We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Winter wonderland!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kakslauttanen Arctic Resort
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Saariselka
Cambridge
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Winter wonderland!”
Reviewed 7 January 2011

Spent 4 nights in Kakslauttanen - 3 in a log cabin and 1 in a glass igloo. We booked through Mighty Fine Company who were great to book with, attentive to specific dietary needs and who sent paperwork and emails through punctually. It was a bit disappointing, though, that they were suddenly unavailable when it looked as though our flight wouldn't leave Heathrow because of the snow and nobody answered their out of hours helpline.

Kakslauttanen igloo village certainly matched our expectations. We were simply there for a snow-break, booking to go just before Christmas because this was significantly cheaper than booking over the Christmas break.

The village itself is peaceful (cars are kept to the edge of the village, near the reception area) and remote, but with a bus link to the nearby town of Saarisälka. There's a big thermometer right outside the restaurant/reception building so you can be fully aware of just how cold it really gets (-31C when we arrived!!). The log cabins are spaced out well so that you don't feel as though you are on top of your neighbours - indeed, we never heard or saw our neighbours! It was easy to grab a sledge to move our luggage around when we needed to. Enjoyed a romantic atmosphere with the log fire as well as the sauna in our log cabin. The ice chapel and restaurant hadn't been completed at the time of our visit, which was a shame, but we were able to wonder around and into the snow igloos to take a peak.

Staff at Kakslauttanen were extremely helpful. They were very patient waiting for lots of tired travellers to sort out missing luggage at the airport and tried hard to answer any questions we had. They were good about serving us food, even though we arrived late. The food was perfectly adequate - not exactly Michelin star stuff, but nothing you wouldn't be happy eating either (salads. soups, fish, fruit, etc). The staff were also very accommodating of any dietary needs and queries. Alcohol wasn't excessively priced, really, unless you went for the wine.

We had two excursions as part of our package: husky sledding and reindeer safari. Both were superb experiences - the husky sledding involved a speedy introduction, then we were off! Hubby on the back and me in the sled. It was VERY bumpy at first, but smoothed out soon enough and was then very comfortable. The reindeer safari was much more sedate, with both my husband and I in the one sled being pulled along in a small chain of reindeers and sled by our reindeer guide at the front. Each excursion included a tea, soup and biscuit lunch over a log fire in the wilderness, one in a hut and the other outside. It's worth noting at this point that it is possible to hire cold weather gear within the igloo village (€12 per person per day - less for a week's hire). However, if you participate in an organised activity such as husky or reindeer sledding you are lent the boots/outer wear/blankets as part of the experience, so don't pay to hire extra gear yourself. A little tip: keep your coat and winter trousers on underneath the outer wear and wear loads of socks as it gets incredibly cold out there - go for a super large sized all-in-one outfit to fit it all on!

Our final day gave us the opportunity to visit Saarisälka, look round the igloo village and spend the night in a glass igloo. The glass igloo was cosy and something of a novelty. It's worth noting that they're only partially private and highly reflective! Their plumbing is also linked allowing for strange voices from other igloos to drift in! We had fun playing with the remote control for the bed, watching the stars and being aware of the movement of the moon during the course of the night. Sadly, the aurora did not entertain us that night, but I can imagine it being spectacular viewing from a glass igloo when it does.

All in all, this was a very memorable holiday and we plan on returning in a few years time in the hope of seeing a good evening light show!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ncutts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,255 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    485
    353
    202
    121
    94
See reviews for
261
684
26
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (284)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
N. Wales
Level Contributor
41 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2011

We stayed at the Kakslauttenen village for four nights in December as a treat for my 5oth birthday. It was magical and a trip I will never forget. The log cabins are just wonderful, especially the open fire and the private sauna, when you have been in -32 degrees for a few hours, it's lovely to come back and have a sauna. Be brave and run outside, roll in the snow, and then back in the sauna. There is so little daylight that no-one will see you!!
The food at the hotel is of a fixed menu and no complaints there. I found it to be of a high standard although some guests thought the portions were not big enough. Having seen their plates at the buffet style breakfast, I realised why!! (piled high!!). Personally, I thought the meals were excellent and plentiful. (3 courses). We did try the A La Carte menu one night (braised reindeer which had to be ordered the day before) - one of the best steaks I have ever had. You are also allowed an allowance against the A La Carte price, which is something you don't always get.
All the staff are friendly, most of them appear to be Thai and are very efficient and friendly.
We went on a number of excursions. Snow mobiles are great, especially in the evening. The husky sledge was fantastic, make sure you take your video camera as the dogs are hilarious - a must. Wouldn't bother going ice-fishing. It was a drilled hole in the ice with a tiny (12 inches) fishing rod. We 'fished' for about 15 minutes, no-one caught anything. Not terribly exciting although the guide was extremely knowledgable as are all the guides who are very enthusiastic about their country and the Sami culture. All in all a lovely place to visit. I would recommend staying in a glass igloo for your first or last night as they are truly amazing. Highly recommended. Don't forget your hip flask!!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gill1312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2011

If you long for snowy landscapes, log cabins, fires and twinkly lights then this is the place to head to. I will do my best to describe our experience but in all honesty, you have to live it to really understand it. We arrived on the 23rd December without any hassle and were greeted on arrival and shown to the coach. It is about 40 km to the hotel and all of us kept glancing skyward through the glass roof to see if there were any lights in the sky. We were given our keys and a map on the coach and driven near to our cabin. We had Queen 4 which is one of the furthest away from the reception/restaurant but really only a 5 minute walk away although it feels longer in the chill. The cabin itself was quite stunning decorated with red and golds with a comfy four poster bed, shower, roll top bath, underfloor heating, Sauna, Jacuzzi, fireplace and big settee and kitchen area. I counted 5 radiators and we had to turn a couple off as we were too hot! The kitchen has two burners and a fridge plus all the crockery that you might need. We had taken some coffee with us for an early morning brew as well as some wine as it is not cheap to buy once you are there.
Clothing wise, we had lots of layers; remember that any bit of skin that is exposed to the elements gets cold very quickly. You can peel your outdoor stuff off when you get to the main reception area and don’t worry what you are wearing or look like as nobody cares a bit.

Christmas Eve is a special day in Lapland so we had breakfast which is a help yourself affair to bread, cheese, ham, salmon etc plus different types of cereal, juice and coffee. We were driven on sledges pulled by snowmobiles to the new Santa’s Resort which was fun. We visited Santa’s house and met Mrs Claus, saw the forge with Smith Elf and warmed up around a fire in a tepee with several glasses of Gloggi with gingerbread biscuits. Lunch that day consisted of rice pudding with a fruity rum type sauce and lots of pastries. There was a church service in the afternoon which necessitated a supposed 10-15 minute walk. Beware if you are not so good on your pins as this is more like a 25 minute route march and of course it was minus 15 or so.
The evening was predominated by eating. There were three tables laden with food and it was up to you how many times you returned for more. Santa arrived on time pulled by a reindeer and gave out presents. It was absolutely magical to watch him arrive through the snow and lots of candles had been placed in the snow to add to the magic.

In terms of excursions we did a 2 hour reindeer ride first. They kit you out in thermal suits, socks, boots gloves and hats as you can get cold sitting in the sled. This ride is a very leisurely affair at walking pace but the views are stunning. The stop for coffee and biscuits and a warm up around the fire was very welcome. We also went on 2 four hour husky rides. Again you are kitted out in full thermals and given a quick driving lesson before being whisked off into the forest with a team of 6 dogs. This was the highlight for us especially being the lead team. You cannot underestimate the beauty of the snowy wasteland and the silence except for the sled cutting through the snow. Lunch is provided on the four hour trip and you rest in a Sami hut with roaring log fires and sausage soup. Petri the guide is a real hard worker and full of local knowledge. We also took the ski bus into Saariselka one day, it costs 4 Euros for a day pass and the bus pulls up right outside the hotel. There is a supermarket and lots of tourist type shops so worth a visit.

So in essence, Kakslauttanen is about simplistic luxury. We went half board and ate well. Food tends to be filling and homely rather than anything fancy. There are no TV’s in the cabins although there is one TV in the bar and a computer hidden away near the luggage room. For us it was a traditional Christmas, one where you sit around, eat, drink and chat with each other and enjoy the sheer tranquillity of your surroundings. We found the staff to be helpful and efficient at all times and Jossi the owner was a constant presence ensuring that you were having a good time. Oh the icing on the cake was the appearance of the Aurora Borealis on our last evening about 5pm; she danced in the sky for a very long time.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank AnnieC89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2011

We had a fantastic time in Kakslauttenen from the minute we arrived right up until we left a very snowy Ivalo airport (Heathrow could learn a lot!!). Had planned to propose to my beautiful girlfriend and couldn't imagine how lucky I would be! Carlsberg don't do proposals.........! We arrived and our log cabin (free upgrade to large) was beautiful, spacious and set in picture perfect scenary. Literally as we walked to dinner out of our cabin I saw a shooting star and the northern lights came out to play (lucky as aurora borealis are not as common as you would believe - prepare to enjoy your trip regardless - you would - and treat the lights as a bonus). Food was fine and enjoyable - people expecting michelin starred food 200km above the arctic circle in such a remote place must be even more stupid than they look!! Returned to cabin decked with candles, roses , champagne and chocs all sorted by Suay (fantastic, helpful staff member). Next day newly engaged enjoyed great husky trip, ice karting and glass igloo (well worth experience even without the lights).
All in all staff were fantastic, place was magical and a two night escape was heavenly! People moaning (there were a few) are in the wrong place and clearly too pampered to visit anywhere outside of a 5 star London hotel!
The most memorable trip my fiancee and I have ever been on.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank alman13_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2010

My wonderful partner took me here as a suprise trip - we intended to stay for 3 nights, 1 in a log cabin and 2 in glass igloos, but after Finnair went on strike we ended up staying another night in the queen cabin.
What can I say, the hotel is wonderful! Right out in snowy wonderland, the cabins are warm and cosy, with baskets of logs to load on the fires, comfortable beds, saunas, and a luscious jacuzzi in the queen cabin. The glass igloos were definatly the highlight however, being able to lie in there and watch the stars and northern lights was amazing. They are warm and cosy, though as pointed out they only have a toilet - the shower block is a short walk away. Not ideal as its cold out there, but then for the experience of being in the glass igloos I wasnt complaining!
Whist there we went on the reindeer safari and husky sledding, both of which were lovely, particuarly the latter. You are given very warm clothes, so there is no worries about being cold, and the guides are interested and informative.
We ate 1/2 board, and whilst breakfast was nice, dinners werent the best meal ever. It wasnt bad, just not amazing. There was a set menu, but they were happy to change things if you didnt want something off it e.g. Im pregnant, and they were happy to change a blue cheese salad, and cook a steak a bit longer that came just a bit too bloody for my liking! The staff were great, very friendly, and exceptionally helpful, particuarly when we became stuck there after Finnairs strikes, spending a long time helping us rearrange. They were present when needed, quick to greet people, and able to give (or find) a lot of information.
In short, a great trip!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tintinandsnowy13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Hague
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2010

How should I start?
We stayed two nights in a A+1 log cabin and one night in a glass igloo.
The restaurant was very nice, but have to say we eat à la carte.
I put some pictures which are better than 1000 words:).
I just have to say that both the log cabin and the glass igloo were well warmed.
The log cabin includes a small kitchen(we did not use), a bathroom, a sauna and a big shower.
People were very friendly and helpful.
Oh, wait we did not have a TV, radio or wireless connection. It was a miracle:). The fire in the log cabin and the northern lights in the glass igloo were all the entertaining we needed when inside.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LFilip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2010

This is an expense option to stay and everything we have read in the terrible and poor reviews are true, with the added exception that the time we stayed, the restaurant was closed - what breakfast or dinner?????? The Manager is so rude you have to wonder why he is in this industry. He shouts at the staff and guests - our crime was to request a cabin that had been cleaned from the previous occupants, not have dirty towels on the floor, dirty dishes in the sink and we won't even go into details of the bed - yuck. Our Finnish friends stayed at Saariselka Log Cabins HIGHLY recommended - absolutely fabulous. SAVE YOUR MONEY AND STAY ELSEWHERE NOT KAKSLAUTTANEN

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank JafaBean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saariselka
1.3 mi away
Wilderness Hotel Muotka
Wilderness Hotel Muotka
#1 of 6 in Saariselka
5.0 of 5 bubbles 236 reviews
6.5 mi away
Lapland Hotel Riekonlinna
Lapland Hotel Riekonlinna
#5 of 6 in Saariselka
3.5 of 5 bubbles 361 reviews
6.3 mi away
Holiday Club Saariselka
Holiday Club Saariselka
#4 of 6 in Saariselka
4.0 of 5 bubbles 496 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Santa's Hotel Tunturi
Santa's Hotel Tunturi
#3 of 6 in Saariselka
4.0 of 5 bubbles 362 reviews
23.1 mi away
Kultahippu Hotel & Restaurant
6.2 mi away
Northern Lights Village
Northern Lights Village
#1 of 5 in Saariselka
4.0 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kakslauttanen Arctic Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kakslauttanen Arctic Resort

Property: Kakslauttanen Arctic Resort
Address: Kiilopaantie | 9, Saariselka 99830, Finland (Formerly Kakslauttanen Hotel & Igloo Village)
Region: Finland > Lapland > Saariselka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Saariselka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Kakslauttanen Arctic Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Kakslauttanen Arctic Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kakslauttanen Hotel And Igloo Village
Kakslauttanen Hotel Igloo Village
Kakslauttanen Hotel Saariselka
Kakslauttanen Arctic Resort Saariselka, Finland - Lapland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing