We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Hotel - too much traffic!”
Review of Curran Court Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Curran Court Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Larne
Certificate of Excellence
Newton-Le-Willows, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
95 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Great Hotel - too much traffic!”
Reviewed 14 January 2010

Hotel is great - the rooms are large with flat screen TVs, comfortable beds and lovely bathrroms. The restaurant serves up lovely wholesome food in huge portions and the staff are all realy freindly. The only thing that lets it down is that its located very close to the access road for the ferry so a lot of commercial traffic builds up late at night and early in the morning. Try to ask for a room that doesn't face the access road.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aroprop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

278 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    169
    84
    22
    1
    2
See reviews for
77
76
7
48
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
ireland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2009

Stayed xmas day & boxing day , could not fault this hotel in any way rooms are lovely , staff are very helpful and friendly hotel is spotless clean, and the food was excellent great value for money excellent choice on the menu. would highly recommend this hotel..
kenny and jackie

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kennyjackie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2009

We were attending a wedding in Belfast and chose to stay at the Curran Court, with memories of the old hotel building at which we stayed many years ago. After speaking to relatives who stay in Larne, they said that the hotel has a good name in the local area - and rightly so!

It is located right next to the ferry terminal in Larne, where ferries from Troon, Cairnryan and Fleetwood arrive and is literally a minutes drive. OK, so it might not be the most scenic but is certainly handy and we had absolutely no problem with noise. The location of Larne itself is nice and central for both Belfast City and the beautiful Antrim coast. A drive along the famous "Coast Road" north (and also south to Carrickfegus) is a must!

The hotel staff were fantastic. Genuinely could not do enough to help and very hospitable. We were well looked after!

As far as food goes, we did not eat in the hotel at dinnertime (though the meals looked great) We ate one night at a grill called "Papa Brown's" in Carrickfergus - highly recommended. Breakfast was up to the usual Northern Irish standard - plenty of cereal and fruit to help yourself to followed by a fantastic Ulster Fry.

The hotel building has been open for about a year I think and still looks very shiny inside. Don't be put off by the unspectacular exterior. There is a lovely solid wooden spiral staircase in the reception area. The interior and rooms were all finished to a consistently high standard (we had 5 rooms, all of which were very spacious). The quality of fittings in the rooms was noticeable: i.e. an LCD TV, soft closing toilet seats, a high power shower and a bathroom fan that actually gets rid of the steam!! Everything absolutely spotless.

We all had a great stay at the Curran Court and hope to be back soon!

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fray_bentos91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Sussex
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 October 2009

At first glance, this hotel, from the exterior, looks like any other Travel Lodge/Premier Inn. Its location, alongside the ferry terminal at Larne isn't too attractive either. But..... step inside and the rooms are superior quality throughout, spacious, absolutely imaculately clean with beautiful bathrooms complete with 'wet room' style showers. None of the rooms have baths.

The restaurant is huge and has a varied menu with reasonable prices and helpful friendly service.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FreddySalted
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Larne
4.3 mi away
Ballygally Castle
Ballygally Castle
#1 of 1 in Ballygally
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,279 reviews
9.3 mi away
Premier Inn Carrickfergus Hotel
Premier Inn Carrickfergus Hotel
#1 of 6 in Carrickfergus
4.5 of 5 bubbles 506 reviews
21.6 mi away
Galgorm Resort & Spa
Galgorm Resort & Spa
#1 of 6 in Ballymena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,846 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.4 mi away
Loughshore Hotel
Loughshore Hotel
#2 of 6 in Carrickfergus
4.0 of 5 bubbles 630 reviews
15.1 mi away
Rosspark Hotel
Rosspark Hotel
#4 of 6 in Ballymena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 307 reviews
9.0 mi away
Dobbins Inn Hotel
Dobbins Inn Hotel
#3 of 6 in Carrickfergus
4.0 of 5 bubbles 282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Curran Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Curran Court Hotel

Property: Curran Court Hotel
Address: 6 Redlands Road, Larne BT40 1FD, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Antrim > Larne
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Larne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Curran Court Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly built 4* hotel with 33 luxury bedrooms and popular restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Curran Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Curran Court Hotel Larne, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing