We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Romantik Hotel Santis

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Romantik Hotel Santis
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Appenzell
Certificate of Excellence
Grand Prairie, Texas
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Good location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2013

Friendly and comfortable right in the heart of the village. The kitchen is pretty good and they set a nice breakfast buffet. The rooms are spacious and well appointed. The Hotel Santis is part of the Romantik group and these hotels generally have very high standards. The Hotel Santis did not disappoint.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vallarta001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel-Saentis, Front Office Manager at Romantik Hotel Santis, responded to this review, 17 July 2013
Thank you very much for your positive feedback. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay in Appenzell. We hope to welcome you again in Appenzell and wish you all the best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    68
    52
    14
    5
    6
See reviews for
23
57
7
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2013

This charming and well-run family hotel is located on the central historic square in Appenzell. The rooms are friendly, large and comfortable and some have views over the square. The main tourist area is within a few steps distance, as are many restaurants. Parking is in front of the hotel. The main restaurant is in historic and authentic rooms and the quality is high, with matching high prices. There is another restaurant serving traditional food with a terrace - and lower prices. Staff are friendly. Breakfast is great.

Room Tip: The suites are very spacious and well equipped. Get one over-lloking the square.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SamZu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel-Saentis, Front Office Manager at Romantik Hotel Santis, responded to this review, 13 June 2013
Thank you for your stay and your positive feedback. We are very glad you enjoyed your stay in Appenzell.
We hope to welcome you another time and wish you all the best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
44 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2013

Have stayed at this hotel in 2009 and 2012. Charming, clean rooms (the bathrooms are more opulent than the rooms sometimes), wonderful staff, and amazing location. You are in the center of town, but are a short walk from the mountains and wonderful villages nearby. Free parking is located about 1 block away and the train station is a few blocks from the hotel. The only 'negative' was the lack of a business center....given the price of the rooms. Otherwise, the charm of the hotel, the detail oreinted and friendly staff, and the comfortable, clean rooms make this a winner!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank papinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel-Saentis, Front Office Manager at Romantik Hotel Santis, responded to this review, 19 March 2013
Thank you very much for your valuation. We are very glad to hear that you enjoyed yor stay.
We hope to welcome you once again in Appenzell.
All the best for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharon Springs, New York
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2013

Large room and bathroom, with separate tub and shower, overlooking the square. Although the building is not new, the interior is, with attractive use of light colors and natural wood floors. Breakfast was good, with wide selection from the buffet plus eggs cooked to order. Staff were correct and helpful if not friendly. On the Saturday night we were there the bar (complimentary wine or beer) was full of smokers, which was not pleasant. Easy to walk all around Appenzell.

Room Tip: Ask for room facing square in the corner of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
45 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2013

Very nice hotel located on the center square in Appenzell. The room was quite large a very comfortable. We looked out onto the square and had a front row seat to the herders driving their cows to the mountains. An Appenzell experience. Great staff, very helpful. Great location to tour town, head off to the mountains for sightseeing or hiking. WiFi only in the Lobby.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bakersfield, California
Level Contributor
66 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2012

We stayed here two different times on our 10 day trip. The room was spacious compared to others we experienced in Europe. The room was very cozy and felt like home. Bed was comfortable and the bath was very clean. The room included a separate tub and shower. The staff were very nice and polite. The breakfast was great with fresh local cheeses and fresh baked breads. The food was great and the bar was just right with local beer, and other drinks as you choose. The only complaint was there were a number of smokers in the bar area, but then again we are spoiled being from Califonia. The smoke did not permeate into the hotel, so it was not a bother anywhere else. We left the hotel for one night as we went into the Alps to hike and stay at a Berghouse, the Hotel held our large luggage while we hiked with one nights worth of supplies in backpacks. Just ask the front desk and they lock your luggage in a room. The location was great being in the center of town and walking distance to other shopping, restaraunts, and the train station. We will for sure return. I will try to add photos later.

Room Tip: ask for a room facing the main square, they have a great view and are the largest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 1998rc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gaithersburg, Maryland
Level Contributor
110 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2012

We stayed here 2 nights at the beginning of our 2 week Switzerland vacation. Appenzell itself is beautiful and this hotel was very accomodating. We stayed in a Junior Suite and it was very large and very comfortable. As other users posted be sure to book a room in the back away from the bar and square in front in you are looking for quite. After a 9 hour flight and a bit of jetlag it was pretty lousy being kept up all night by the party going on downstairs. Absolutely nothing against the hotel itself. We asked to be moved and they graciously assisted. I didnt checkout any other hotel in the town but this hotel was great and I would highly recommend. The restaurant downstairs was great and seemed to be really lively each evening.

Room Tip: Rooms away from the restaurant/bar for a quieter experience
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cmangum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Appenzell
0.0 mi away
Hotel Appenzell
Hotel Appenzell
#3 of 16 in Appenzell
4.5 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Hecht Appenzell
Hotel Hecht Appenzell
#1 of 16 in Appenzell
4.5 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Hof Weissbad
Hotel Hof Weissbad
#1 of 7 in Weissbad
4.5 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Adler
Hotel Adler
#4 of 16 in Appenzell
4.5 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
5.6 mi away
Idyllhotel Appenzellerhof
9.8 mi away
Hotel Heiden
Hotel Heiden
#1 of 1 in Heiden
4.0 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Romantik Hotel Santis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Romantik Hotel Santis

Property: Romantik Hotel Santis
Address: Landsgemeindeplatz 3 | 9050 Appenzell, Appenzell 9050, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Appenzell > Appenzell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Appenzell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Romantik Hotel Santis 4*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Appenzeller hospitality is preserved and nurtured in the ROMANTIK HOTEL SANTIS. It's grand facade faces onto the Landsgemeindeplatz and offers a magnificent view of the surrounding hills and mountains. The interesting region Appenzellerland entertains all ages with it's history and traditions. A visit to the charming village of Appenzell with it's original boutiques is an absolute must while in Switzerland. The Heeb family and their team are happy to pamper their guests when they return to the cosy hotel from hikes, excursions, winter ski tours or shopping. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotel.de, Expedia, Odigeo, HRS, Hotels.com, Agoda and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Romantik Hotel Santis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Romantik Hotel Appenzell

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing