We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Handy Basic Hotel in Appenzell”
Review of Stossplatz Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Stossplatz Hotel
Ranked #10 of 16 Hotels in Appenzell
Reviewed 23 October 2005

The first time I arrived at the Appenzell train station I had a hotel reservation but no idea where my hotel was located. No one was around the station to ask directions. I saw the Hotel Stossplatz across the tracks and went there to seek information. The staff there was very pleasant and told me how to find my hotel. In August '04 my family stayed at Hotel Stossplatz on a short visit to Appenzell. It's a small hotel with bar/restaurant on the first floor. The breakfast was the usual selection of meats, cheeses, breads, cereals, juices, and coffee. The rooms were spacious and the beds clean and comfortable. One of the positives is that the hotel is so near the train station; one of the negatives is that it's so near the train station. You do hear the train noise throughout the day. The hotel is not air conditioned so we had the windows opened during the night so the noise was more noticeable than it would have been if the windows were closed. The hotel does not have a lift and we had to carry our luggage up two flights of stairs.

In summary, this hotel offers clean rooms, good food and a pleasant staff. It's less expensive than many other hotels in town. I'd recommend it to someone making a quick overnight stop but if you're looking for a hotel for a comfortable vacation for a few days it's not the most appropriate choice.

17  Thank Lysiak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (23)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 14 of 23 reviews

Reviewed 6 September 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Wer keine Zuggeräusche mag sollte die Bergseite buchen
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thomas C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2017
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017
Thank Jérôme B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Punya_Sathorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank 3,128
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank PicciPacci84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2016, travelled solo
Thank Alexander H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Appenzell hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Hecht Appenzell
Hotel Hecht Appenzell
#2 of 16 in Appenzell
146 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Adler
Hotel Adler
#4 of 16 in Appenzell
79 reviews
0.3 mi away
Romantik Hotel Santis
Romantik Hotel Santis
#1 of 16 in Appenzell
175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Appenzell
Hotel Appenzell
#3 of 16 in Appenzell
114 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Lowen
Hotel Lowen
#12 of 16 in Appenzell
37 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Landgasthaus Neues Bild
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stossplatz Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stossplatz Hotel

Address: Riedstrasse 13, Appenzell 9050, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Appenzell > Appenzell
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 16 Hotels in Appenzell
Price Range: £89 - £114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Stossplatz Hotel 1.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Stossplatz Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing