We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very welcoming place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Derrin Guest House B&B
Ranked #1 of 7 Larne B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 December 2006

Well decorated and welcoming place with charming owners.
Very helpful and full of suggestions about places to eat and things to do in Larne and how to get around in order to visit and discover some of this interesting and beautiful area.

Alessandro (Italy)

1  Thank caius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (230)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

212 - 218 of 230 reviews

Reviewed 31 October 2006

I had the misfortune of staying at this guest house with my in-laws & partner in Aug of this year, and would not recommend it to anyone!

On arrival, we were met by the lady owner and were shown to our rooms. These were very basic, smelled a little mouldy and were not up to the standard we would have expected for the price quoted. The owner also felt it necessary to lecture my in-laws (aged 70+) plus my partner & I (both in our 30's) about the need to be quiet whilst in the building - we were instructed to have televisions switched off by 10pm latest, to make sure that we closed doors carefully (no banging!!) and to keep noise to a minimum at all times!!! To say that we were made to feel very unwelcome is an understatement!!!

Location is good - only 5 mins from the ferry but that truely is the only positive about this place.

  • Stayed: August 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Scottish_Thistle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
siebeivy, Owner at Derrin Guest House B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 21 December 2008

We are sorry you were unhappy with your stay and I apologise if my manner offended you. To clarify though, we do not ask people to turn off TV's at 10 pm but do request they do so by 11 pm. This is printed in the welcome folder. The reason for this is that we have many guests leaving on the early ferry and we like them to enjoy a good night's sleep. Our doors are fire doors and tend to bang if not closed carefully which is why we bring this to guest's attention. Our rooms are certainly not basic and mouldy. We are graded four stars with the AA and have a very high standard of housekeeping. A visit to our website will show this.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jeremy711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank gianfra66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AbelGance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LVE64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank MartinPutz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Larne hotels
0.5 mi away
Curran Court Hotel
Curran Court Hotel
#1 of 1 in Larne
317 reviews
3.4 mi away
Billy Andy's Bed & Breakfast
0.4 mi away
Seaview Guest House
Seaview Guest House
#4 of 7 in Larne
49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Derrin Guest House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Derrin Guest House B&B

Address: 2 Princes Gardens, Larne BT40 1RQ, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Antrim > Larne
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Larne
Price Range: £61 - £92 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Derrin Guest House B&B 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Derrin House is a beautifully appointed, award winning Bed and Breakfast (B & B) offering four star accommodation in a quiet residential area close to the bustling town centre of Larne and the ferry terminal. Free WiFi available in all rooms. "One of our favourite places to stay in Northern Ireland" by the Routard Guide.We are also very close to trains and buses to Belfast. We can arrange pick up from near our house for tours to the Giant's Causeway! Please contact us for discounted ferry fares to and from Ireland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Derrin Guest House B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Derrin Guest House B&B Larne, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing