We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Derrin Guest House B&B
Ranked #1 of 7 Larne B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Stirling, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Nice place to stay”
Reviewed 27 February 2014 via mobile

We chose this B&B as it's just down the road from my friend's house and so very convenient when visiting from Scotland. The couple who run the B&B are very friendly and helpful. Our room was large and comfortable but exceptionally cold. A heater was put into our room and this problem was solved. Breakfast is lovely. Very well cooked. Would definitely stay here again.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Opiumpoppy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OptimisticLarne, Owner at Derrin Guest House B&B, responded to this review, 4 March 2014
Hi Douglas and Kim
Thank you for your review. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay at Derrin. The room was, unfortunately, cold as you arrived at 9 am which is several hours before normal check in time and I had forgotten to turn the radiator up the night before. We did solve the problem, as you say, by providing supplementary heating. We look forward to welcoming you back.
Best wishes.
Ivy and Siebe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    152
    50
    11
    2
    3
See reviews for
61
79
17
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Andover, Minnesota
Level Contributor
129 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2014

House is located conveniently close to ferry. Pay attention when you get off the ferry. I missed a turn. House is close to town/shopping and also to some interesting buildings. Ivy was wonderful and knowledgeable. House is convenient to roads heading up coast. Room was nice and very comfortable. Breakfast was excellent. Sitting room (?) was comfortable.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jim b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kendal, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2013

A warm, cosy and very comfortable B+B. Ivy was a great source of information about where to go and what to see. No problems at all about providing me with a gluten free breakfast. We ended up staying an extra night and would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maria B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portrush, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 29 October 2013

I have stayed all over Northern Ireland as I work away from home but the Derrin Guest House was very special. I received a lovely welcome and was shown to a cosy warm welcoming room. Just what I needed after a long day. It is so clean and modern I would definitely recommend it and hopefully will be back very soon.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2013

We arrived late in Belfast with nowhere to stay and chanced across this fantastic B&B. Ivy and Siebe were great hosts throughout our stay and ensured that we saw all of the key sights of Northern Ireland. The room was very comfortable and our family of four slept well on the 3 nights that we stayed. The breakfast was superb and they catered individually for each of us which was a great touch. The price for the room with breakfast included was very reasonable. We have stayed in a lot of places on our 5 week trip and we would not hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emma G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OptimisticLarne, Owner at Derrin Guest House B&B, responded to this review, 25 October 2013
Hi Paul, Emma, Sophie and Benjamin
Thank you for your lovely review. You were all delightful guests and we didn't want you to leave either! One night stretched to three and then you had to move on but glad you found us a useful base for visiting the Giant's Causeway and Belfast. If you return to Ireland, we'd love to welcome you back. Best wishes. Ivy and Siebe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ocean Park, Maine
Level Contributor
135 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2013

We enjoyed our visit to Derrin Guest House. It appeared that the house was fully booked so we were not able to get a larger room. It was quite small but we slept soundly and was treated very well by Ivy. I am a big man and have found that many B+B's in Ireland have small shower facilities. I would suggest that any large person make an effort to book a room asking for a good sized shower if available. Ivy tried to make a change for us but other bookings interferred. This did not do anything to sway us from liking this house and Ivy. it was a pleasant experience. Ivy helped us with our travels as well pointing out interesting sights to see. The breakfast was great and the pork sausage was from a local butcher.

Room Tip: Shower was too small
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TigerRoll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bury
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2013

This was my first trip to Ireland and after a long ride on the motorcycle from Dublin, we first rang the bell of the B and B over the road. No one answered, and so turning around, we saw a brown sign directing us to Derrin. The price was very reasonable, Ivy was very welcoming and soon settled us into the room. The bike was secured at the rear of the house, which was a bonus and we chose breakfast for the morning. I went for the special - pancakes. The room was simple, but clean and just what we needed to get changed and go for a well deserved Guinness !! In the morning, Ivy was more than helpful in guiding us to sight seeing destinations and gave us helpful advice on visiting Giant's Causeway. A memorable first night in Ireland, highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pamela H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Larne
3.8 mi away
Ballygally Castle
Ballygally Castle
#1 of 1 in Ballygally
1,302 reviews
0.5 mi away
Curran Court Hotel
Curran Court Hotel
#1 of 1 in Larne
283 reviews
12.0 mi away
Londonderry Arms Hotel
Londonderry Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Carnlough
514 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Seaview Guest House
Seaview Guest House
#4 of 7 in Larne
45 reviews
3.4 mi away
Billy Andy's Bed & Breakfast
4.5 mi away
Halfway House Hotel
Halfway House Hotel
#1 of 6 in Ballygally
94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Derrin Guest House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Derrin Guest House B&B

Property: Derrin Guest House B&B
Address: 2 Princes Gardens, Larne BT40 1RQ, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Antrim > Larne
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Larne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Derrin Guest House B&B 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Derrin House is a beautifully appointed, award winning Bed and Breakfast (B & B) offering four star accommodation in a quiet residential area close to the bustling town centre of Larne and the ferry terminal. Free WiFi available in all rooms. "One of our favourite places to stay in Northern Ireland" by the Routard Guide.We are also very close to trains and buses to Belfast. We can arrange pick up from near our house for tours to the Giant's Causeway! Please contact us for discounted ferry fares to and from Ireland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Priceline so you can book your Derrin Guest House B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Derrin Guest House B&B Larne, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing