We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointing” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Restaurant Marktplatz

Restaurant Marktplatz
Ranked #8 of 37 Restaurants in Appenzell
Cuisines: German, Swiss, European, Central European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Romantic, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2013

Last weekend the weather was very poor, so we decided to take a family trip to Appenzell with Grandma. This restaurant had good reviews so we chose to go here.
The restaurant is decorated nicely and the host is very warm and welcoming, but........the food was a disappointment. We started with a salad starter. The dressing reminded me of French dressing straight out of a bottle; plain and not exciting; I could not finish this salad. The mixed salad looked the same as the green salad with the exception of a few pieces of cucumber, carrot and celery covered by the salad which I am assuming here was packaged salad (prewashed and cut).
We all ordered the Wild specialty which turned out to be even more disappointing. The Wild Geschnezeltes turned out to be very dry meat even though it was in a sauce. The red cabbage, brussel sprouts and even the marroni were absolutely tasteless. The spaezli served with the meal was also dry and over cooked.
For the price of the food, you would expect very good quality, but what we received was amateur cooking at best. Food presentation: Poor. Quality of food: Poor.
I know my Swiss food, I know quality and this restaurant was such a disappointment from start to finish.
Beautiful setting, but I will chose another restaurant next time.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank KimaraM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    17
    4
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Edmond, Oklahoma, United States
Level Contributor
38 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Wonderful dining experience!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2013

Marktplatz is just off the main square in Appenzell. Warm and beautifully decorated restaurant with the finest service and food that we experienced in Switzerland. The menu is written entirely in German, but the manager of the restaurant came to the table and very generously described every item on the menu. I opted for the pumpkin soup, followed by hirschpfeffer and spatzle which was amazing. Expensive, but certainly not unreasonable for such an amazing dining experience.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Lisa L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
91 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Good restaurant in a charming but overpriced town”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2013

Appenzell may be in a country canton but it charges city prices for everything. Marktplatz is not expensive by Appenzell standards but you can expect to spend a minimum of 100 euros for dinner for two with a glass of wine and more if you like to drink. The kitchen here cooks very good swiss food with finesse and with good use of the local options. I find calves liver in this part of the world is exceptionally good and the Marktplatz presentation was first-rate. It's a pleasant room with a limited outside seating on quiet Marktplatz square, just out of the busy center of town. We thought it the best meal we had in Appenzell.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank teezee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Nice atmosphere, OK food - bring a big wallet”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

Went to this restaurant since they were supposed to have Zither ('Hackbrett') music by a young musician. Since we had a late lunch we wanted something light. The first thing that shocked us were the prices in the menu. Just about every item was over $20. We later compared other restaurants in the immediate area and founf that they are about the same. So we opted for the cheese and the sausage ('wurst') salad. Having traveled in Germany and France we expected a mixture of cheeses and a mixture of coldcuts. However, the cheese 'salad' had gratings of one cheese and for the sausage salad there were cut-up pieces of a bratwurst. The salads come either basic or garnished. We chose to add the garnish (different Green salad, corn, peppers, carrots, etc) and that was about the only thing of interest about these salads. They tasted OK, which is why I am giving 3 points. The other thing is that the entertainment was carried by a boy of about 10 to 12 years. He played OK, with some errors, but had to take many breaks. I had expected to find some swiss 'Gemuetlichkeit', but this was far from that. There were only few people in the restaurant, maybe that contributed to a shallow experience. The service was good and the other food on the menu looked interesting. Based on less expensive and similar or better dining experiences in other european countries I'd make a wide circle around Switzerland next time. The only redeeming qualities are the magnificent mountains and valleys, the cheese and the people. Everywhere you go you will be greeted with a friendly 'Gruezi wohl'.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank GSuperV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis
Level Contributor
154 reviews
115 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
“Outstanding Swiss Cuisine”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2013

Just off the main square in downtown appenzell sits the hotel / restaurant marktplatz. We have been in town for three days and we chose to have our last evenings meal at marktplatz based upon tripadvisor comments and the central location. It was wonderful but then again we have found each meal in appenzell to be very good. Relatively speaking this dinner at marktplatz might very well have been the best of all of them. Outstanding!

We started with the bar launch soup which is a seasonal leek soup that is very light and creamy with a hint of garlic and a touch of grass. Sounds unusual I know but it was literally outstanding. I was glad the owner talked me into it. By the way, they will go out of their way to help you translate the strictly German menu. We also sampled the zanderfilet which is a salt water white fish that actually resembles perch in taste. It was perhaps the best fish preparation and taste that we have enjoyed in quite some time. Remarkable! If it is on the menu and you like fish, by all means, order it ... Sit back, relax, and enjoy. We also tried the mushroom cream pork schnitzel. It was wonderful as well.

When we return to Appenzell, and we will, we will return to marktplatz beyond the shadow of a doubt. Try it, make a reservation they mytable.com. You won't be disappointed!!!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Boilermaker_Indy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Restaurant Marktplatz also viewed

Appenzell, Canton of Appenzell
Appenzell, Canton of Appenzell
 
Appenzell, Canton of Appenzell
Meistersrute, Appenzell
 

Been to Restaurant Marktplatz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing