We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great swimming pools - average food”
Review of Emerald Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Emerald Hotel
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Kremasti
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 August 2011

Stayed as a couple for 7 nights, half board. The hotel is 10 mins from the airport (so we got dropped off first) but 30 mins from Rhodes town (so we got picked up first for every excursion).

Positives -
1. Self catering flat so a lot of space, balconies, fridge.
2. 3 swimming pools in the hotel. All very big. Fantastic!
3. On booking we were upgraded for free from self catering to half board!
4. Staff are generally friendly.

Negatives -
1. Air conditioning was not included in the price, we had to pay an extra €45 for this.
2. Breakfast and dinner is only served in a short timeframe - 1.5 hours for each.
3. Staff are friendly but if you have a problem there is an attitude of 'wait until tomorrow and speak to someone else.'
4. Towels are only changed once every other day. In such a hot country where 2 or 3 showers per day are needed this is not good! I recommend bringing your own towels from home.
5. Hotel is a bit run down.
6. Hotel offers treats such as 'karaoke' etc but these did not materialise, due to a lack of interest most nights.
7. Food is average. They do not serve half of their menu. Got sick of gyros after a while and had to go elsewhere!

Overall, a decent hotel for those on a budget. Ideal for families. Couples should maybe try somewhere more expensive.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YamiKuriboh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (468)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

309 - 315 of 468 reviews

Reviewed 24 August 2011

Clean,lovely pool ,spacious rooms - BUT .. right under the very busy flight path into Rhodes so extremely noisy,which means you can't sleep with the doors open which in turn means you have to pay for aircon @45euros/wk .Resort has a run down feel to it and quite a bit of litter at roadsides.Its a good 20-25 mins into Kremasti itself walking along a very busy main rd.We were half board - breakfast not really worth going in for - evening meal not bad but beware if you don't eat meat - "fish in oven " on menu but had to persude them to give it to us.Beach is a strip of shingle and large stones & there is quite a strong current in the admitedly lovely warm sea !Plus side its a 20 min bus ride to Rhodes town - which is lovely .On balance go to Rhodes but go somewhere else .

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Squillo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2011

We have just returned from our worst holiday ever, at The Emerald Hotel. It appears to be a family run business. Maria, the wife, runs the rooms part of the business, her husband cooks. Maria is extremely moody and badtempered and couldn't give a dam about customer service! Maybe it was her 'time of the month' when we were there in August? When we told her,at around 5.00pm one evening, that our shower was broken she said we would have to tell whoever was on the desk in the morning. When we explained that we couldn't because we were going out early on a trip she insisted that we would have to, and in a very aggressive manner. Another conflict with this woman was over late check out; when we arrived and checked in at around 04.30am we were given a sheet of paper with "house rules". One thing it said was that late check out at 1700hrs was available. If you wanted this it would be charged at 30euros and you needed to ask at least 3 days before your departure date. I asked Maria about this 5 days before we were due to leave and she said it was too early to ask, she hadn't sorted the rooms yet, I should ask later. I explained about the paper we were given she said that applied to low season, not now in high season, but we were given the "rules" only 2 days earlier! I asked again at 3 days and again at 2 days before our departure date. I got the same response. When I asked the day before our departure (30 hours before our departure time, which was midnight) she said I was too late and we would have to vacate the room by 12 noon, and that she had someone else moving into the room at 1.00pm ! When I asked what we were supposed to do, if there were any toilets, showers etc we could use, she said just one toilet in reception (which has no lock!) and the cold shower by the pools, and she said "not my problem" and stormed off! Noone moved into our old room at 1.00pm or at any time before we left the hotel at midnight, she was lieing. Further, she refused to refund what I had paid for air conditioning and the safety deposit box for the extra hours. I had paid for 10 days the day after we checked in, assuming that late checkout was automatic if you wanted it, as the "rules" implied, but as we had to vacate our room by 12 noon we only infact had those extras for 9 days!
All this completely ruined our holiday. The hotel isn't bad, although the food is not great and it's very expensive. We found a lovely Taverna about 10 minutes walk away and ate there most evenings.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pri0ry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2011

Well it’s taken me a couple of days to get round to writing this review as I have only just stopped crying from having to leave this fabulous hotel, place and people.

We went 3rd to 10th August on a self catering basis.

I will start at the beginning and tell you that I have never and would not normally book a 2* rated hotel, however because of the reviews on Trip advisor it seemed clear that this was an ok hotel. Believe you me it is on no way a 2* hotel more like a 4* based on the experience that we have had.

Rooms cleaned daily and very spacious, well equipped with a superb fridge which in the heat was a much needed resource to keep the bottles of pop and water nice and cold. The air conditioning is extra at 45 euro’s for the week (well worth it). I asked for a room with a pool view as that is what most people said to ask for on the Trip advisor reviews, unfortunately they were all taken but I have to say the room we got was fantastic and a nice view to the fields at the back of the hotel.

Cost of drinks and bar food is great, for example a glass bottle of coke is 1 euro, a plate of chips for one person is 1.50 euro’s and a Calyppo ice lolly is 1.50 euro’s.
Car hire – the hotel can do this for you and the prices are reasonable but if you go out of the hotel and look to your right, about 10 meters over the road there is a car hire company and we got a small air conditioned car for 37 euro’s for the day which was 21 euro’s cheaper than the hotel were to charge. If you hire a care you must go to the most Southerly point on the island called Prassonisi where the Aegean sea meets the Mediterranean sea – it is a must because the med is clashing like mad and the Aegean is calm – so lovely.

Location – far enough away but within walking distance of bars and restraints so for us it was perfect because there was no all night music booming out! The hotel is very close to the beach, only a 5 minute walk away and what a treat for the eye that is when you get to it, it is stunning and at this time of year it is like a bath to swim in, the beach is shingly/pebbly so you would be well advised to take a pair of shoes that you can swim in.
You can jump on a bus to Rhodes town at the end of the road for 2.40 euro’s each and it is a lovely bus journey too.

So will we be going back – certainly I have tried to get my husband to go back in October and due to the flights on being on a Wednesday from here he can’t go due to work commitments but we are booking 10 days (7 days was not enough) for whit holiday period 2012.

The only thing that might not suit some people are the aeroplanes fly just over the hotel as they land not far from hotel – once again we loved this seeing all of the planes from different countries!

I know I will post this review and then remember some more of the wonderful aspects of this hotel and holiday but never mind – don’t hesitate it is a fantastic hotel in a fantastic location.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Michelle P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2011

Have just returned from our holiday to Rhodes at the Emerald Hotel and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The room was spacious and exceptionally clean, the only down side was the beds they were uncomfortable...
The hotel pool and grounds were very well kept and clean and the family who ran the hotel were very friendly and welcoming. The food in the restaurant was really good.
There are a few small bars and taverna's nearby. If you like cocktails and Karaoke you will love the Ideal Bar just across the road...It was fantastic..we met some great people.

The food and drinks are similar prices to home depending on where you are!! Between 2-3 Euros for a pint and between 35-55 Euros for 2 courses and drinks for 3 people.

As the hotel was so close to the airport we decided to not pay for the transfers saving £75 and we hired a car from the airport instead. This made the holiday as the Emerald is a little out of the way and you would need to get buses to the nearby village of Kremasti and Rhodes Town. We were able to go round much of the island. Lindos was a fab day out and we explored a number of the beaches around the island...would definately recomend this. We only put one full tank of petrol in which lasted the whole week and cost abour 50 euro's.

We will definately return to the Emerald.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JulieShaunB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2011

Stayed at this hotel for 1wk, rooms very clean maid service good. Food in hotel excellent and good prices, drinks about the same prices at home.Supermarket 1min away sells everything you need, food prices expensive. Not much in the area couple of bars and restaurants. Taxi to Rhodes town 14euro to Kremasti 7euro. Great hotel for kids with 3 pools play area with swings chute etc. The manager and staff are excellant and make you very welcome. Air-con is expensive 45euro per wk and you will need it at this time of the year. would recommend this hotel to couples and families. You are right in the flight path so can be very noisy after a few vodkas never noticed

Room Tip: request pool view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wghhosp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2011

This resort caters to most everyone who is vacationing on the sunny isle of Rhodes. It's perfect for a family with small children and/or teenagers as well as couples of all ages.
The owners, Mary, Demetri and their son, Kyriako (aka Dominick), are the warmest and kindest folks you'll meet. Their staff (Theo, Poli, Matina, Nine, Christos, Andreas and Stavros) are very friendly and over-extending with their service. They aim to please.
The hotel is managed with the utmost efficiency. The resort sparkles with cleanliness - the 3 pools is very clear and well maintained, the dining area tables are frequently cleaned and the plates and utensils are sanitized after each use. The resort's landscape is pretty with a green grass area to play soccer or volleyball, the children's playground equipment and area very safe all amid beautiful greenery and flowering trees all around the buildings.
The food is fresh and made to order. Theo and Poli (and Mary too) are excellent cooks. Each night they offer a "special meal" and their Greek food is authentic, the same as they make at home for themselves.
The resort also offers "themed" nights, but their Greek night on Fridays is the highlight of the week, and no one can escape from becoming "Greek" for the evening. No matter how shy you are, you will be called by name (Maria or Jimmy) and you will learn how much fun Greek dancing can be. The evening is full of "Kefi" (enthusiastic fun) and you won't need ouzo to get you going. You will definitely work off the evening's meal and must then replenish yourself with an exotic tropical drink made by Christos or Dominick.
The Emerald Resort is conveniently located close to the airport. It's true that planes fly overhead but then that's also true of all of the northeast part of Rhodes, and in reality not a negative factor in choosing this resort.
There is a beautiful beach nearby within 5 minutes walking distance from the resort, as well as a supermarket, other restaurants and bars.
The bus stop is on the main road 3 minutes walk from the Emerald that will take you into the new and old town of Rhodes as well as to the Valley of the Butterflies or Lindos in the other direction.
The Emerald Hotel Resort is located in a quiet area but there is always a cool breeze from the ocean that is perfect while sunbathing, dining or hanging out by the bar. If you are looking for a place to relax and recharge your soul, the Emerald offers you a tranquil atmosphere in addition to a lively party each night at the bar with Dominick, Christos, Nine, and fellow vacationers. It's an international medley of good fun and fellowship.
The Emerald would be my choice of place when I return to Rhodes (hopefully next year). I have truly enjoyed my stay here: the island has so much to offer (shopping, archeological sites, restaurants and bars, and, of course, the beautiful beaches (bring water shoes)).
But the most important reason for my return would be the hospitality, warmth, friendliness, cleanliness and outstanding service the owners and staff wholeheartedly give to their guests. It's like they are welcoming their family to their home.
Don't hesitate to reserve your vacation to this wonderful resort. You will not regret it!
CL, New Jersey, USA

Room Tip: Love the air conditioned room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Carol L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kremasti
0.8 mi away
D'Andrea Mare Beach Resort
0.9 mi away
Electra Palace Rhodes
Electra Palace Rhodes
#2 of 31 in Ialyssos
1,681 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pylea Beach Hotel
Pylea Beach Hotel
#2 of 7 in Kremasti
112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Atrium Platinum Hotel
Atrium Platinum Hotel
#5 of 126 in Rhodes Town
2,884 reviews
3.4 mi away
Sheraton Rhodes Resort
Sheraton Rhodes Resort
#16 of 126 in Rhodes Town
1,774 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bayside Hotel Katsaras
Bayside Hotel Katsaras
#4 of 7 in Kremasti
317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Emerald Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Emerald Hotel

Address: Kerkiras 10 | Ialysos, Kremasti 851 01, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Kremasti
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Kremasti
Price Range: £42 - £132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Emerald Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 76
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, HotelsClick, Odigeo, Ebookers and HotelQuickly so you can book your Emerald Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Emerald Apartments Kremasti
Emerald Apartments Hotel Kremasti
Emerald Hotel Rhodes/Kremasti

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing