We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Review Highlights
Fantastic food, music and craic

Spent 2 part afternoons, and 2 evenings which included dinner on both nights. Fantastic all round... read more

Reviewed 11 February 2019
Jayneylynne
,
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Great food really good value and friendly staff

Great food menu suited everyone friendly staff and the cost as was very reasonable. Wound recommend... read more

Reviewed 15 January 2019
pamelawilson1970
,
Larne, United Kingdom
via mobile
Read all 41 reviews
  
Reviews (41)
Filter reviews
41 results
Traveller rating
29
7
2
3
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
29
7
2
3
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews guinness pie feel very welcome a great evening evening meal country pub traditional music piping hot fish and chips menu craic miles
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 41 reviews
Reviewed 15 November 2017 via mobile

Every bit of food we had there the two times we popped in was perfect...the steak, the Guinness Pie, Mattie's chicken, the champ...the beer is cold and the staff is great. Nothing fancy here, it feels like sitting in your family dining room. The locals were kind and warm to the Americans that couldn't quite figure out which doors to go through! Good laughs had here with ice cold beer.

Date of experience: October 2017
Thank Murpets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2017

We enjoyed hearty Irish food at this pub/restaurant. Tasty and generous portions. Friendly service. Without a car it was a mile's hike up the road from Ballygally (not the half-mile promised by its sign). Check in advance to see if there's music--the one night we could go there wasn't, so we cannot comment. But the instruments on the walls show that music does appear! Most of the folks appeared to be local, as it is really off the tourist path.

Date of experience: August 2017
Thank Ted K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2017

Lovely cosy bar and restaurant a few miles from larne. Have had some lovely meals here over the years. Music on some weekends.

Date of experience: April 2017
Thank maureen c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2017 via mobile

Worth the wait to get lasagne and chips, with garlic bread and coleslaw, and my wife had chicken goujons. Great service as well.
Will definitely come again.

Date of experience: April 2017
Thank Jonathan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2017

We were advised to try this old irish pub so we decided to give it a try and we were not disappointed,the atmosphere when we entered was amazing and the welcome we received was brilliant.A very well stocked bar with a large selection of beers and spirits.Our evening meal was superb the food was excellent and the service first class.This pub won irish country pub of the year in 2016 and I can see why so if you are in county Antrim well worth a visit.

Date of experience: April 2017
Thank jamesdE7861YL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews