We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An amazing shower experience!!!!”
Review of Curran Court Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Curran Court Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Larne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 August 2010

We booked this hotel after having been let down by our intended hotel -it went bust and didn't think to contact us....helpful! We were in Larne for a wedding nearby and after a bit of looking around we contacted the Curran Court. Even at this stage the staff were relaxed and friendly and informed us when our ferry would get in and the time they expected us to arrive.
The hotel is a stones throw away from the port - and very easy to find, so it was ideal for us. We had the car and would be attending a wedding and driving around so we weren't too fussed by the views. (Asda on one side and the main road on the other!)
On arrival we were greeted by the night staff who were a friendly bunch! We were delighted by our room which was spacious and well decorated to a high standard. The room had everything we needed, TV, hairdryer, iron, tea and coffee making facilities etc. What impressed us most however was the AMAZING shower. There is no bath in the bathroom, but instead there is a LARGE shower cubicle with a high pressure shower. Easy to operate and fantastic for washing away the hangover after a wedding!
We ate in the hotel for breakfast and had dinner there one evening. No complaints about the food at all, the Ulster fries were great and the staff were very accommodating.
The only slightly negative thing I would say about our stay was that the chambermaid staff did wake us up in the morning with their chat, however overall we had a great experience with the hotel....they even gave us a contact for a local florist to enable us to get a buttonhole!

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mcnsmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (300)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

282 - 288 of 300 reviews

Reviewed 19 August 2010

A group of us (about 20) stayed for one night in the Curran Court in June. We picked it as it 'ticked all the boxes' in terms of practicalities but I have to say their website doesn't really do it justice.

However the Curran Court is a great hotel and it was fantastic value for money. The welcome was warm and the hotel is well cared for and spotlessly clean. The rooms are large, modern and comfortable and the bathroom and shower was particularly good. Swirly carpets aside, the decor is unobtrusive.

The building looks rather plain from the outside and it's not situated in the most beautiful of spots in Larne being close to the ferry port and directly opposite an Asda warehouse. So you wouldn't want to be going for the views. But once you were inside it didn't matter.

The food was honest, home cooked, straightforward and as previous reviews have mentioned, portions are ENORMOUS. Most of us had steaks which were tasty and delicious. The proprietors were proud of their good-sized restaurant and obviously cater for locals as well as guests and they are well known in the area for their generous portions.

The staff were efficient and genuinely welcoming and pleasant.

I must have been on the right side of the hotel as I had an excellent night's sleep and didn't notice excessive traffic noise.

The Curran Court would make an excellent base or be an good place to break your journey if you were travelling to or from the port and I would consider it excellent value for money.

  • Stayed: June 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Donna C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2010

Stayed two nights with our 2 young children. Staff very friendly and professional. Hotel lovely and clean. Rooms large and extremely comfortable. Very accommodating with children, provided travel cots with lovely cosy blankets. Food excellent and restaurant clearlyy popular with locals.
Excellent power showers.
Ideally situated if you are getting the ferry.
Ample parking.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Parkside24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2010

The rooms are immaulate and the service second to none. The food was amazing and the atmosphere was very pleasant. A whole week of pampering.
Brilliant.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BackAgain2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2010

The hotel offers excellent value. The rooms are large and spotless, with a really big shower. They each have an iron and ironing board; and a large TV.

Throughout my stay all the staff in the hotel and restaurant were very friendly, professional and courteous.

The restaurant was also excellent and the portion sizes were enormous; (too large for me).

The down side of the hotel is its proximity to the approach road to the ferry; and I was woken up very early by the sound of HGV's passing nearby.

All in all the Curran Court offers excellent value.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UKTripAdviser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2010

Hotel is great - the rooms are large with flat screen TVs, comfortable beds and lovely bathrroms. The restaurant serves up lovely wholesome food in huge portions and the staff are all realy freindly. The only thing that lets it down is that its located very close to the access road for the ferry so a lot of commercial traffic builds up late at night and early in the morning. Try to ask for a room that doesn't face the access road.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aroprop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2009

Stayed xmas day & boxing day , could not fault this hotel in any way rooms are lovely , staff are very helpful and friendly hotel is spotless clean, and the food was excellent great value for money excellent choice on the menu. would highly recommend this hotel..
kenny and jackie

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kennyjackie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Larne
4.3 mi away
Ballygally Castle
Ballygally Castle
#1 of 1 in Ballygally
1,414 reviews
9.0 mi away
Dobbins Inn Hotel
Dobbins Inn Hotel
#3 of 6 in Carrickfergus
305 reviews
19.9 mi away
Tullyglass House Hotel
Tullyglass House Hotel
#2 of 6 in Ballymena
916 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.5 mi away
Londonderry Arms Hotel
Londonderry Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Carnlough
548 reviews
9.4 mi away
Loughshore Hotel
Loughshore Hotel
#2 of 6 in Carrickfergus
666 reviews
21.6 mi away
Galgorm Resort & Spa
Galgorm Resort & Spa
#1 of 6 in Ballymena
3,183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Curran Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Curran Court Hotel

Address: 6 Redlands Road, Larne BT40 1FD, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Antrim > Larne
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Larne
Price Range: £72 - £76 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Curran Court Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly built 4* hotel with 33 luxury bedrooms and popular restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Curran Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Curran Court Hotel Larne, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing