We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing Hotel”
Review of Emerald Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Emerald Hotel
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Kremasti
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 August 2012

Just returned from a weeks stay at the Emerald. Read mixed reviews before we went, but went with an open mind. Arrived in the early hours and was greeted by an unfriendly man on the desk. We were asked to give over passports and were given a printed list of aircon, breakfast, safe and late checkout prices. Some prices had been increased by pen. The apartment was very basic and needed a good clean. The fridge was frozen solid and ice had formed outside of the ice compartment. The shower head was disgusting!! We reported the fridge problem and was told it had been looked at and was working. It was working, but not properly and we chipped off the ice ourselves. The defrost button had been pushed in and it was leaking water! Simple when you do it yourself. Towels changed and beds made every day. The hotel offers a good selection of drinks and we only ate there on our check-out evening and the food was great. Staff don't make the effort to be friendly, but if you spend alot of time at the hotel they seem to make much more of an effort. This is a side they need to work on. We were still paying guests!! The pools are great and there are plenty of sunbeds to have. The local area is good to get out and about in. The Ideal bar on the corner did a great breakfast and were very friendly. Found some nice little Greek taverns close by for drinking and eating, but prices vary. You can walk into the nearest town of Kremasti and find more bars and taverns. The beach is shingled, but nice and Dimitri loans sunbeds for 3euro a day. Buses are frequent, roughly every 15 minutes. A single trip costs 2.20 euro per person. If you book with a tour operator be careful of the excursions they offer. We took a boat trip to Lindos and could have saved money doing it wihout the tour operator. Most of them are available in Rhodes at a fraction of the cost. We had an adult family holiday and found plenty to do and enjoy in this part of Greece.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 831neu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (470)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

247 - 253 of 470 reviews

Reviewed 29 August 2012

My three children and I have just returned from a weeks stay at the Emerald. Before arriving I was slightly worried after reading some poor reviews from earlier in the season and this was our first holiday just the four of us after some luxury holidays when I was married. How pleasantly surprised we were. The apartments are modern and spotlessly clean. The staff are very friendly helpful and kind, even my moody teenagers loved them!! We decided to eat at the hotel every night as the food is excellent, catering well for a 15, 13 and 8 year olds different tastes.There are four very clean pools and you don't have to get up at the crack of dawn for a sunbed. This is a fabulous base for exploring the Island, Rhodes has great shops, Lindos is beautiful and the waterpark is good fun. Would definately recommend.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alicia39_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2012

Just to add to all the other reviews. Lovely hotel, friendly staff. Excellent food . Would recommend the greek night which is a good laugh with excellent buffet. When we arrived it seemed like we in the middle of no where but its the perfect spot. Several bars on your door step. A 15 minute walk takes you to the town of kresmatic or a longer walk takes you to trianda, a town in the other direction. Then there is rhodes town. Amazing. So this hotel is truly spot on. not forgetting the coffee/cake shop at the top of the street. We met some lovely people, Emily and kenny if you see this let me know would love to hear from you. Jacqueline, Andrew and Michael

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JacAndyMic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2012

Just come back from a weeks stay at the emerald studios, although it is right under the flight path, you got used to it after the first day. The apartments are lovely, very clean and well maintained, the owners and staff are very friendly, knew them all by name on the first day. There are 4 pools, 2 big ones and 2 smaller ones for younger children, which are all clean and well maintained. The food was excellent, I would thoroughly recommend it, I would also recommend the Greek night on Monday, BBQ and dancing, the food was excellent and the dancing good fun.The pool bar was a nice area for socialising and the prices were reasonable, I would have no hesitation in coming here again. There's a bakery, Chinese and a bowling alley with in 5-10 mins walk, a supermarket and Ideal bar round the corner and Tommies bar which I thoroughly recommend about 20 mins walk. The Thomson rep was very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Angela C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2012

Spent a great 2 weeks here at the beginning of August. Yes, we were right under the flight path, but you got used to it by day, and by night when the room doors were closed we could hardly hear any noise. All hotel areas were very clean, the pools were lovely and the staff were so friendly (we knew most by name after the first night). Our room was quite basic, but clean - and it was a bargain, so you get what you pay for. The food was very good, I'd recommend the Monday Greek BBQ & dancing, it was great fun. Have breakfast at the Ideal bar across the road - lovely! and try the ice-cream/bakery and Chineese restaurant (10 mins walk). Great steak restaurant is Antonis, about 30 mins walk, but well worth it. Bus stops near the Chinees to go the Rhades town for 2.20 euros each. We will definately come back to this hotel.

Room Tip: The newer room block starts at 601.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank emilyrorke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2012

arrived at hotel approx 430 am 26th july 2012. realised aircraft noise would be all day and night. in reality you get used to it fairly quickly.the hotel is lovely great facilities and friendly staff. area a bit run down but hey its a reccession.kremasti village which is about a 20 minute walk is a great little place good tavernas and a few shops. tommies english pub very friendly with low key entertainment every night.only complaint is the price of trips water park especially overpriced with no transport included ( thomsons rep very underhanded about the free shuttle bus overcrowded and badly driven) even by greek standards.all in all holiday enjoyable would def go back to the emerald even with aircraft noise .

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank maddog2HighPeak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2012

The hotel is pratically under the landing path of the airport of Rhodes, we had only one night fortunately , it seems to be inside a war movie, airplane are running all over the night. You definitely need good pair of ear plugs !!! If you are a fan of plane-spotting this is a perfect place .

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank vale77Treviso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kremasti
0.1 mi away
Bayside Hotel Katsaras
Bayside Hotel Katsaras
#4 of 7 in Kremasti
317 reviews
0.3 mi away
Maritime Hotel Apartments
0.9 mi away
Electra Palace Rhodes
Electra Palace Rhodes
#2 of 32 in Ialyssos
1,715 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
D'Andrea Mare Beach Resort
2.3 mi away
Garden Hotel
Garden Hotel
#1 of 1 in Pastida
498 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pylea Beach Hotel
Pylea Beach Hotel
#2 of 7 in Kremasti
112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Emerald Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Emerald Hotel

Address: Kerkiras 10 | Ialysos, Kremasti 851 01, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Kremasti
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Kremasti
Price Range: £33 - £301 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Emerald Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 76
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Emerald Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Emerald Apartments Kremasti
Emerald Apartments Hotel Kremasti
Emerald Hotel Rhodes/Kremasti

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing