We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent view and super friendly staff” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Brakanes Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Brakanes Hotel
Grimstad, Norway
Level Contributor
94 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Excellent view and super friendly staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2012

I was here with a colleague in november. We arrived late and called the hotel and asked when the kitchen closed. The woman working the reception took the time to prepare something from that evening dinner for us since the kitchen was already closed, excellent service!

The room was good, clean and had a comfortable bed. The view when I got up the next morning was just simply stunning.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mikal_v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    35
    65
    51
    17
    3
See reviews for
37
61
8
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
plymouth
Level Contributor
101 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2012

A older style hotel,large rooms,all very nice,we were lucky and had a bathroom with a view right out across the water,enjoyed a very relaxing soak after a long days motor biking, we visited Bergen from here, I think it was room 113. not every one was as lucky.Food was ok,never got to see the swimming pool.But enjoyed the bar area,they had a pianist until 10pm. but,the best thing,was the fabulous views out through the large conservatory windows over looking the fjord.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank youngandsixty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Kilda, Australia
Level Contributor
141 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2012

We asked for an older "renovated" room overlooking the fjord.
The Pros: The postcard perfect view. The 2 cosy chairs we could sit and watch the view from. The small balcony we could sit and do the same. The room was of an adequate size and we didn't feel cramped. It was clean. The staff all were friendly and very helpful.
The Cons: Just a bit tired.
A tip: We chose not to eat the Buffet but at the A La Carte restaurant. A bit more expensive but we ate in comfort in a separate space away from the bus loads of people. And away from the still out of tune piano. The food was actually very pleasant.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JanelleandGraham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leiden, Holland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2012

The hotel itself is nothing special. Not extremely tidy, not extremely cosy, not extremely stylish. Dinner is extremely expansive (as it is everywhere in Norway) and not very high-quality. Rooms were a bit grey - Best thing on the rooms was the variety in TV-channels.
But the location, next to the spectacular lake with a view on the 'Fjords', makes up for all of this. Sitting on the scaffold, I felt like watching a postcard-picture, beautiful!
Tip: go for an uphill-walk in the evening. Typically Norwegian, calm and beautiful!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank OrinocoFlow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2011

If you're in Ulvik, this is the hotel to stay in, as far as location goes--it has a nice lawn that goes down to the water, with a couple of terraces (one outdoor and one glassed-in) that are very nice places to relax. Definitely spring for the fjord-view room, it's a beautiful view and otherwise you'll be looking at the parking lot. Our room was a nice size, rather basic but clean, and had a very small terrace with a couple of chairs; we enjoyed sitting there and watching the sun go down over the water at 11:30 at night!

The dining room buffets (dinner and breakfast) were ok--certainly a lot of food, but given the way the tour bus groups swarm the tables, the food had to be styled, so to speak, to accommodate the masses. Go later when the crowds have cleared out a bit, and when that piano player isn't out there playing lounge music on a terrifically out-of-tune piano. (We also ate dinner down the street at Den Grøne Kafe, next to the tourist information place, and were delighted with it--much quieter, and it was delicious.) I will say that I never saw any staff work harder than they do at the Brakanes--they are hustling, but all are smiling and friendly, especially the young man running the dining room the first night we were there. We would certainly stay here again.

Tip: The hotel has a small gift shop with Norwegian sweaters, hats, slippers, cheese slicers, trolls, more or less the kind of thing you'd expect; we saw many of the exact same items in the gift shop at the Flamsbana, where the prices were about 20% higher.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ModdeyCloh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
København
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2011

But the food in the hotelrestaurant was not good! We payed more than 400 nok for a very poor buffet-dinner. The bread served at breakfast was frozen...

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank oeeneesch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stourbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2010

Stayed here for 2 nights as part of an independent touring holiday. The setting and views down the fjiord were wonderful. For relaxing indoors there were lots of varied places with comfortable seating as well as some chairs outside. The staff were pleasant and friendly, including a competent but not intrusive pianist in the bar area. The room had a small balcony with fjiord views, 1 comfortable chair, tea/cofffee making facilities, but no safe. Worryingly one of the sockets was loose and almost hanging from the wall so we did not use it. Unfortunately we were given an end room with interconnecting door which meant that on our first evening we were able to hear not only next doors T.V but their conversation also. Thankfully they left the following morning. The buffet choices were good with food constantly checked and re-stocked by staff.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LJS60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ulvik Municipality
0.6 mi away
Strand Fjordhotel
Strand Fjordhotel
#2 of 2 in Ulvik
3.5 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
8.8 mi away
Eidfjord Fjell & Fjord Hotel
Eidfjord Fjell & Fjord Hotel
#1 of 3 in Eidfjord Municipality
4.5 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
8.6 mi away
Quality Hotel Voeringfoss
Quality Hotel Voeringfoss
#2 of 3 in Eidfjord Municipality
4.0 of 5 bubbles 242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.2 mi away
Stalheim Hotel
Stalheim Hotel
#1 of 1 in Stalheim
4.0 of 5 bubbles 305 reviews
21.5 mi away
Fretheim Hotel
Fretheim Hotel
#2 of 4 in Flam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 708 reviews
14.0 mi away
Utne Hotel
Utne Hotel
#1 of 1 in Utne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brakanes Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brakanes Hotel

Property: Brakanes Hotel
Address: Promenade 1, 5730, Norway
Region: Norway > Western Norway > Hordaland > Hardanger > Ulvik Municipality
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Ulvik Municipality
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Brakanes Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Brakanes Hotel in Ulvik, Hardanger, is the ideal choice not only for holidays and breaks, but also for conferences, functions and parties. In addition to our well-appointed guest rooms and comfortable, welcoming reception rooms, we also have a separate conference centre for up to 500 people. The hotel enjoys a unique setting in Ulvik by the beautiful Hardangerfjord, surrounded by mountains, orchards, the sparkling sea and an equally sparkling cultural landscape. A fantastic range of activities is also available throughout the year for both groups and individuals. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Brakanes Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rica Brakanes Ulvik
Brakanes Hotel Norway/Hardanger

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing