We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, food views and service. Room worn down.”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Brakanes Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Brakanes Hotel
Oslo
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great location, food views and service. Room worn down.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014 via mobile

Great place! Loved the food. The service was GREAT in the restaurant, and above average at the front desk. Polite and smiling staff.
Our room was worn down, but had new furniture and was really clean. I'd love to come back next summer!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daniel1984OSL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    36
    65
    51
    18
    3
See reviews for
37
62
8
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
94 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014

We were not with a bus tour or a cruise ship. We were individual travelers who needed and reserved three rooms. At check-in, they told us they upgraded us to "a room with a view." What a view it was! Out of our balcony, we saw fjords for three days.
The receptionist were friendly; although they had little knowledge about hiking options.
Our waiter from Scotland gave us valuable tips to go to another hotel to talk to the owners about hiking trips out of Osa. Boy, that was a terrific hike. We thanked the waiter for his tip.
Dinner buffet was about US$80 per person. The food choices were many yet awful. So, stay away.
There was a lot of space for storing your personal belongings once you unpack. A good feature for travelers. However, HOTEL MANAGER, get some new lamp shades for the bedside reading lamps. They are too outdated...yellowed with water stains and wrinkled!

Room Tip: Pay a little more so you get to see fjords outside of your balcony. Otherwise street front rooms ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hisakyuu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Killabakh, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014

Many others have reviewed this hotel with much the same thoughts as mine. The hotel is dated and in need of updating but in saying this we totally enjoyed our stay. The hotel has a great location overlooking the fjord and the rooms take full advantage of the view, which leads to a relaxing time.
Both buffet dinner and breakfast were good with a wide selection, the desserts were excellent, and the staff gave good service. After dinner we had coffee on the lawn looking up to the mountains, a great way to finish the day. The good points of this hotel far out way the negatives and with this in mind you should enjoy your stay

Room Tip: Ensure you have a room overlooking the fjord.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IandH_46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
37 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014 via mobile

As has been said this hotel has terrific fjord views. The hotel caters for a lot of one night stay tour groups and so although the buffet food is good it does become a bit same-ish if you stay several days. The staff are very friendly and helpful and from my experience the rooms are good and cleaned everyday. There is good walking in the area and the hotel has kayaks and a row boat available for use by hotel guests FOC. The pianist - whilst I was there evening meals were enhanced by a very versatile and talented pianist playing away in the corner of the dinning room.

Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Colin V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
173 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

The one thing I would imagine everyone can agree upon about the hotel is that the view at the front is stunning. The fjord is unbelievably beautiful, almost surreal.

The hotel itself, though, is such a waste of a wonderful location. It is massively outdated, with peeling paint, scruffy carpets and grimy bathrooms. The "pool" is tiny, with browning tiles, the "steam bath" was out of order, and the exercise bike unplugged with its plug left on a wet floor.

As for our room, the balcony door was a fight to open, the decor pre-1970s, and curtains inadequate to block the fact it didn't get dark.

I'd recommend the location, not the hotel. It is vastly overpriced and not well looked after.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank K W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
218 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2014

We did not stay at the hotel only had buffet dinner there
We enjoyed the foo very much Lots of salmon and other types fish, port and chicken, and tasty deserts
We were seated in the front dinning room with the most amazing views

By the way we stayed at a great bed. And breakfast up the road Doktegarden- see separate review

Room Tip: Ask for a fjord view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nonna54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
79 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2014 via mobile

Everything they say about the views here being great is true - we had an amazing view of the Hardanger Fjord from our "suite" on the 5th floor. That being said, this place is a little strange. The building is definitely showing its age and feels distinctly past its prime. The suite was pretty cramped and the shower had a tendency to fly out of my hand and spray the bathroom. So despite the view (and the expense), this is not a splurgy sort of experience. We also felt like we were intruding on someone else's family reunion or visiting a retirement home whenever we went downstairs. The Brakanes certainly caters to a mostly older crowd. If the view is your number one priority, however, and you don't mind hanging out with the cruise ship crowd, you should consider staying here.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank FuriousToast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ulvik Municipality
0.5 mi away
Strand Fjordhotel
Strand Fjordhotel
#2 of 2 in Ulvik
3.5 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
21.5 mi away
Fretheim Hotel
Fretheim Hotel
#2 of 4 in Flam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 711 reviews
8.8 mi away
Eidfjord Fjell & Fjord Hotel
Eidfjord Fjell & Fjord Hotel
#1 of 3 in Eidfjord Municipality
4.5 of 5 bubbles 113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.2 mi away
Stalheim Hotel
Stalheim Hotel
#1 of 1 in Stalheim
4.0 of 5 bubbles 305 reviews
21.9 mi away
Gudvangen Fjordtell
Gudvangen Fjordtell
#1 of 1 in Gudvangen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
8.6 mi away
Quality Hotel Voeringfoss
Quality Hotel Voeringfoss
#2 of 3 in Eidfjord Municipality
4.0 of 5 bubbles 244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brakanes Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brakanes Hotel

Property: Brakanes Hotel
Address: Promenade 1, 5730, Norway
Region: Norway > Western Norway > Hordaland > Hardanger > Ulvik Municipality
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Ulvik Municipality
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Brakanes Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Brakanes Hotel in Ulvik, Hardanger, is the ideal choice not only for holidays and breaks, but also for conferences, functions and parties. In addition to our well-appointed guest rooms and comfortable, welcoming reception rooms, we also have a separate conference centre for up to 500 people. The hotel enjoys a unique setting in Ulvik by the beautiful Hardangerfjord, surrounded by mountains, orchards, the sparkling sea and an equally sparkling cultural landscape. A fantastic range of activities is also available throughout the year for both groups and individuals. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Brakanes Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rica Brakanes Ulvik
Brakanes Hotel Norway/Hardanger

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing