We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely landscape, reliable trains”
Review of Appenzeller Bahnen

Appenzeller Bahnen
Ranked #1 of 11 things to do in Appenzell
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Switzerland
Level Contributor
551 reviews
336 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 542 helpful votes
“Lovely landscape, reliable trains”
Reviewed 18 April 2013

The Appenzell is a very nice region and with this train it's a peaceful opportunity to discover it. At any station, you may stop and have a walk or hiking tour. The trains are reliable and punctual, the staff is very attentive and helpful.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Culturetraveller12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    63
    25
    4
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bakersfield, California
Level Contributor
65 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Great way to get around”
Reviewed 27 September 2012

The swiss train system is great. Great price and gets you where you want, when you want. Easy to read, look at the maps, then compare the city you want to go to with the times, those trains are exactly on time. so dont be late. We love swiss trains.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank 1998rc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreux, Switzerland
Level Contributor
64 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Super views on the way to appenzell.”
Reviewed 1 July 2012

get the daycard and then you can go all around on the appenzell bahn. it is a wonderful trip back in time on the way up the mountains. get an older train and you can still lower the windows and look out. got to try it

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank rolyirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Discovery Bay, California, USA
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“There is no easier way to travel”
Reviewed 26 May 2012

Prior to visiting Switzerland, I had thought it was a joke that the Swiss are never late, but it seems to be true. Their trains while we were there kept perfect schedules. Out of 10+ trains we rode on, I would say there may have been one that was 1 minute late. Not to mention the incredible views you can see. I have to admit, I was sad that I couldn't take a train back home to America. Most of the larger trains have dining, and they all have restrooms.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank amedeau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Altstatten, Switzerland
Level Contributor
38 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“A must. The views and sights and smells will be a memory of a lifetime”
Reviewed 24 April 2012

Since moving to Switzerland I have used this train on several occasions either with family, heading up for a day in Appenzell, Gais, Stoss and the other villages, by myself, or with friends. Can either ride up in the car and do some walking on foot, or bring your bike with you and store it on the bike storage car, so you can be more mobile. Know that you need a train ticket for your bike as well if that is the route you go.

As soon as the train leaves the valley floor the views open up to the entire valley. You are surrounded by alps and small farm homes and picturesque views. Bring your camera, because you are going to want to take pictures of the lush, green, beautiful Rhine River valley bellow, and the surrounding Swiss, Austria, and Liechtenstein Alps able to be seen on the ride up.

Once up in the mountains, you can either unload at Stoss and enjoy a nice walk in the valley, which I highly recommend, or continue on to Gais and Appenzell. I personally find the views near Stoss, looking towards the Santis mountain and Appenzell to be more beautiful than the opposite direction, but that's me. The farther into the valley you drive, the more rolling hills there are and your pictures are limited. Walking from Stoss to Gais really provides you with some amazing views. Some of my favorites I have experienced since moving here. The farmers working in the fields, quaint homes scattered through the valley, all decorated with flowers in the windows, and properly cared for. Green. Man. Everything is green. A lush, spring time green that will stick with you forever. I can think of the smells of the grass, the flowers, and the horses and cows in the pastures as I sit here, ,aking me want to go for another day trip.

Once in Appenzell, enjoy the small town. Walk through and I suggest peeking into the church. Beautiful interior. There are many nice shops you an buy sweets and a quick nibble. A couple nice restaurants you can sit outside and enjoy a cappuccino, Latte, beer, or aperol.

Buy some of the cheese, a small bit of bread, and a small sampler of the Appenzeller drink. Beware, kind of strong, but a must-do if in this pristine, historical, culturally rich area.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
6 Thank pensrud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Appenzeller Bahnen also viewed

 
Appenzell, Canton of Appenzell
Urnaesch, Canton of Appenzell
 

Been to Appenzeller Bahnen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing