We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Decent and central”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Scandic Grimstad

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Scandic Grimstad
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Grimstad
Certificate of Excellence
Oslo
Level Contributor
150 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Decent and central”
Reviewed 12 March 2014 via mobile

This Rica hotel is situated in the centre of town, just off the main centre. The hotel is spread surprisingly over a large area and looks neatly kept both externally and internally.

Check-in was pleasent. The reseptionist was happy and very friendly. She also help direct me to a restaurant in the vasinity.

The hotel has a VERY small parking area so be early or prepared to apply your parking skills.

The rooms:
The rooms are very basic. They are equipted with exactly what you expect from a 3 star hotel. The room I had was fairly large, with a seating area as well as a double bed. I was put in a cornor room that had little, if any natual light (avoid room 240!). It had a decent sizes bathroom. The room was clean and neat.

Breakfast was exactly what I expected from this chain. They had all the required and expected things, warm and cold. All freshly prepared.

Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Magnus C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kristin S, Reception at Scandic Grimstad, responded to this review, 22 March 2014
Dear Magnus,

Thank you so much for your review and kind words.
We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    86
    57
    23
    4
    5
See reviews for
30
61
7
60
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rio de Janeiro
Level Contributor
65 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2013

Really good hotel n Grimstad. I got a small room, but it was really cozy. Grimstad is mainly empty on the streets on wnter time. Almost anyone on the streets. I was told it is busy during summer time. Went there for a boat course.

Room Tip: If you do not want a small room, specify this on your check in. Some rooms are really small. I heard...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sylvio M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kristin S, Reception at Scandic Grimstad, responded to this review, 10 January 2014
Dear Sylvio,
Thank you so much for taking the time to review us on TripAdvisor, we are glad to hear that you had a nice stay. Maybe next time you will try our deluxe room with jacuzzi.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Niteroi, RJ
Level Contributor
104 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2013

That's the kind of hotel that solve your problems!
It may not be top rated, but the service is really good, nice breakfast, good internet and well located.
I've just left the hotel and be sure your stay will be remarkable!

Room Tip: Room 216 is front located
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brusque
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kristin S, Reception at Scandic Grimstad, responded to this review, 21 November 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you for your nice review, we really appreciate it! We hope it won’t be to long before we see you again in Grimstad.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2013

It was a very nice and comfortable stay in Rica hotel in Grimstad.I had visited in the month of January when it was snowing and it was very cold but this hotel is very cozy and nice.Went there for a business trip.Breakfast was good which was complimentary.Staff member were really nice and helpful.Good in every aspect.Overall a very good experience.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dipannita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kristin S, Reception at Scandic Grimstad, responded to this review, 6 November 2013
Dear Dipannita,
Thank you for your kind words, I’m glad to hear that you had a nice stay with us. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Livingston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2013 via mobile

We enjoyed our stay over 8 nights in this attractive hotel with unusual design features. The hotel is built into the rock-face. Cleanliness was to a high standard. A nice touch was the supplies of free coffee at the main entrance which staff willingly replenished whenever asked. One problem we found for this length of stay was the lack of storage space but this would not be an issue for a weekend stay. Bike parking underground was good but be sure to reserve in advance. Grimstad is a lovely place and the hotel is well situated. It has a terrace with beautiful views of the bay. The more adventurous amongst us stepped over the fence and climbed to the top of the rocks for a panoramic view over Grimstad. Would recommend this hotel.

Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Katbell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kristin S, Reception at Scandic Grimstad, responded to this review, 11 September 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you so much for your positive respond and for taking the time to review us on TripAdvisor. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you and your friends again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2013

I have been to this hotel 2 times now and both times have been absolutly fantastik. The stafe Are ausom, food, great and the rooms are really nice and clean. The breakfest area and the food is amaising, i normaly dont eat in the morning, but at Rica i eat a great breakfest every morning :) I will defenatly be back next summer :)

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tonetcg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kristin S, Reception at Scandic Grimstad, responded to this review, 13 August 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you for your positive feedback and for taking the time to review us on Tripadvisor. We are glad to hear that you want to visit us again. Hope you have had a pleasant summer and that we will se you again next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2013

We have stayed in Grimstad Hotel for a few fantastic days in July for the since 2002. Last year we were most pleased with the room we had, and actually asked to get the same this year, and we actually got it ! You can imagine we were pleased ! The staff is really charming and helpful , and the hotel is just fantastic, a white wooden building which falls exactly in with the architecture of Grimstad, very nice clean room, airy with an excellent choice of materials and a wonderful view and lovely bathroom with all amenities. We also do appreciate the possibility for making coffee and tea in the room. There is also always coffee and water free in the reception. The breakfast was also excellent, with a wide range of hot and cold dishes. The staff were quick to replenish if some dishes run out, they did a superb job, it was actually really peak season. We can really recommend this hotel, every visit is an amazing,enjoyable experience.

Room Tip: Would recommend a superior room in the old part.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Imsowich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kristin S, Reception at Scandic Grimstad, responded to this review, 13 August 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you so much for these great comments and for taking the time to review us on Tripadvisor. We really appreciate it and are glad to hear that you had an enjoyable stay with us. We hope to see you again next summer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grimstad
3.4 mi away
Strand Hotel Fevik
Strand Hotel Fevik
#1 of 4 in Grimstad
183 reviews
10.2 mi away
Clarion Hotel Tyholmen
Clarion Hotel Tyholmen
#1 of 5 in Arendal
321 reviews
10.2 mi away
Lillesand Hotel Norge
Lillesand Hotel Norge
#1 of 1 in Lillesand
64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.3 mi away
Dyreparken Hotell
Dyreparken Hotell
#6 of 19 in Kristiansand
416 reviews
10.2 mi away
Thon Hotel Arendal
Thon Hotel Arendal
#2 of 5 in Arendal
163 reviews
10.3 mi away
Arendal Maritime Hotel
Arendal Maritime Hotel
#3 of 5 in Arendal
66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scandic Grimstad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic Grimstad

Property: Scandic Grimstad
Address: Kirkegaten 3, Grimstad 4878, Norway (Formerly Rica Hotel Grimstad)
Region: Norway > Southern Norway > Aust-Agder > Grimstad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Grimstad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Scandic Grimstad 3.5*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated next to the market in Grimstad our cosy hotel is the perfect place to stay when visiting this charming town. We have everything you need to make your stay enjoyable. Get a good nights sleep in one of our comfortable rooms, eat a hearty breakfast, borrow a bike and go for a ride. Come back and enjoy a nice dinner in our popular restaurant Kjeller'n in the evening. Our hotel also offer you various meeting rooms in different sizes as well as our own garage and free WiFi in all rooms and public areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Scandic Grimstad reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing