern lights but it was still beautiful. The adjustable beds had no controller and the pillow was incredibly thin. The mattress was very soft but comfortable enough. Directions around the property are simple enough but traipsing around at night looking for the sauna without any decent lighting along the way doesn't make for a relaxing evening. We encountered both nice and brusque staff. The breakfast was undeniably simple, even by Finnish standards but did the job. There just wasn't any pizazz or nice special touches in could identify so I was left with a feeling of impersonality, that this was just a hotel out to charge tourists a lot of money because they have igloos. Without those there wouldn't be too much to attract travellers here when there are much nicer options around Lapland.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
16  Thank zteu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2014

We can only recommend this beautiful hotel, their facilities, staff and food. Arrived at 23:00 after the plane had to turn back to Helsinki due to a technical fault. Still found the kitchen open and friendly staff served us with a (freshly made) three course meal. Where else will you find this? All the arrangements for country trips were professionally done and in time. We stayed for one night in a glass igloo and four in a wooden cabin (number 7). Very clean and neat with everything you need. Wish we could stay there forever!

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
7  Thank coenie s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2014 via mobile

We stayed in an igloo one night then a 2 bed cabin the next.
The igloos are fantastic, they have 2 twin beds, plenty of places to put suitcases etc and a loo. I even had a shower and there is some strange shower type hose under the sink. A ins great, place is beautiful, stunning beyond belief. As three vegetarians we survived, they cook different things for us so didn't go hungry. Both igloo and cabin spotless.
Go, it's much fun

Stayed: March 2014
10  Thank Tracy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2014

AMAZING place! Stayed in a glass igloo for one night a few weeks ago.Yes, the igloo's don't have showers- they're a glass igloo what do you expect?! Yes, the igloo's are away from the main resort- people would complain about light pollution if they were any nearer?!... No bell service?!... The whole fun of it is pulling your luggage on a sledge to the igloo, no?!... How can people say the bed is uncomfortable? It's an electric bed that you can move to make yourself as comfortable as you please!
We found the staff friendly and helpful. The owner is incredibly friendly and you always see him around.
The food was a pretty good standard to say you're in the middle of Lapland! If you're unhappy with the set menu at dinner, you can choose from the a la carte menu. The chicken we were given for our main course was actually delicious! And we got pancakes for desert which was a plus since it was pancake day back in the UK! Good choice of bread, cheese, meat, cereal and eggs for breakfast, with juice and hot drinks. Free WIFI in the public area too (Hilton Hotels don't even provide free WIFI!!!).
The resort is stunning and despite what people say, it isn't very big (so not far AT ALL to walk to the igloo's). You get a map of the resort when checking in. You'll definitely need it to find the showers- it was very fun finding them, not a problem like people say it is!
It is next to the main road, but lets face it, it's not a busy road what-so-ever and in the igloo we didn't hear any traffic noise! And if the resort was any further from the main road and bus stop, people would be complaining about how difficult it is to get to (the reception area is 1 minute walk from the main bus route bus stop!).
We found the igloo very comfortable, warm and in a great condition.
It is pricey, but when else are you going to sleep in a GLASS IGLOO?! If it's pure luxury you're wanting, don't go or if you do, keep your negative opinions to yourself. If you're open minded and want to see the northern lights over head whilst laying in your bed then this place is a must!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank Louise R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews