We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Holiday at this hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Odessa Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Odessa Beach Hotel
Ranked #34 of 66 Hotels in Protaras
Famagusta, Cyprus
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Holiday at this hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2013

Our first trip to Cyprus was to the Odessa Beach Hotel and we had such a lovely time there, we decided to would buy a house and move to Cyprus on our retirement - which we did 8 years ago with absolutely no regrets. We absolutely love this Island and have to nip ourselves on a regular basis at how lucky and happy we are to live in Cyprus.

The hotel is very close to the beach and also to the main street in Protaras. The food in the hotel is excellent so we had no need to go out looking for somewhere else to eat. The entertainment was also very good and the staff very attentive and helpful.

I would recommend this hotel to anyone with, or without, a family. It is so well sited for all amenities including the local bus service.

We still go into the hotel for the occasional lunch or coffee when we are in Protaras.

Room Tip: We had a side seaview which also looked out onto the pool and the balcony was nice to sit and just p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank MarionWalker608
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,162 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    419
    393
    215
    84
    51
See reviews for
398
512
11
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (292)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Any
English first
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
315 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 179 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2013

The location in Protoras was good, it was maybe a little further away from Fig Tree Bay than we would have liked but still close enough to walk in 10 minutes or so, the room was clean and spacious and the view was okay.

We stayed here for one week before moving up the road into a Villa with some friends for a wedding nearby.

We were half board and the hotel let us swap our evening meal for lunch on some days as we decided to dine out in the evening rather than eat in the hotel.

We ate out most evenings simply because the food wasn't that great, on one night I ate cheese and tomato ravioli this turned out to be pork even though the label was green and everything was pointing towards it being vegetarian, the chef seemed to think that the word ravioli covered the pork element......

Even though the evening meal was not great luncha nd breakfast were good so my advice would be to go B&B rather than half board

Other than that it was okay, and is not bad if you want a relaxing week away, plenty of things to do in the area

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank WakefieldBex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2013

We holidayed with friends late October 2012, all inclusive, Thomas Cook, at the Odessa hotel Protaras. We had a bad start as our flight was delayed over 4 hours so we arrived late at night hungry (no meal provided on the plane borrowed from Thomsons) and tired, no food available on arrival and missed out on what could have been a relaxing first evening. We couldn't even get a coffee and the rather rude reception barman told us very abruptly, no apology, that the bar was closed. We also discovered one of the beds was wet (!!) not what you want to find as you are about to crash out at 1.30am after a long stressful day of travelling and sitting around airports for hours!

The hotel was average, 3 star not 4 star for families and couples, all ages. The room was a good size with balcony, overlooking the pool and partial sea view and air con. Maid service was a bit hit and miss but any complaints were dealt with promptly. Breakfasts good, choice of cooked, including freshly cooked eggs and choice of omelettes, and cold meats, pastries, yoghurt, limited choice of cereals and fruit, no fruit juice just squash. The weather was fantastic 30 deg +, so we sat outside for breakfast every morning. Lunch was average but Ok for us as we didn't want too much and again we ate outside by the pool. Afternoon tea was poor (if you like that kind of thing), with just a few (and I mean a FEW) unimpressive cakes and biscuits. Again no problem for us as we weren't hungry at that time.

Evening meal was buffet style in the main restaurant, lots of choice, mostly good quality, a bit luke warm at times, not over impressed with desserts, but no serious complaints. Wine waiter was on the ball and all restaurant and pool bar staff efficient and friendly. Evening entertainment OK for families but we preferred to have a quiet drink out on the terrace after dinner or to seek other entertainment in the town. Good choice of bars, with entertainment, and restaurants in the town at reasonable prices if you are not all inclusive. We went to a good steak restaurant on 2 evenings - great atmosphere, service and value for money, so worth considering bed and breakfast at this hotel, but overall it will cost you more than all inclusive and staying at the hotel.

The SofaSofa bar, accessible from the hotel opened on each Saturday night at about 2am till 5am. The volume was ridiculous, especially given this is a family hotel, so don't expect to get much sleep if you are in a pool view room at this time!

Nice pool bar, friendly staff, good choice of drinks, smallish but decent pool albeit a bit cold. Usual water polo etc. entertainment team very good worked hard friendly but not pushy. Plenty of sunbeds, but some a bit worn out, grubby and dusty. There was construction traffic, and visible building work (in spite of some screening) going on close to and around the hotel creating noise in the daytime and some dust in the grassy sunbathing area away from the pool; closest to the building site. This didn't detract too much from our enjoyment as we had been made aware of the building work by Thomas Cook but only 3 weeks before we flew out. They had offered to move us to another hotel but at additional cost of £300 each which was not acceptable to us. We resolved not to let this spoil our holiday, although the work was more intense than we had been led to believe and we later learned that the work had been ongoing for several months and Thomas Cook would have been aware of this at the time of our booking so we felt misled.

The beach, which is very nice, has lots of sunbeds and watersports, bars, cafes and boardwalk is a 3 minute walk away but down a dusty track, sharing with construction traffic, not the nice grassy walk, lined with palm trees as portrayed by the out of date photo in the brochure. Nice walks in both directions.

We hired a car for 3 days at reasonable cost and drove to Ayia Napa for an afternoon on the beach, had a drive to the Troodos mountains, and to Paphos (preferred it to Protaras) on the other 2 days for a change of scenery.

The second week was quieter than the first week and we got the impression that they were winding down ready for the end of the season and service wasn't quite so good. They brought in the seating and armchairs from the SofaSofa bar terrace and put them in the reception area / lounge bar. They were very grubby, didn't look too impressive and let down the hotel.

All in all an enjoyable holiday but we had a number of issues like the poor advice ref building work, flight delay, no meals on the flight (which were prepaid), misleading brochure etc., which we are pursuing with Thomas Cook and ABTA.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grimsby, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2013

Me and my boyfriend stayed at the Odessa over Easter in 2012. We are a young couple, and found the hotels location ideal. It is a very quiet time of year to go protaras, but it was nice even the weather was very hot. The beach is literally a stones throw away from hotel, we were all inclusive, which was useful - drinks were always available as was food. The food I wasn't to impressed with - however I am quite a fussy person. The room had two singles pushed together for a double, this wasn't a problem though. Always cleaned to a very high standard, and the staff were nice enough. We had a back facing room away from beach, with a view of the other hotel, but could still see the sea and it was interesting. Around the pool was nice enough, clean, and a quieter grassy area as well.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Zoe E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
54 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2013

Stayed here with my family in July 2012, hotel is clean, comfy beds, plenty pool space, great location, food was ok. We would definately go back. The beach is a 2 minute walk and there is plenty to do in the evening just a 5 minute walk from the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2013 via mobile

Me and my boyfriend have just returned from the Odessa and has a great time despite the building work .our hotel room was at the back over looking the hotel next door our balcony view you could see the crane and building work and the sea didn't really bother us as we was out all day and was not on balcony for a long period of time they are only doing foundations at the minute .the hotel could do with abit of a paint but nothing to bad cleaners were in room everyday with fresh towels . Meals were good you had a good choice we stayed all inclusive They had the fry up type breakfast buffet style you could have a fresh omelette made waffles cereal fruit etc snacks were pizza salad burgers fries lots of choice for lunch and dinner so you would find something you liked a little bit the same most nights staff were very pleasant you had to pay for bottled water I would stay here again but would like to go b&b as we did not find it was to bad on the strip for food and drinks cheers bar we liked food there was cheap and most other restaurants had good deals on in evening you could have a steak for about 9 euro each burger and chips etc around 6 euro keo was nice larger and cheap even carlsburg in some places was same price would rather at a newer hotel but it was best value as other. Hotels was a lot more expensive just for b&b don't expect Luxury it's more a family haven type hotel

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mcfcheywood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2013

Thomas Cook advised us to go to this hotel for our recent October school holiday insuring us that all facilities would be up and running this turned out to be totally untrue things like kids club,entertainment closed on a daily basis and even the hotel was clearing rooms as people left even the dining room was cleared up while we were still there it seemed as though they couldnt wait for us to leave so they could close for the winter. We were the last coach to leave what was a deserted hotel and also resort most of the bars, shops etc were closed for the whole week.
Certainly not the holiday we paid for
Building work noise got worse throughout the week but as the hotel was closing for the winter no one seemed to think it mattered anymore.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carol d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Protaras hotels
0.1 mi away
Vrissiana Beach Hotel
Vrissiana Beach Hotel
#15 of 66 in Protaras
4.0 of 5 bubbles 884 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tsokkos Beach Hotel
Tsokkos Beach Hotel
#21 of 66 in Protaras
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,178 reviews
0.3 mi away
Silver Sands Beach Hotel
Silver Sands Beach Hotel
#35 of 66 in Protaras
4.0 of 5 bubbles 690 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Iliada Beach Hotel
Iliada Beach Hotel
#47 of 66 in Protaras
4.0 of 5 bubbles 504 reviews
0.8 mi away
Anastasia Beach Hotel
Anastasia Beach Hotel
#30 of 66 in Protaras
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,318 reviews
0.1 mi away
Vrissaki Beach Hotel
Vrissaki Beach Hotel
#11 of 66 in Protaras
4.5 of 5 bubbles 410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Odessa Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Odessa Beach Hotel

Property: Odessa Beach Hotel
Address: 3 Amfitritis Street | Protaras, Paralimni, Protaras, Paralimni 5296, Cyprus
Region: Cyprus > Famagusta District > Paralimni > Protaras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 66 Hotels in Protaras
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Odessa Beach Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 209
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Odessa Beach Hotel enjoys a prime location right in the heart of Protaras and a breath away from one of the best golden sandy beaches of Cyprus, Protaras Bay. The hotel features comfortable guestrooms with contemporary and chic style, an excellent range of facilities and services, spacious public areas with a great choice of restaurants, cafes and bars, and a traditional hospitable atmosphere. From your room balcony you may enjoy the view of the Mediterranean sea with a glass of wine while relaxing. A star choice for families and couples seeking comfort, fun and an enjoyable memorable holiday experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, TravelUp and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Odessa Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing