We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Birthday surprise!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Wilderness Hotel Muotka
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Saariselka
Certificate of Excellence
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Birthday surprise!”
Reviewed 30 May 2014

I booked the 4 nights Arctic Explorer package as a surprise for my wife, always a gamble but she was absolutely bowled over by the whole experience.
The accommodation is as the website says, basic but everywhere was extremely clean, warm and the staff very welcoming. We were the last group for the season so had the fabulous experience of being two of only six guests in the whole hotel.
We thoroughly enjoyed all the excursions, a particular favourite was the Husky Safari and we also had one night in the Aurora bubble, a truly memorable experience.
One thing was very clear, Jourgan and all the staff at Mouka are extremely passionate and committed to making your stay with them as memorable and enjoyable as possible. We will be returning! AND to top it all we had a fantastic sighting of the Aurora on our first night !

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gkolhm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    198
    34
    7
    1
    0
See reviews for
35
148
14
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Jersey, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2014

What a wonderful holiday we had. We were there in March 2014 for only 4 nights but we packed loads in. Snow shoeing, Cross country skiing, Snowmobiling, Husky sledding, Reindeer sledding & Northern Lights camp. The organisation of this was all very laid back but always worked out fine. Carlos & Santo were excellent guides and very knowledgeable. The hotel supplies snow gear including boots & mittens (if you haven't got your own) but take your own thermals & layers.
The hotel is basic but comfortable & clean. Food wholesome, plentiful & tasty, special diets can be catered for. If you have dietary requirements and you are on a morning trip, make sure your guide knows as lunches are supplied, sometimes cooked over a campfire! . Don't expect to nip down to a shop to buy anything though, as it is several kilometers away! The isolation actually added to the charm with reindeer roaming freely around.
I would definitely recommend the hotel & the holiday. Oh and we were lucky enough to see some Northern Lights on our last night there. The perfect end to to a fabulous holiday :-)

Room Tip: try to stay in the main hotel it saves you having to go out in the cold to get from the annexe.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank georgygirl55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aldershot, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2014

We stayed at Muotka in March 2013. It seems expensive when you are booking but when you arrive you know it is somewhere special and worth the cost. My suitcase was mislaid by the airline for the 1st night but another guest kindly offered me thermals etc and my case arrived the following lunchtime (if booking with the Aurora Zone make sure connecting flights are not too close!). The lodge's location is remote and peaceful; I've never seen such vast expanses of deep and perfect snow. I loved all of the activities which were timed perfectly and was surprised how much I loved the snowmobiling which we couldn't have done on our own. The owner Joko is a very genuine chap. The student guides were excellent - a big thank you to Saanto and Ann-Sku, and to Saarna for the lovely veggie meals (sorry about the spellings!). The bar wasn't open late enough even for hot drinks but it sounds as if that has improved since. The rooms are well equipped and warm. I don't want to build expectations too high but whenever I look at our photos, I just wish I were there. It got colder and the sky cleared on our last night and there was a beautiful delicate display of the aurora until 2.30am and although it really wouldn't have mattered if we hadn't seen them, they were totally magical and eerie. My only regret is not going in the sauna, should have done it! This was our first trip to Northern Europe and Finnish Lapland has made a big impression! Thank you for a wonderful holiday.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2014

I recently returned from a trip to Muotka lodge, This place is great. The activities are really organised and accessible e.g. No travelling for miles to do things they are right on the doorstep of the lodge & the guides ,Carlos and santos are very knowledgable , friendly and genuinely passionate about the lights.

The accommodation is simple but more than adequate, we were on a 'very active' trip so very little time was spent at the lodge and the times spent there was generally in the communal area chatting to other guests. The Food was also fine, as someone has already said they won't win any Michelin stars but it's hearty , plentiful and tasty enough.

Sadly we barely saw the aurora during the trip, but we didn't return feeling let down as every other element of the trip - snowmobiling, cross country skiing, snowshoeing and husky sledding were all such fun.

I highly recommend this trip as a bit of an adventure away from the hustle and bustle of city life and if you are really luck you might even see the aurora....

Room Tip: We were in the main building. There was also accommodation in annex buildings. I was happy in the ma...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NudiLondon_England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beverley
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2014

We stayed here for 4 nights a few weeks ago, never having been on a cold weather holiday before we were a little aprehensive about some of the activities but we need not have worried, it was fantastic fun from beginning to end especially as we were in the same, small group of just 4 couples of similar abilities for all of the time.
The lodge is basic but comfortable, everything you need for all the activities including excellent outdoor clothing to keep you cosy in the cold is provided and all the equipment, snowmobiles etc is top quality. Just bring comfy clothing to relax in inbetween activities, jogging bottoms, sweatshirts, slippers etc and plenty of layers of thermals for under your snowsuit. The food was good and plentiful and the only money we spent the whole stay was on the bar bill which was very reasonable.
We especially enjoyed the husky sledding but the highlight for us was snowmobiling on the last evening with Saantu and Ida, travelling along narrow tracks through the moonlit forests over frozen rivers and up onto the top of the fells, where unfortunately we only saw the smallest glimpse of the Aurora through the clouds but when we got back to the lodge it really didn't matter as it was just amazing, sitting outside on reindeer skins, chatting around a log fire, gazing at the stars until the early hours.
I'd just like to say a big thank you to everyone at the lodge for an amazing time and the new friends we made for sharing the experience with us, we came home exhausted but enjoyed every minuit of it.
We booked with Aurora Zone and although the initial cost appeared a little expensive, it was actually excellent value for what you got.

Room Tip: We had a room in the main building which was good as we didn't have to put outdoor clothing on t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FreddieCat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 March 2014

My wife and I just completed six nights at the Lodge; it was excellent in all regards. This isn't some big city five star hotel, it is pretty much wilderness, as the name suggests, but the rooms are comfortable, with good showers and nice beds. The food was always very high quality; not a wide selection, but very tasty - coffee and tea was always available free and the bar was good value and open until late (essential for post Aurora discussion!!)
The range of activities is broad and as active or leisurely as you might want - snowmobiling to snowshoeing . The organisation and guiding is extremely good with both guides being knowledgeable, positive and flexible (they - Saantos and Carlos also spoke fluent english). Pretty much everything you need is supplied

We were lucky enough to see an impressive Aurora display, though you need to be aware that what appears on camera is significantly more awe inspiring than what you can see with the naked eye - don't assume that you will see the phenomenal patterns and colours that are in many photographs. This is the same wherever you go to see the Aurora and the Lodge is certainly a great place to view it. As with the other activities, when it comes to Aurora searching the guides are very skilled and determined to fullfil guests wishes.

We had a wonderful time, the Lights were a bonus, but we will remember snow mobiling on the Fells and the Husky sledding even more.

Thanks to all at the Lodge for a great time.

Room Tip: The Bubbles (two of them) are not really rooms in the accommodation sense, but overnight activity pl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChrisB_uk_55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sutton Coldfield
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2014

Bear in mind you've flown to the most northern airport in Finland. Then you've driven even further north. We're talking 970 km north of Helsinki! So, be fair. The people are just great. The food is wholesome and plentiful. And when you come to the activities - WOW! Every winter sport / activity you could want, in an idyllic setting. All well-organized, with good quality kit and knowledgeable guides. And you can venture off on your own with snowshoes or cross-country skiis, in your 'leisure' time. Our bonus the 'Northern Lights' on the first of our four nights.

Room Tip: There is available at extra cost E150 pp a glass 'dome' for overnighting - to better see the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BevandAlan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saariselka
6.5 mi away
Santa's Hotel Tunturi
Santa's Hotel Tunturi
#3 of 6 in Saariselka
377 reviews
6.6 mi away
Lapland Hotel Riekonlinna
Lapland Hotel Riekonlinna
#5 of 6 in Saariselka
375 reviews
6.5 mi away
Holiday Club Saariselka
Holiday Club Saariselka
#4 of 6 in Saariselka
508 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.7 mi away
Hotel Ivalo
Hotel Ivalo
#1 of 2 in Ivalo
347 reviews
23.3 mi away
Kultahippu Hotel & Restaurant
6.4 mi away
Northern Lights Village
Northern Lights Village
#1 of 5 in Saariselka
41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wilderness Hotel Muotka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wilderness Hotel Muotka

Property: Wilderness Hotel Muotka
Address: Muotkantie 204, Saariselka 99830, Finland
Region: Finland > Lapland > Saariselka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Saariselka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Wilderness Hotel Muotka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wilderness Hotel Muotka Saariselka, Finland - Lapland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing