We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional location”
Review of Strand Hotel Fevik

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Strand Hotel Fevik
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Grimstad
Certificate of Excellence
Destelbergen, Belgium
Level Contributor
48 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Exceptional location”
Reviewed 21 June 2013

Stayed for 3 nights during a conference, in the historic part. Small 1 person room, with a real 1 person bed. No minibar, no coffee/tea facilities, wonky lighting, view of the parking... All in all a bit of a disappointment considering the location and reputation of this hotel. Lunch and dinner food was excellent, all staff was very friendly, efficient and helpful. Breakfast was OK, delicious fresh bread. Decent coffee. Well-kept wellness area with sauna, hot tubs and hammam (although sauna and steam bath were not on we I arrived at 18h, notwithstanding operating hours from 7 till 19h30). Next days no problem (I asked reception to put it on in the morning, to have some pre-work wellness).

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view in the modern part.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PascaldeMeyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    109
    63
    14
    5
    1
See reviews for
41
56
9
59
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Grimstad, Norway
Level Contributor
40 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2013

Have been to the hotel many times.
On meetings, annual meetings and weddings.
Everything is up to speed, quality service, very good food and quiet area.
We're back in April 2014 for a 130+ guests annual meeting!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Baard_Larsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norway
Level Contributor
115 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2012

The hotel has one original part and one new addition. We stayed in the modern part of the hotel. Room was nice (and slightly larger since it was categorized as "apartment").
They also managed to separate families with children in one restaurant - and couples / adults in a nicer area of the old building with great sea-view for dinner. Food and menu was okay.
If only all employees could have been as service-minded as Mr. Gaute at the Front-desk. He was extremely good at his job and made the stay great.

Room Tip: "Appartment" is a larger room with more space and a semi-separated bedroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NorwayPer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2012

We chose to stay here expecting something of an experience, given the history of the hotel and its participation in the group "De Historiske" - historical hotels and restaurants in Norway.
The location is delightful at the head of a small bay but the beach is public, not private. We had a large room in the new wing, and the style was more New England than New Norway with English stencilled text on the furniture. Our bathroom was also large and therefore I would have liked more furnishings for clothing. No minibar, no tea and coffee making facilities in the room. Refreshments were available by going down to the bar and requesting them. Dinner was good, even though they ran out of my first choice and that with a limited menu. There was not a particularly cosy atmosphere at the outer tables of the horseshoe-shaped building. I had a view of stacked conference chairs. Breakfast was OK but not inspiring. All in all, a comfortable stay but I was left thinking I had missed out on something.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Itchyfeet1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2012

The hotel has a superb location right on the beach but I found I was staying in the annex. This has a fantastic view of the car park and the room was very basic. I've stayed in better motel rooms!
Breakfast was a buffet affair, which was ok, but many of the items were not replenished.
Unfortunately workmen arrived in the car park on the final morning and started work at 0800, sawing wood and digging into the Tarmac. The receptionist and manager apologised but it had been impossible to get back to sleep.
All in all, the room represented poor value for money. I see the hotel has discounted annex rooms to 895 (single) and 995 (double). This is more in line with what they're worth - not 1295 (single) per night.
In the light of my experience, I suggest you check which room you are staying in and don't book the annex at full rate unless you really can't find other suitable accommodation nearby.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JLHEdinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, UK
Level Contributor
57 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2012

Only had a very short one-night stay but from what I saw this is a lovely hotel in an even more lovely setting. As others have described, it really is right on the beach.

The hotel has a long history, and the current owner seems to have hit the spot by converting the hotel for all-year-round use and hosting conferences, meetings, weddings etc. during the more quiet months of the year. The hotel is in fantastic shape considering its age and has been wonderfully restored. Architecture buffs will delight in the art deco architecture.

The hotel is now much like a resort, offering rooms with great views, a cozy bar where you can laze around and sip on a glass of wine or enjoy a cup of coffee, and a great restaurant. Note that there aren't any other dining options close to the hotel although there are a few within about 15-20 minutes walk. A car is strongly recommended and there is plenty of parking although in the busy summer months it can be difficult to find parking close to the entrance.

Also note that locals seem to frequent the beach so you will have to share, but it never seems to get busy even on a hot summers day so this is not much of an issue.

The beach is wonderful - not very big but very convenient since you can more or less just step out from your room. There are also plenty of tables by the beach overlooking the water, fantastic place to enjoy a cup of coffee in the morning or watch the sunset in the evening.

I had the cheapest room in what they call the annex and I recommend that unless you are on a budget or just staying for one night you spend a bit more and get a room in the historic or (preferably) the modern wing. The annex room was absolutely fine but a tad spartan, with two very narrow beds squeezed together, and as it was on the ground floor close to the main road it was not as quiet as the rooms in the modern wing on the other side.

Check-in/check-out was a breeze. Did not try the breakfast but heard it's good.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank polar_b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tønsberg, Vestfold, Norway
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2012

We went for a trip to Kristiansand, but unfortunately all the hotels in the region were booked full because of the season. After a lot of searching we were able to find this hotel with free rooms, and it was definitely not a bad choice. Very friendly staff and a great location! There is a sand beach right in front of the hotel. The breakfast was excellent, with lots of choices. The dinner menu was a bit short, and not a lot of options for vegetarians, but they were able to accommodate our needs fairly well. The rooms in the historic part of the hotel are not of a very modern style, but they had mostly what was needed. The only thing I missed was a small fridge in the room to keep bottled beverages cold in the middle of the summer. Great selection of channels on the TV.

Room Tip: Definitely try to get a room with a view of the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank robinsmidsrod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grimstad
3.4 mi away
Scandic Grimstad
Scandic Grimstad
#2 of 4 in Grimstad
180 reviews
7.0 mi away
Clarion Hotel Tyholmen
Clarion Hotel Tyholmen
#1 of 5 in Arendal
338 reviews
7.1 mi away
Arendal Maritime Hotel
Arendal Maritime Hotel
#3 of 5 in Arendal
70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.6 mi away
Lillesand Hotel Norge
Lillesand Hotel Norge
#1 of 1 in Lillesand
68 reviews
7.0 mi away
Thon Hotel Arendal
Thon Hotel Arendal
#2 of 5 in Arendal
171 reviews
23.2 mi away
Scandic Sorlandet
Scandic Sorlandet
#10 of 19 in Kristiansand
294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Strand Hotel Fevik? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Strand Hotel Fevik

Property: Strand Hotel Fevik
Address: Nedre Hausland 80 | 10 Km From Arendal, Grimstad 4870, Norway
Phone Number:
Region: Norway > Southern Norway > Aust-Agder > Grimstad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Grimstad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Strand Hotel Fevik 4.5*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Strand Hotel Fevik is more than a hotel. Since 1937 the place has appeared as an exotic refuge in the Norwegian skerries, inviting to both recreation and adventure. The hotel has a rich history and is one of the few remaining functionalist style buildings in Norway. With the sea and soft sand dunes waiting just outside your door, this is probably the closest you can get to a Mediterranean holiday in Norway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Agoda, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Strand Hotel Fevik reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing