We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“whatever floats your boat”
Review of Emerald Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Emerald Hotel
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Kremasti
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 July 2009

I'm glad to report my experience was good! The room was nice and clean. A little kitchen, bathroom, working airconditioning (50 euro's well spent), every other day we got clean towels and sheets. The pool-area was pretty too, and the planes flying over we got used to quickly.
There's a busstop nearby (2 euros to Rhodes city). In Kremasti there are not a lot of restaurants or shops, but the busconnection to nearby Faliraki or the city is good. We didn't mind going back and forth, and enjoyed our stay at Emerald.
If you do not like very touristy holidays, do not go to Rhodes at all! With some humour and low expectations (because of the price and the other reports) we have had a very nice holiday.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kriskros84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (457)
There are newer reviews for Emerald Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

341 - 347 of 457 reviews

Reviewed 27 June 2009

We were sold this holiday as being in Trianda. As other people have said this is not Trianda, in fact it is a good 30 minutes walk into Trianda along a very busy main road. There is a good bus service into Trianda which costs 2 euros. The apartments are poor. We stayed in 412. A very small room which was like a greenhouse, we weren't prepared to pay 80 euros for 2 weeks for air conditioning. We knew about the plane noise so were prepared for it, but not for the constant noise at night from other guests. It wasn't that they were really noise it was the way the apartments are arranged in a courtyard that you every sound seemed to echo all around. Pool area fine, but prices at the bar realy a rip off. The staff are fine if you are sepnding money which we did the first week. The second week we hired a car and because we weren't spending money at the hotel they were really off with us. Kremasti beach was awful, no sand, just looked like builders rubble. The Emerald apartments really are in the middle of nowhere. This has to be the worst accommodation we have had in Greece and also the location let the holiday down. When we got on the bus from the airport the rep actually said the first stop is the Emerald in Kremasti so we do feel this holiday is being mis-sold.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Sorrelmarsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2009

The location of the Emerald is neither Trianda (as Thomas Cook advertised) nor Kremasti, but some no-mans land in between.
The facilities within the apartments are basic, cooking facilities are practically none existant. We stayed in apartment 308 which has a fairly private balcony, however noise seems to travel quite a lot and we could hear people in the apatment above ours, with that and the air craft noise it wasn't all that peaceful.
Food and drink at the apartements was very expensive with a can of Coke costing 2 euro's and ice creams around 3 euro's. The staff at the Emerald were at times rather rude and quite abrupt at times, it would appear that they are only polite and nice to you if you are spending money in the bar and resturant. Monday nights are so called Greek Night, which consists of a BBQ (12 euro for Adults and 6 for kids) and karioki, hardly the Greek Night we expected. The pool area was nice with adequate space for everyone, the only problem we had with the outdoor area was the childrens play area was a little to close to the pools and both myself and my husband were a liitle on edge whilst our children were playing as the edge of two pools is very close. The hotel offers exchange facilities however this was a complete rip off as there is a small exchange and car rental shop about 5 minutes walk that offers a much better rate (for example we exchange at Emerald for 1.05 euros to the pound the exchange place gave 1.15.
The Emerald is actually situated in an extremly quiet area with a bar called Ideal just down the road and a supermarket next to it and two further shops within 5 min walk.
As a family we are not into lying by the pool all day and so the Emerald was not for us it was in the middle of no where. The beach is all pebles and lots of rubbish. There is an excellant local bus service that runs every 20 minutes to Rhodes Town from the main road which is again about five minutes walk from Emerald. About 15 mins from Emerald is the village of Kremasi which has a little more going on different places to eat and prices that are much more reasonable. Tommies Bar is on route from the Emerald to Kremasti - its a British run bar that is really friendly with an excellant atmosphere and v cheap cocktails, and a pint of larger at 1.90 euros you cant go wrong!
We will not return to Emerald but would recommend if you do stay there hire a car or explore Rhodes by bus.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ceriont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2009

The staff here are very unfriendly, unhelpful and abusive, for no reason at all she shouted at us and our friends and even pushed us out of the door. I would never to back to this hotel. The location is bad on the flight path, and the hotel is very basic.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank travelleranon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2009

do not go there. from the start to the very last second i wish i was back to work slaving away. what a dump. dirty rooms, no hot water, food not fit for humans, hotel manager not interested in any of our comlaints, not close to the beach at all , not in trianda, in a very small place called kremasty, nothing there, a good walk to a small amount of shops. beach not clean and all stones and peables, airpoort just down the road and the aircraft fightpath is right over the hotel you think the planes are going to land on you cant sleep for the noise. air condition was £90 for 2 weeks. i could go on and on . you have been warned. DO NOT GO THERE.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank gouldians
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2008

What a place this was it was a replacement holiday due to the collaspe of another travel firm and we wished we had taken the refund instead the room was dirty and smelt as we entered it the cleaning consisted of a broom pushed around it and around most things on the floor the bathroom didnt even get that as i checked each day and the same hairs from my wifes head that landed ther the first day stayed in the same place on the floor for the hole 2 weeks the shower curtain and bath looked like they were never cleaned and the loo well lets not go there we took down the shower curtain to use the shower then rehung it after the balcony still had hair on the floor from the previous holiday maker and it was still there when we left after the broom came a mop that stank it make us reach the fridge was a health hazzard and the staff well id rather not say it might get me into trouble and yes this place is on the landing flight path so aircraft noise is part of your holiday but its great if you like to watch and hear planes all day and night the pool area now water was cold and dirty but i think this was due to the pumps not working for a couple of days which were fixed so thats a good point half of the sunloungers were broken or water logged and i think ill leave it there now the staff pass on that one dont think we will be going here again and we do holiday in Greece twice a year most years shame this place is not up to scratch

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank bagseybaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2008

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank tailgunner67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kremasti
3.9 mi away
Atrium Platinum Hotel
Atrium Platinum Hotel
#5 of 126 in Rhodes Town
2,810 reviews
0.9 mi away
Electra Palace Rhodes
Electra Palace Rhodes
#2 of 31 in Ialyssos
1,634 reviews
0.8 mi away
D'Andrea Mare Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Bayside Hotel Katsaras
Bayside Hotel Katsaras
#4 of 7 in Kremasti
303 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pylea Beach Hotel
Pylea Beach Hotel
#2 of 7 in Kremasti
109 reviews
2.3 mi away
Garden Hotel
Garden Hotel
#1 of 1 in Pastida
486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Emerald Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Emerald Hotel

Address: Kerkiras 10 | Ialysos, Kremasti 851 01, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Kremasti
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Kremasti
Price Range: £29 - £158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Emerald Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 76
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Emerald Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Emerald Apartments Kremasti
Emerald Apartments Hotel Kremasti
Emerald Hotel Rhodes/Kremasti

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing