We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a great trip”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Lapland Hotel Riekonlinna
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Saariselka
Headley, United Kingdom
1 review
“a great trip”
Reviewed 4 January 2014

We went with Thomson for the Christmas trip (22nd - 26th Dec). The hotel we ok for us 2 adults and a 8 year old. We had a twin room with a put up bed for the 8 year old. The room had a balcony, sauna and drying cupboard. Yes the room and hotel could have been posher but we don't go on holiday for the hotel. We paid extra for full board and as someone who is very fussy I always found something to eat. There was a great variety. I do not know why we had to have the Gala dinner the idea was nice but not practical, normal night were better. We did a couple of the excursions but did not book these through Thomson, before we left the UK we contacted Husky & Co, who we found on the Saariselka websiteand can recommend the 4-5 hour Husky trip and 2 hour snowmobile ride. Lovely memories made for our 8 year old.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank plum1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

371 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    80
    150
    113
    18
    10
See reviews for
157
79
16
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Haverfordwest, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2014

The good:
Found reception to be helpful & friendly. Check in quick, few queues. "Some" of the food e.g. bread at breakfast and some of the Finnish food was pretty good.

The bad:
Room (stayed in main hotel) was like something from a few decades ago, cold (not in a temperature sense!) and unwelcoming. A picture on the wall might have cheered things up abit. Paper cups for tea and coffee, surely a couple of mugs would be safer and more environmentally friendly. The only modern bit of the room was a flat screen tv - perhaps that money would have been better spent on decoration? Small size room just about OK for two, but if party size is bigger (3) would suggest trying the apartments.

The ugly:
Third bed for our 7 year old was like a torture table. Thought our little un was being fussy when she complained so wifey and I tried it out - she wasn't being fussy. Paper thin mattress made sleeping impossible.

Food was generally OK, but as previously mentioned in other reviews, Gala night (Christmas day) was horrendous. Tour operator (Thomson) must take some of the blame, but if you imagine a busy school canteen you get the picture - consider 2 sittings?

Room Tip: If more than 2 in a room consider apartment.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank meeh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Saariselka hotels

littlekirst
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014

We stayed here with Thompson's from the 22nd until the 26th December and had a magical stay from start to finish. I cannot comment on the rooms in the hotel as we stayed in a 2 bed apartment which was well worth the extra money (having read reviews before we booked about tired rooms). The kitchen area couldn't have been better stocked and the sauna was amazing. Even the balcony faced the right direction, which would have been perfect had the clouds not hidden the northern lights (not something I can blame the hotel for!).
We stayed full board & overall we were really happy with the food. No it's not Michelin standard (which I have eaten plenty of times), but it was more than edible & there was a great selection for both breakfast & dinner. My 1 year old loved the Finnish potato galettes every morning & my sometimes fussy 8 year old enjoyed trying herring cured different ways, reindeer and plenty of salmon. I write this having read the negative reviews about the food - you're staying literally in the middle of nowhere and the majority of the food was local specialities - at least try it before you criticise!!
My one complaint was the Gala dinner. Firstly, we queued outside the dining room for 45 minutes before we sat down as we all had our names on our tables, whilst a lovely touch, with other people eating in the dining room & no names it worked much better so I'm not sure why the daft queue! Now to the food- As most people didn't touch the cold selection (which was extended for the night) there was only one part for the hot dinner. The queues were ridiculous & having queued for 25 minutes for the hot dinner I was more than a bit disappointed to find out they had run out of turkey, so had covered left over ham (from the Lappish feast the night before... Which was amazing!) with gravy. I know the hotel is not to blame for greedy people piling ridiculous amounts on their plates,
but they've had 2 tour operators there for at least 2 years so should know by now.
As for the elves and the Thompson staff, they were fantastic, Koko and Baz made a point of getting to know every child's name as soon as possible- a small thing but means a lot. We didn't go on any additional excursions as we felt they weren't suitable with a 1yr old, but Santa resort was incredible & I would highly recommend anyone with children visiting. Saariskella is a beautiful little village with well stocked shops and perfect to get bits to keep you stocked up on.
I panicked before we left because the bad food reviews made me worry & the food was fine. So, to the people leaving the terrible reviews... If you are so picky, stay at home, or go to a Toby Carvery next year... It's Christmas... Get a grip and smile if only for your children's sake!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank littlekirst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sussex
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2014

Stayed here on a Santa trip booked through Santas Lapland. Can't fault the trip or the location, really magical. BUT the hotel was not acceptable, not very clean and the food was a disgrace. I can put up with cultural and local culinary differences, but the offer here was cheap and in short pretty disgusting. Only good thing about it was the bread we toasted in the morning! We had no choice ut to opt for a la carte despite being on a half board package because the buffet was so poor. That was passable but extortionately expensive. Santas Lapland let themselves down by using this hotel and should insist they get their act together. Also didn't like being shoved into a second rate upstairs restaurant for two of our three meals because Thompson guests had taken over! Pull your finger out Lapland Hotels and Sanat's Lapalnad, you could both do better!

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank queeniek1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2014

Wow! What a fantastic time we had in Saariselka! We were originally booked in the actual hotel. When we got to the room it was all nice and clean with mini bar and drying room for clothing but we felt that the double bed and sofa bed being in the same room may be a bit of a tight squeeze when myself, husband and 2 kids were all changing in and out of our snowsuits etc.
We were lucky enough to upgrade to an apartment for just 50 euros per night and were really delighted with the whole apartment.
Kitchen had hob, fridge freezer, microwave, dishwasher, toaster and kettle. Sofa bed in spacious lounge with great TV with English channels and a good size separate bedroom with lots of space for clothing. Both beds were really comfy and its really cozy and warm in the apartment. We had a balcony where we were lucky enough to watch the northern lights from. Totally magical experience! The sauna in the bathroom is fabulous and just what we needed after a cold day out in the snow! The only downside to being in apartment is the walk to the hotel restaurant at meal times. It's a very short walk but it does mean having to get all your layers on and off each time.
The food on offer is tasty but selection is minimal. Usually 1 meat, 1 fish and 1 veggie option each meal. Kids food tends to be chicken nuggets, burgers and chips. Breakfast is good and the kids loved making their own waffles each morning. Bacon, sausages, cereal fruit etc avail as well as cheeses and cold meats. Drinks are expensive in the hotel, about 8 euros for a decent glass of wine or a beer. About 3 euros for a soft drink. If you go to the supermarket you can get a nice bottle of wine for about 12 euros. (Food is very expensive!)
The toboggan slope is awesome and we had great fun here. There's loads of sledges lying around at the bottom of the slope which you can use or you can hire them for just 2euros at the hotel.

Would we go back? Most definitely! In fact I'm saving up already :-)

Room Tip: Definitely go for an apartment if you can!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chellebellep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windsor
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2013

Just read most of the reviews and agree with most of them. In a nutshell the hotel was very tired and was surprised how tired it actually was. We stayed for 2 nights and I was too scared to have a shower incase something fell on me. It was spacious enough to get changed and the hotel was very warm. The buffet food was very disappointing on the first night which made us worry about the gala night however it was held at the Tuturi Hotel across the road and it was much better. The actual experience of Santa Lapland was absolutely amazing - I was so surprised of how many activities are included and no adult could escaped the elves, the singing and dancing around like a penguin (or was it a reindeer?!) What impressed me the most was the Santa Lapland Check In Desk!! - When we arrived in Gatwick and looked at the EasyJet check in queue, I grimaced until I saw a big sign 'Lapland Check In' - Santa had thought of everything. The plan journey was good and the airline kept us amused throughout the journey. I would def recommend this experience to all young families, it is expensive but they would not be disappointed!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bakebeans88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth
Level 5 Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights with Thomson from December 8th, myself, my daughter and my 21 month old grandson and had a lovely time, but found the hotel to be very basic. The room was very small and the beds were not very wide, though quite comfortable. The bathroom was a bit on the small side, but loved the under floor heating.
Disappointed with the choice of food on offer though we did find something to eat, breakfast was the same every morning and we didn't rate the gala dinner at all.
The reps were very nice, especially Tracy, Koko and Andy, very friendly and very helpful. Felt very sorry for them the day we visited Santa as it was -42 and believe me, that is cold, we were able to sit round the fire, but the poor reps and elves had to work outside in it.
Saariselka is a lovely resort, so pretty and so quiet, we really enjoyed it there and enjoyed a few hours at the Angry Birds Activity Park. Food and drink is very expensive as were the souvenirs.
Loved the northern lights viewing room at the hotel and we were lucky enough to see some activity on 2 nights out of the 3.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BournemouthMomo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saariselka
0.2 mi away
Holiday Club Saariselka
Holiday Club Saariselka
#4 of 6 in Saariselka
502 reviews
0.1 mi away
Santa's Hotel Tunturi
Santa's Hotel Tunturi
#3 of 6 in Saariselka
371 reviews
6.6 mi away
Wilderness Hotel Muotka
Wilderness Hotel Muotka
#1 of 6 in Saariselka
240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.1 mi away
Hotel Ivalo
Hotel Ivalo
#1 of 2 in Ivalo
340 reviews
16.7 mi away
Kultahippu Hotel & Restaurant
0.6 mi away
Northern Lights Village
Northern Lights Village
#1 of 5 in Saariselka
41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lapland Hotel Riekonlinna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lapland Hotel Riekonlinna

Property: Lapland Hotel Riekonlinna
Address: Saariselaentie 13, Saariselka 99830, Finland
Region: Finland > Lapland > Saariselka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Saariselka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lapland Hotel Riekonlinna 3.5*
Number of rooms: 200
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Lapland Hotel Riekonlinna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lapland Hotel Saariselka
Hotel Riekonlinna
Lapland Hotel Riekonlinna Saariselka, Finland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing