We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great overnight stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Derrin Guest House B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Derrin Guest House B&B
Ranked #1 of 7 Larne B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great overnight stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014

Travelled from Glasgow to Larne by ferry and easily found this delightful B&B. Stayed only one night as we were on a road trip around the Emerald Isle. The owners were very attentive, recommended a good restaurant for dinner, had a lovely sitting room available for guests and cooked a delicious breakfast. When my husband had to go into Belfast early the next morning to pick up a car, Siebe, the owner, prepared him a bacon, egg and cheese sandwich. Ivy, the landlady detailed on a map places of interest for us and gave helpful hints regarding the Giants Causeway. All in all a great but brief stay at Derrin Guest House in Larne.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    150
    49
    10
    2
    3
See reviews for
61
76
17
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

I booked the Derrin Guest House over the booking.com website and thought that it looked quite lovely. When my husband and I arrived at the property, we were overwhelmed. This place has been lovingly restored and the decor was exquisite, while still keeping a personal, homely feel to the place. The owner showed us around the property, showed us where the guest lounge and other facilities were and also recommended some local restaurants for dinner. He also told us what time breakfast was, what we would like and if we needed an early wake up call for the ferry. Breakfast the following morning was a cooked breakfast, with any choice of fruit we could've wished for, toast and condiments, juice, tea, coffee and cereal. We thoroughly enjoyed the night spent at the Derrin Guest House and would recommend the property to any traveler, be it business or leisure.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Samantha W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saintfield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

We stayed one night in the Derrin and can highly recommend this accommodation. Breakfast is out of this world and is as good as any 5* restaurant. Particularly enjoyed the generous bowl of fresh fruit and freshly brewed coffee. The owners are very hospitable and keen to ensure that you have a wonderful experience staying in their town. They recommended a bistro to us where the food was reasonably priced and of excellent quality. As someone involved in tourism it was a delight to see the care and attention given to visitors to ensure that their experience is memorable. Looking forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ronnie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

The house keepers are very friendly and very very helpful indeed! Rooms are clean with all mod cons and real cosy. Recently turned vegan so can’t comment on the food however, although the pancakes in the morning sounded very tempting :) Great location. Good price. Thanks again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MVW123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2014 via mobile

We stayed one night in the Derrin in a spacious family room. The room was spotlessly clean and really beautiful, with good tea and coffee making. The beds were very comfortable and a modern shower room. Ivy was brilliant with my two autistic children who asked her 1000 questions! Breakfast was excellent and again ivy went out of her way to get the things my fussy children like to eat/ drink. Lovely and quiet, peaceful stay.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank erinmcguigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

If you stay here with your dog, be prepared to be told off if they so much as look like they are going to spend a penny. You have to walk your dog in the streets to exercise them or there is a small area of grass 5 mins away which when I was there with my dog was littered with broken glass !!.
Also the drive is quite narrow I parked in the street as I didn't want my car scratched with the overgrown hedging.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ja2stra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OptimisticLarne, Owner at Derrin Guest House B&B, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Before you made your booking you rang us to confirm that we accepted dogs. I confirmed that we are happy to take dogs providing they are not "walked" on our drive or in our garden and that you could take your dogs to a nearby park a few minutes walk away. You agreed to this and proceeded to book. If you were not happy with the policy why did you book the two rooms? Despite being told where the park was, one of your party was in the process of letting her dog "water" the plants on our drive until we interrupted her. We do not like our garden or drive being used as a dog toilet. It is not fair to other guests or to us (we are the ones who weed the garden by hand).
Ivy (owner)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2014 via mobile

We stayed at Derrin House last year. We were warmly greeted and our room was beautiful. We had the best breakfasts there we have ever had for a long time and we are delighted to be going back there in June for another stay. We would definitely recommend Derrin House to anyone. It was a little jewel in the crown!! Don't want it to become too popular though, selfishly, as we might not get in there again if everyone discovers it!!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Larne
0.5 mi away
Curran Court Hotel
Curran Court Hotel
#1 of 1 in Larne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 270 reviews
3.8 mi away
Ballygally Castle
Ballygally Castle
#1 of 1 in Ballygally
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,235 reviews
9.8 mi away
Premier Inn Carrickfergus Hotel
Premier Inn Carrickfergus Hotel
#1 of 6 in Carrickfergus
4.5 of 5 bubbles 486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.0 mi away
Londonderry Arms Hotel
Londonderry Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Carnlough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 480 reviews
0.4 mi away
Seaview Guest House
Seaview Guest House
#4 of 7 in Larne
5.0 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
6.5 mi away
Lynden Heights
Lynden Heights
#2 of 6 in Ballygally
5.0 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Derrin Guest House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Derrin Guest House B&B

Property: Derrin Guest House B&B
Address: 2 Princes Gardens, Larne BT40 1RQ, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Antrim > Larne
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Larne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Derrin Guest House B&B 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Derrin House is a beautifully appointed, award winning Bed and Breakfast (B & B) offering four star accommodation in a quiet residential area close to the bustling town centre of Larne and the ferry terminal. Free WiFi available in all rooms. "One of our favourite places to stay in Northern Ireland" by the Routard Guide.We are also very close to trains and buses to Belfast. We can arrange pick up from near our house for tours to the Giant's Causeway! Please contact us for discounted ferry fares to and from Ireland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Derrin Guest House B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Derrin Guest House B&B Larne, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing