We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place to Explore Appenzellerland”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Hecht Appenzell
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Appenzell
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 July 2014

A wonderful little hotel in the charming town of Appenzell. Just a five minute walk from the train station, this hotel is perfectly situated in the town, close to the central square and the beer factory. Very friendly staff and very spacious and clean rooms. Bathrooms are large and two people can easilys share while preparing for a day of exploration in the area. The breakfast is excellent, tons of options (including A LOT of cheese!). The staff was so very helpful and made sure that we were able to explore the areas over and above the brewery and chesse factory. A tremendous hotel that I hope one day to return to.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Saiklo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (146)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

39 - 45 of 146 reviews

Reviewed 12 July 2014

The hotel and the staff were very nice. The breakfast was as well. The town was just ok. The surroundings, however, were beautiful. Worth an evening stopover on the way to some place else. Good internet. Parking a few minutes walk.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank uplandway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2014

Karin Schläpfer answered my email inquiry and she was incredibly helpful and friendly. She greeted my husband and I when we showed up, took us to our room and answered our questions. The room was surprisingly large and well-appointed and the bathroom was clean and modern, with a separate tub and shower (a quick note that the tub was really long and I could stretch out most of my 6' frame in it!). The bed was comfortable, although the pillows seemed a bit thin. Flat screen tv, free wi-fi and
The next morning we enjoyed the breakfast offered by the hotel, even though we usually don't bother. The food was fresh and tasty and there was as good selection.
Regarding the bells: we were on the other side of the hotel and they didn't bother me at all.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DantesDame
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2014

This is our favorite. The church bells are tough if you're up drinking Swiss beer at night, but hey; It's better than being at work! I think every time we've stayed there each room was different. The staff is very helpful, and the food is very good. I wish they cleaned US hotels the way they do over there. We've been there a bunch of times, and would go back again. When you leave the windows open you can smell the dairy cows and it's simply wonderful. Right at the bottom of the Alps. It doesn't get any better in my opinion.
Just my two cents.

Room Tip: Get a room in the back if the morning bells will annoy you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Getmegoodfood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013

Was there in July 2005 as a member of a company conference. Discreet hotel in quiet place with nice interior. Church bell ringing in the early morning. OK for two-three nights stay. Quite boring place for longer stay.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank grunger123457
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2013 via mobile

This hotel was lovely and Karen at the front desk couldn't have been more helpful. The town of Appenzell is a typical Swiss town from yesteryear. The views are fantastic and the people quite friendly. Our hotel room was large but the bathroom was the stunner. It was huge with a stall shower and then a full bathtub with shower facilities. The buffet breakfast was wonderful with everything you can think of plus more. Karen even offered to make us a soft-boiled egg. You will enjoy your stay.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gerrigirl6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2013

While the room was comfortable and quiet, the breakfast delicious, and the location amazing, we would return to the Hotel Hecht because of the customer service. My wife and I spent one night at in Appenzell prior to a hiking vacation. Unfortunately, our airline had lost our luggage. The staff at the hotel were incredibly kind with their time, calling the mountain lodge where we had a reservation for the following night to make them aware of our potential delay, calling the airline and the luggage delivery service, and even arranging for us to get a ride in their private hotel vehicle to the trail when the late delivery of the luggage caused us to miss the last public transportation of the day. You won't regret staying here!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rwamerican
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Appenzell
0.1 mi away
Romantik Hotel Santis
Romantik Hotel Santis
#1 of 16 in Appenzell
175 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Adler
Hotel Adler
#4 of 16 in Appenzell
79 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Appenzell
Hotel Appenzell
#3 of 16 in Appenzell
114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Hotel Hof Weissbad
Hotel Hof Weissbad
#1 of 7 in Weissbad
198 reviews
9.8 mi away
Hotel Heiden
Hotel Heiden
#1 of 1 in Heiden
182 reviews
5.7 mi away
Idyllhotel Appenzellerhof
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Hecht Appenzell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Hecht Appenzell

Address: Hauptgasse 9, Appenzell 9050, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Appenzell > Appenzell
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Appenzell
Price Range: £142 - £214 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Hecht Appenzell 3*
Number of rooms: 332
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Agoda, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Hecht Appenzell reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing