We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great burgers” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Apotekergaarden

Apotekergaarden
Ranked #2 of 35 Restaurants in Grimstad
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$14 - US$33
Cuisines: Bar, Norwegian, International, European, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: We are a gastropub/restaurant located in the middle of Grimstad, with a beautiful outdoor seating area, right next to the main pedestrian street. The building is in an old pharmacy with second hand furniture. The style of both our customers, staff and food is relaxed and informal. The food is made on the premises by our friendly chefs. From springtime 2013 we have our handcrafted beer either on tap or bottle. The first beers have received good feedback both from customers and beer sites online.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great burgers”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2014 via mobile

Not many choices but tasteful. Simple decirations, with fake flowers. 11 members of the party were all satiesfied with their meals

Helpful?
Thank Oslo_1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    46
    28
    9
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Grimstad, Norway
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very cozy place, but food and service needs to be improved”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2013

The restaurant is very cozy but the service is not very impressing- they hardly greeted us when we arrived and none cared to say good bye when we left. We ordered hamburgers, the bread was great but the hamburger were overcooked, tasteless hard to chew. The atmosphere is good and cozy but they need to improve on service. We will try again though.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Trine F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
67 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Nice one!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2013

We spent a warm and memorable mid-summer's night in the beautiful beer garden of Apotekergarden, which is conveniently located near the main square in a oh-so-prettyly refurbished former...eh pharmacy. The evenign remained memorable despite the copious amount of locally brewed 'Nogne o' beer drunk.

The food, we had nachos and burgers, was nice; the beer clearly brewed for vikings ready to raid some unsuspecting country: it's strong. It's tasty. It's a killer.

Staff were friendly and efficient and the setting of the place v beautiful indeed.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Happygolightly1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
134 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Not spectacular, but a safe bet”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2013

My wife and I sat on the terrace here and had a nice lunch one sunny day in July. The staff were friendly and the service was quite good. The food, if not spectacular, was good enough. All in all, not a bad option.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank thenighthawks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kristiansand, Vest-Agder, Norway
Level Contributor
64 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Best Carbonara EVER!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2013

Strange to get such tasty carbonara in the small town of Grimstad. I asked if it was homemade, which it wasn't, but fresh - definatly. The pizza was also great, thin - the way I like it. We were two ladies having a small meal, and it cost about € 40,- for both - so the price was also right. An extra thanks to the young and very service minded staff!!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Janet V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Apotekergaarden also viewed

Grimstad, Aust-Agder
Grimstad, Aust-Agder
 
Grimstad, Aust-Agder
Grimstad, Aust-Agder
 

Been to Apotekergaarden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing