We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very enjoyable stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Santa's Hotel Tunturi
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Saariselka
Reviewed 29 March 2014

We stayed in Gielas and had a lovely room, big bathroom with sauna, drier. We were on the package, breakfast was good, the AI dinner was adequate. Location was very good (walking distance everywhere). Ample of activities in Saariselka, ski slopes very good, toboggan run long and enjoyable (wear goggles). We can recommend joiku-kotsamo safaris (excellent trip to joikun kota & fells on snowmobiles, Lappish lunch) and Husky & Co for the Husky Safaris. Lapland Safaris are popular and offer good choice of excursions, however, groups can be large with mixed skill level at driving snowmobiles, so be prepared for slow trips and waiting. We had 2 trips and the Heart of Nature with Janne and Kimmo was great. But the hunt for the Aurora can be hit or miss. Finnish Lapland is great fun!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Anna P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (382)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

158 - 164 of 382 reviews

Reviewed 27 March 2014

We have just visited Saariselkä 5th time and Santa's 2nd time and will return next year! I would recommend superior room at Gielas (100 meters from main building). The rooms are spacious and silent and the beds are comfortable and wide. There's both sauna and tub at tidy bath room. This time we stayed there for 3 nights the buffet dinner was included in addition to great breakfast. First dinner was disappointment with tasteless fish but other two night's dinners were very fine. The location of hotel is handy for cross country skiing. 50 meters to ski rental and 100 meters to ski tracks. The last but not the least; the staff were all very polite, thank you!

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank MindeS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2014 via mobile

The room is a bit old, especially the toilet which needs some upgraded. No slippers is provided. No tissue. I feel like i am staying in a hostel. Surronding environment is nice. Staff not friendly. Not familiar with the bus schedule and told us the wrong time which keep us waiting until we asked again after waiting for like half an hour without any apology. The breakfast buffet provided the basic food, dont expect much.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chankaren1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2014

I stayed in the Gielas wing for a week having journeyed there from Heathrow - Helsinki - Ivalo and then a 30 minute bus transfer (10 euros). It took 8 hours (inc 2 hr time difference) so it was pretty easy and the flight cost about £300 return. The hotel was pretty good value with single occupancy for a double room at half board for £740.

The room was spacious with twin beds that could be pushed together and an L shaped sofa. The room had a decent amount of shelf & hanging space as well as an electric safe. A kettle with coffee, tea or hot chocolate that was replenished every day & small mini bar fridge. The room had a brilliant drying cupboard which was really good at trying off wet clothes. The bathroom had a good sized bathtub, nice marble sink surround with lots of shelf space for toiletries, a hair dryer and a sauna (that I never used). And they supplied relatively good sized towels which made a nice change! The flat screen TV had CNN and BBC World. There was a small balcony looking out towards the ski lopes and Kaunispafell (the top of the toboggan run). The room was quiet and I wasn't disturbed by other occupants (the doors closed quietly but be warned you should push them closed or they don't always lock). The room was plainly decorated and it would have been more cosy if there had been some photos or paintings to adorn the room but that's obviously a minor criticism!

Breakfast was buffet style with croissants, nice freshly baked breads (+toaster), cereals, yoghourt, a pile of mostly cold 5 minute and 10 minute boiled egg that were effectively very hard boiled most of the time! Smoked salmon & overcooked scrambled eggs. Dinner (if you were half board) was served in the main block 2 minutes walk away from 5.30-8pm. It became rather repetitive after a week with quite nice steamed salmon on several occasions. The recommendation is to arrive early before the food has suffered from being kept warm for several hours. The salad bar wasn't very exciting (lettuce, tuna) and the puddings (creamy chocolate mousse, cream cakes and pancakes). The restaurant in the Gielas building is very nice (but expensive - 30-40 euros for a main course).

There's a supermarket about 15 minutes walk away. Trips (husky sledging, snowmobiling, reindeer rides) can be booked through a couple of shops 2 minutes walk away from the hotel. They all seem to use the same end providers so there is little difference (if any) in price. The cheapest reindeer ride I could find for 2 hours was 95 euros and was the highlight of my trip. I did a 4 hour snowmobile trip to see the local countryside but the guide seemed intent on speeding along giving us little opportunity to appreciate the scenery. The husky safari was nice but the scenery was much less pretty than for the reindeer safari. Be warned I think most longer safaris are only longer because they include time for lunch so you're not actually getting longer doing the activity.

I had hoped to see the Northern Lights and thanks to a think blanket of cloud I was unsuccessful which was disappointing. The Aurora Walk which is about 10 minutes away from the hotel would probably be quite difficult to do at night because it involves two small steep hills (so be prepared to have shoes that grip!). Also, when you get there, it's not very high up & is still surrounded by trees which may obscure the view. Walking up the toboggan hill is the other option but takes about 20-25 minutes. There is a good view from the top for miles around (as well as an observation tower). Unfortunately the restaurant at the top closes at 5pm! It's possible to drive up there which would help. If I went again I think I would rent a cottage up at the top of the toboggan run which would make nipping out to observe the sky much easier (there's too much light pollution in town).

Room Tip: The view facing the ski slope/toboggan run is much nicer than the other side facing the town/buildin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Thumbelina2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2014

Arrived at the Gielas wing of the Tunturi hotel after along but fascinating journey. Lovely room,clean and spacious enough with a view across to the church and aurora trail.. Great bathroom and sauna and a very useful drying cabinet which was used daily ,especially after that amazing toboggan run!. Very happy with all aspects of our stay. There was plenty of variety for breakfast, although we didn't sample the meatballs!The evening meal was plentiful and we thought good value, for the price we paid overall. Skiing was limited but we knew that,however the snow was perfect and we had the slopes to ourselves to improve-which we did and to have private lessons! Would suggest walking to the slopes rather than catching the ski bus because if you're lucky reindeer will cross your path-and we were lucky! Tobogganing and snowmobiling proved to be fantastic fun.Crossing the fells at speed and weaving through the forests was magnificent. Saariselka has a magical quality especially at night.Oh, the supermarket was well stocked and a useful place for postcards and stamps and other souvenirs.Would love to return to the Gielas/Tunturi-very helpful,courteous,interested staff and excellent service. Visited the Sami museum which was really interesting but could have spent much longer there.Had a lovely meal of elk on the last night after walking about 2 miles to the Laanihovi hotel organised by David Henry from Inghams. It was a very convivial evening and a fitting way to end a wonderful holiday. Would highly recommend Inghams and our thanks go to the resort manager David for his very professional organisation and sense of humour. Really want to return-and soon!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ladymancunian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2014 via mobile

I loved this hotel because it is very near to ski resort. The hotel has sauna in every room and we enjoyed our stay. The hotel is very comfortable and we could good vegetarian food. In and around the hotel there are lot of gift shops and we can see lot of youngsters skying around the hotel. We enjoyed our stay.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
2  Thank kalasubramanyam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2014

We had moved here after a night at the magical glass igloos at Kakslauttannen and unlike a large number of reviewers who stayed in the Gielas Wing, our group of 6 stayed in three rooms (245, 247 and 249) in one of the ordinary wings. This particular building had one of the common saunas - a wonderful facility in the block itself which did not require one to expose oneself on the walk back to the room !!

The hotel is wonderfully located and the local bus (which drives you around town for Euro 5) and the bus to Rovaniemi both stop in front of the Main Reception Lobby. The small market, the supermarket and the Information Centre are all within walking distance as is the Ski Centre.

The room itself was quite normal, a trifle small, but with facilities of tea-making which are sought after by all Indians. The continental breakfast in the Main building was good. The Reception was manned throughout and the staff was very friendly.

Would chose this hotel any day.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SBSLidder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saariselka
0.2 mi away
Holiday Club Saariselka
Holiday Club Saariselka
#4 of 6 in Saariselka
518 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lapland Hotel Riekonlinna
Lapland Hotel Riekonlinna
#5 of 6 in Saariselka
386 reviews
6.4 mi away
Kakslauttanen Arctic Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Wilderness Hotel Muotka
Wilderness Hotel Muotka
#1 of 6 in Saariselka
253 reviews
16.2 mi away
Hotel Ivalo
Hotel Ivalo
#1 of 2 in Ivalo
359 reviews
0.8 mi away
Northern Lights Village
Northern Lights Village
#1 of 5 in Saariselka
48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Santa's Hotel Tunturi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santa's Hotel Tunturi

Address: Lutontie 3, Saariselka 99830, Finland (Formerly Saariselka Tunturi Hotel)
Region: Finland > Lapland > Saariselka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Saariselka
Price Range: £68 - £147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Santa's Hotel Tunturi 3*
Number of rooms: 260
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Santa's Hotel Tunturi, also known as Saariselka Tunturi Hotel, provides modern-style quality accommodation in Saariselka, Lapland. Hotel Tunturi has an international atmosphere and the restaurants offer Lappish delicacies. Hotel Tunturi has also modern conference facilities. About 100 meters from the main building with reception and three restaurants are six buildings of rooms and apartment suites. Hotel Tunturi has 96 standard hotel rooms, 77 superior hotel rooms, 6 junior suites, 1 Gielas suite and 80 apartment suites with one, two, three or five bedrooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, HotelsClick, Ebookers, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Santa's Hotel Tunturi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santa's Hotel Tunturi Saariselka, Finland - Lapland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing