We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“building work”
Review of Odessa Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Odessa Beach Hotel
Ranked #38 of 65 Hotels in Protaras
Reviewed 27 June 2012

building work around the grass area should be told to people before travelling! just ok def not a 4 star imo

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sunshine1338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,311)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

795 - 801 of 1,311 reviews

Reviewed 26 June 2012

This was our sixth time at the Odessa. We were looking forward to a well deserved and hard earned holiday. Staff were polite as normal, rooms were spotlessly clean and food was good. Restaurant staff worked very hard. Pool area was kept clean and tidy. Victoria bar has now become dis-engaged from the hotel and has been re-named Sofa Sofa. Michael who runs the bar is a very welcoming, polite and hard working man who we couldn't applaude enough. Now for the downside - the entertainment team were totally unorganised. On our first week the kids club was a flop although the second week improved once it was being organised by Silvia. The entertainers felt the need to constantly scream and shout over the mic and on most days the must was on full volume. It's nice to have some music around the pool but not that loud that you can't talk to others without raising your voice. Same repetitive music every day with one afternoon even playing a Christmas song! We were pleased to have gone half-board and had the option to go out on the evening. Evening meal would be ruined by having to listen to more screaming from the entertainment team outside doing the childrens disco. Take my word for it - she didn't need a microphone and the 'whoo whoo' began to get unbearable. My suggestion would be to return to the entertainment company from a few years previous - they were professional in every way and provided good entertainment worth staying for. One of the entertaiment girls would be more suited to an 18-30s holiday more than a 4* star hotel like the Odessa. This resulted in a non relaxing holiday and we won't be returning to the Odessa again, sorry i would no longer class this hotel as 4 star .

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MrsMantha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2012

Came onto trip advisor to look at the Odessa Hotel in Cyprus after receiving a letter from our travel agent a week prior to flying, The letter was to inform us that building work was in process and there may be some noise/disruption during our stay. I must admit there were several negative reviews about this along with complaints about the food, entertainment and the green fencing at the back of hotel (which apparantly spolied the view of the sea). Obviously after reading these reviews we were extremely apprehensive and to say the least were expecting the worst however; 'each to their own' as they say. Can't see what all the fuss was about to be honest as me and my partner found nothing wrong with the hotel. Yes there was green fencing which prevented you from looking directly at the sea (from the pool) but if you are prepared to get off your backside and walk a few yards you can have all gorgeous views you want. Oh and there was no building work going AT ALL throughout our stay. The food was very good (make sure you get the roast beef of an evening carved by the chef, it was delicious), plenty of choice on a daily basis, even for those people who are 'picky eater's'.
Yes.... the entertainment was poor on an evening, although there is plenty going on outside of the hotel to keep adults and children occupied. Entertainment staff during the day were very good and always trying to rally people to get involved.....happy smiley people!
The hotel is a little dated and could do with a revamp but....... the cleanliness of the room was of a high level, cleaned on a daily basis and fresh towels put in the bathroom every day(personally I believe as long as your room is spotlessly clean you can tolerate everything else ).
During our 11 day stay I observed a maintenance guy taking samples of water from the pool on a daily basis and can honestly say its the cleanest pool I have ever seen or used during a holiday abroad (never even seen an insect in there). The staff (when approached for anything) were very helpful and were very pleasant too!
All in all dont know what the problem was with this hotel, after all you dont go on holiday to stay in the hotel 24/7 do you?????
My partner and I would definately return to this hotel........your holiday is what YOU make it!!!!!!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Julianne A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2012

Me and my wife have spend our honeymoon recently at the Odessa at the beginning of June and overhall enjoyed the hollidays.

The hotel is friendly, well located, with a great pool and staff.
We also belive that the food reasonable and has a feel of good home cooking.

We been at this hotel alreday last September and on our return then we booked for June 2012.

Like many other we received a letter from Thomas Cook advising us that some building work was taking place and we had a choice to be moved, at a charge. We decided to keep our booking with the Odessa and I'm glad we did. The building work was put on standby and it didint afect us at all
Even though we were on all inclusive we still went out to bars and restaurantes a few nights.

The hotel is in need of a "face lift" as some areas need improving in order to comply with their 4 star rating.

That are a few points that we mention to a member o the hotel managment team, that we feel they need to address, and they are:

Breakfast/Lunch room- Needs a compleat refurbishment to decor, lighting. There's nothing on that restaurante that makes it inviting, speacilly at the bottum, where is very dark and gloom. That spoils the good food choice and service

Entertainment team- The hotel managment needs to provide their guests with a much professional and organised entertainmnet team, it was very poor. Hear a lots of laughts while the activities were running.

On the plus side, the hotel is very well located. Few minutes up the road there are a very large selection of bars, shops and restaurants, and going the oposit side there is a very beutifull beach, where you can have all the water sports, boat trips of enjoy the cristal clear waters.

If you are looking for luxury you are going to the wrong place, but you will find a decente hotel, with good cleaners, and front of the house staff that are always ready to assist. You are able to enjoy your drinks, food and relaxation on a relaxed inviroment.
Enjoy

Room Tip: We were in room 350, facing a sister hotel, and with a bit of sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Ricardo S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2012

the rooms are very clean and recently refurbished food was very tasty and plenty of choice but best of all the staff were very friendly and obliging The pool bar would become my local as I spent plenty of time there and enjoyed the company of Dimitry ;Jozef ;Martina and especially the delectable Zaneta ( who honoured me with the fingers ) The other guests were also very friendly and happy Tried to book for a later date but fully booked up till next year that says it all as most guests had stayed before and would book up again. the entertainment wasn't good but plenty just outside the hotel It may not suit everyone as we all have different ideas of a holiday but if you like a friendly happy hotel look no further

Room Tip: we stayed in 344 which overlooked the Tsokkos beach hotel pool best room we've stayed in
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank tt02920
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2012

After reading other reviews on Tripadvisor, we were a little apprehensive about going to the Odessa hotel.
On arrival all was pleasant and the rooms we had were newly renovated and were nice. And the beds were surprisingly comfortable. We paid extra for a sea view (booked aug11) which was ok except in view was the building site albeit at ground level and no one working on it the whole time were there but still it was there! Food was good and sufficient variety for a weeks stay.
the pool area is less that great, sunbeds are very tired and broken as are the brollies, most of them you had to get spoons from the restaurant to jam the brollie up. The main pool is nice and the children's pool needed a gradual walkway in and out, so not overly child friendly.
the beach is lovely highly recommend. Protaras it's self really is a little blackpoolish for us, all bright lights on a strip and bars, quite disappointing was hoping for something more.
Overall the hotel was not as bad as we had read before going but we certainly wouldn't return!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank wribax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2012

I returned 2 weeks ago and had an amazing time at the Odessa! We got the letter from our tour operator saying that there was building works going on but in 2 weeks they never did anything! Apparently they are stopping for the summer! Some pics on here ate totally unfair as everything is blocked off! Room was excellent, cleaned daily! Beach towels great too! Food n restaurants was ok it got a but repetitive after 2 weeks my only complaint is that it was cold! The entertainment wasn't cracking! The location of the hotel was central to protaras shops bars and restaurants! The pool bar staff were great and very friendly! Big shout out to Dimitar, Zaneta and Josef!! Also a huge thanks to Koulla head if reception for a cracking room! I have been to this hotel many times and will certainly be returning hopefully later this year!!

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mongy10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Protaras hotels
0.1 mi away
Vrissiana Beach Hotel
Vrissiana Beach Hotel
#18 of 65 in Protaras
1,002 reviews
0.3 mi away
Silver Sands Beach Hotel
Silver Sands Beach Hotel
#27 of 65 in Protaras
845 reviews
0.8 mi away
Anastasia Beach Hotel
Anastasia Beach Hotel
#41 of 65 in Protaras
1,477 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Iliada Beach Hotel
Iliada Beach Hotel
#48 of 65 in Protaras
562 reviews
0.1 mi away
Constantinos the Great Beach Hotel
0.1 mi away
Tsokkos Beach Hotel
Tsokkos Beach Hotel
#31 of 65 in Protaras
1,328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Odessa Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Odessa Beach Hotel

Address: 3 Amfitritis Street | Protaras, Paralimni, Protaras, Paralimni 5296, Cyprus
Region: Cyprus > Famagusta District > Paralimni > Protaras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 65 Hotels in Protaras
Price Range: £102 - £191 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Odessa Beach Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 209
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Odessa Beach Hotel enjoys a prime location right in the heart of Protaras and a breath away from one of the best golden sandy beaches of Cyprus, Protaras Bay. The hotel features comfortable guestrooms with contemporary and chic style, an excellent range of facilities and services, spacious public areas with a great choice of restaurants, cafes and bars, and a traditional hospitable atmosphere. From your room balcony you may enjoy the view of the Mediterranean sea with a glass of wine while relaxing. A star choice for families and couples seeking comfort, fun and an enjoyable memorable holiday experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Odigeo, 5viajes2012 S.L., LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Odessa Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing