We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful hotel”
Review of Hotel Adler

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Adler
Ranked #4 of 16 Hotels in Appenzell
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 May 2012

We loved staying here. The room was clean and comfortable, The people helped us find an English speaking person to give us a walking tour of the town. The breakfast was wonderful. The hotel provided breakfast early our last morning so we could get an early train. The view from our room was good and we saw cows being herded in front of the hotel early one morning. We would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dfplum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (79)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

44 - 50 of 79 reviews

Reviewed 28 April 2012

the hotel is ok and the staff is helpful but the rooms look like hostel dormitary.... compared to hecht hotel nearby, this is a good 2**, no more

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank QualiGuidesBelgium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2011

As we had never visited this part of Switzerland, we stopped for the night on our way from Italy to Germany. It was a great decision although a longer stay in this lovely and overlooked area of the country would have been more appropriate. The hotel sits directly across from the town's impressive church and adjacent to the pedestrian area which was filled with cute buildings, interesting shops, and places to dine.The surrounding countryside was absolutely beautiful, hilly, green, and well populated with cows and picturesque farms. The hotel had a cute and unique exterior and featured a very pleasant outdoor cafe. That night we had fondue in their atmospheric cellar restaurant, certainly the best fondue we have ever eaten.The service at the front desk, our dinner, and breakfast the next morning was very friendly and accommodating. Our nicely decorated second floor room faced the main road but was remarkably quiet and the view of the countryside was special. There is limited free guest parking available, the room internet was free and fast, and they accept credit cards. Our only regret was we stayed only one night which was adequate for the town itself, but we missed the experience of exploring this beautiful area.

Room Tip: Our spacious room was a second floor "superior double" decorated in Appenzeller style whic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GauangellochTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2011

Our second stay at Hotel Adler was even better than our first. Our lovely room overlooked the Adlerplatz with a view to the beautifull rolling hills beyond the river. Of course it was very clean and comfortable. Breakfast is generous and delicious. They have added a beautiful dining cellar where the best fondue in Switzerland is served. The family works together to make you feel welcomed and taken care of. They made reservations for us at a berghotel and held our luggage while we stayed up there a night. Our best wishes and warmest regards to the Leu family.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Albizia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2011

The location of the hotel is very well located, close to everything in this very lovely town and area. Our room was in the more traditional section which we liked. Though it was small, it was comfortable. However, it was located right above the rear door where there was a delivery at 1am each night. Also, be forewarned if you are staying almost anyplace in the center of Appenzell, the church bells ring all day and night, every 15 minutes. We began to get used to this, but the first night was a bit of an adjustment. The owner and his son were very helpful, giving us a warm welcome and were quite friendly.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank AnneTriper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2011

I was in Appenzell as part of a hiking group. The Hotel Adler is a simple, well-run family hotel. The owners are very gracious, and I would certainly recommend the hotel to anyone visiting Appenzell.

My room was a good size for a single, but it was on the ground floor right next to an outdoor terrace. Because of that I had to keep my windows locked most of the time. The carpet could use updating, and the bathroom could do with a new shower curtain.

The food was plentiful and quite good, both at breakfast and dinner. The hotel has a new fondue restaurant in its cellar, and the meal we had there was very good.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KiaOra1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2011

Very nice B&B-type hotel in the Appenzell town center. Host was very gracious, always helpful, and had good suggestions for things to do in the area. Breakfast is good, and the fondue is terrific. Spotless quarters and common areas.

Only minor issues: wireless Internet is flaky - I think they have a configuration issue. Also, the location is right on the busiest intersection in town, so it can get noisy at times.

Overall a wonderful place.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank badbucky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Appenzell
0.0 mi away
Hotel Hecht Appenzell
Hotel Hecht Appenzell
#2 of 16 in Appenzell
147 reviews
0.2 mi away
Romantik Hotel Santis
Romantik Hotel Santis
#1 of 16 in Appenzell
176 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Appenzell
Hotel Appenzell
#3 of 16 in Appenzell
114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Idyllhotel Appenzellerhof
1.8 mi away
Hotel Hof Weissbad
Hotel Hof Weissbad
#1 of 7 in Weissbad
200 reviews
9.8 mi away
Hotel Heiden
Hotel Heiden
#1 of 1 in Heiden
193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Adler? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Adler

Address: Weissbadstrasse 2, Appenzell 9050, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Appenzell > Appenzell
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 16 Hotels in Appenzell
Price Range: £124 - £140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Adler 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Adler reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Adler Hotel Appenzell

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing