We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Highly recommended” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Harbour Inn B&B and Grill

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Harbour Inn B&B and Grill
Ranked #5 of 7 Larne B&B and Inns
Aberdeenshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Highly recommended”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014

Very clean and comfortable. A good hearty breakfast , Liz the host is a star, very helpful and hardworking. Located 2 minutes from ferry. We stayed on outward journey and rebooked for return in the morning.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gary13402014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    68
    13
    3
    3
    0
See reviews for
18
32
8
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

Had to attend a course in the Larne area for 5 days so booked the Harbour Inn in Larne after reading the reviews posted.Liz,the owner is an absolute delight.Rooms are spotless,breakfast is beyond fault.Liz also ironed shirts for us and was also up to the minute on local information.Harbour Inn is a traditional Guest House and coming from cosmopolitan London it was a welcome break from the normal sterile accommodation I usually have to put up with.
Do not hesitate to put this in your itinery if you are in the area.
Once these lovely places are gone they are gone for ever.
Thank you Liz and co.Paul and Michael.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul752
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014

The only reason to stay here is it's proximity to the port. Otherwise it really isn't a satisfactory place to stay. The room was small, the bedding reeked of fabric conditioner, the dining room is reminiscent of a greasy spoon on the Old Kent Road. The B and B is situated between the ferry terminal and a retail/industrial park.The particular room we were in has an emergency light right in a corridor that is part of the room. We resorted to putting towels around the door to keep the light out. The options to eat near the B and B, without a 15 minute walk into Larne, are very limited. A KFC,an Italian, that closes at 8.30, a hotel or a Blue Chicago grill.There is one Pub about two minutes away frequented by wagon drivers awaiting the ferry. When we rang to make the booking if the proprietor had told us this we would not have chosen to stay here. There must be very many better B and B's in Larne. Never again.

Room Tip: Check your room out before you commit.If you are tall check the bed will be OK for you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sean t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wenhaston, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014

Stayed here for 3 nights July 2014. Liz made us feel very welcome. Hotel very clean breakfast excellent would recommend this hotel to anyone staying in Larne. This hotel is right near the harbour you could walk off the boat to the hotel ! From the Belfast international airport less than an hours drive.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Julia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inverness, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2014

My wife and I have used this fantastic B&B three times and wouldn't hesitate in using it again. Brilliantly close to the ferry terminal it is the perfect choice when arriving in Northern Ireland by ferry (or leaving). The place was clean and Liz couldn't have been any more helpful, while not being intrusive - the perfect host. Will definitely be back next year.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Billy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

Liz, the owner, manager gave a great welcome, it costs nothing to be friendly and smiling and she was constantly available and couldn't do more for her guests.the accommodation and public rooms are spotless with fresh decor and simple furnishings.bathroom compact and with a cam ceiling(top floor )but them I'm over 6 foot tall. The traditional Belfast fry was the breakfast standard, freshly, individually cooked , with lighter alternatives if you asked. Location right at the port with parking right outside makes it an ideal jumping off point I've you've just landed in ni. Or as a last night before getting the ferry back to the mainland. Surprisingly it would also make a great reasonable cost base for touring the Antrim Coast.free wifi and a small tv if you really need it.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gordon m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed at the Harbour as we were in Larne for a friends birthday. Checked in at approx 8pm to dash straight back out again.

The owner was very welcoming and polite, personally showed us to our room and showed us how to use the room's facilities.

We got back early hours and got into our comfy twin beds and settled for the night. I would say the room was quite warm but can't work out if it's cause the velux window let heat in or the duvets were too heavy. I did wake a couple times as I was roasting!


Lovely bathroom although the power shower didn't have huge power to it, it was fine for a quick morning wash though and was lovely and hot!!

We were the last to go down for breakfast the next morning so had the bright breakfast room all to ourselves. The owner again greeted us with a big smile and asked is how our night was! We ordered a fry for breakfast and it was very enjoyable.

I do think that last breakfast at 9.30 and 10am for check out is a tad early on weekend days but it did make me get up I suppose!

I would definitely return to this quaint little place, it was in a great location and excellent value for money!

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank 1travelfan1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Larne
4.4 mi away
Ballygally Castle
Ballygally Castle
#1 of 1 in Ballygally
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,238 reviews
0.3 mi away
Curran Court Hotel
Curran Court Hotel
#1 of 1 in Larne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 271 reviews
9.4 mi away
Premier Inn Carrickfergus Hotel
Premier Inn Carrickfergus Hotel
#1 of 6 in Carrickfergus
4.5 of 5 bubbles 487 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Seaview Guest House
Seaview Guest House
#4 of 7 in Larne
5.0 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
0.6 mi away
Derrin Guest House B&B
3.3 mi away
Billy Andy's Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Harbour Inn B&B and Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Harbour Inn B&B and Grill

Property: The Harbour Inn B&B and Grill
Address: 25 Olderfleet Road, Larne BT40 1AS, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Antrim > Larne
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Larne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family run B&B Grill in Larne Co. Antrim at the start of the coast road 1 min walk from ferry port to Scotland Good home cooking in our Grill. All rooms En Suite free wifi, freesat, TV’s in all rooms early breakfasts available. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Harbour Inn B&B And Grill Larne, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing