We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very nice central hotel”
Review of Odessa Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Odessa Beach Hotel
Ranked #38 of 65 Hotels in Protaras
Reviewed 5 July 2014

Me and my wife came to this hotel in may 2014 for a weeks holiday. we was so glad we picked this hotel from the others in the book pot luck. i requested a lower floor room by email when we arrived we was on the ground floor.our room was a nice size very clean with a lovely balcony.the food was really nice breakfast ,lunch.and dinner.the staff were very polite and helpful we had a really relaxing week holiday .recommend this hotel

Room Tip: any room would be fine not a noisy area
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank aphillipou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,294)
There are newer reviews for Odessa Beach Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

493 - 499 of 1,294 reviews

Reviewed 2 July 2014

We stayed at the Odessa for 2 weeks (June) and all I can say is it is a very average 3 star hotel. On the positive side the rooms have been refurbed and are very nice, its a shame that the rest of the hotel does not follow.If you are going to spend your holiday in the room then please ignore my review.

I will make an exception for the reception team who were always helpful and gave a good service. The entertainment team were also very nice and good activities in the day (bit limited in the evening to Bingo and quiz)

The negatives:-

Service at the bar - Bar staff always left alone to serve up to 15 persons on their own while the management team walked around all day doing largely nothing. Going to the pool bar for a glass of water sometimes took 10 minutes due to a lack of staff. It seems like a lot of the management (suits) don't really care a lot about the standard of service. On 2 occasions I walked behind the bar in reception and poured my own pint of beer after waiting for the bar staff to return. In fairness this only seemed to be an issue with the guys. The female staff always seemed to be on the ball, even if they were expected to serve the whole hotel on their own at times.

One of the bar staff/pool attendants was fired for being drunk almost every day. He had 3 warnings and fired eventually. This took so long because his Daddy ownes another local hotel.

This takes me on to another joke. Every saturday night 12am till 5am the whole hotel shakes from the nightclub which is within the hotel but mostly caters for the locals at 40 euro a pop. Apparently tonnes of complaints in the past but the owners son runs the club so he basically has a licence to do what he wants in terms of noise. Can't even believe we had to put up with that in a supposed 4star hotel.

Food - Breakfast was ok and meat was always good, but the fish dishes were awful. We more or less had boiled fish in water all holiday (nothing other than white fish done bad). I thought the chef may have had one 2 many ouzo when I saw a salad with lettice, orange, crunched crackers and fetta. We actually eat out 5 times all inclusive due to the food.

Decor- the hotel is in desperate need of a facelift. No aircon in reception so we watched the first few world cup games at 30c plus in the hotel bar. Sofa's old and worn and carpets and walls in a right state. some painting and general maintainance was ongoing from about week 2 but it makes you wonder why the hotel is still not ready for the holiday season at the end of June.

Lots of people on trip advisor saying its their 5/6/7 th time at the Odessa. These people need to live a bit more and see what other hotels are in protarus and the rest of the world. I've stayed at many in protarus over the years all outstanding.

Final thought- Give this hotel a miss. Its full of miserable Russians and a mile off 4 star.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Roger22222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

lovely rooms, friendly staff, great location, food good although the kids menu could be improved. pool clean and no deep end. on down side, evening entertainment not good but plenty to do in protaras anyway, so would recommend half board not all-inclusive. Also theres a nightclub on site only on a saturday night and for the foreigners and it shakes the hotel till early hours, luckily our room was far away from it but wouldnt want to have been any nearer.

Room Tip: as far away from the side were restaurant is as thats were nightclub is.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Debbie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014

Have just returned from the odessa. 3rd time we have been to this hotel and we are never dissappointed. Staff are always helpful and friendly, excellent location, right on the beach and only a few yards from the shops and bars.This year the manager asked if we would like to spend a few days at the brand new king evelthon hotel and spa in pathos, free of charge. We were very glad we accepted, we were upgraded to all inclusive stay. The hotel is 5 star, fabulous pool, excellent food, great room and wonderful cocktails and pleasant staff. My only criticism is that there are some areas that aren't completed yet and also nothing outside this hotel. Should imagine in a couple of years time all that will change. So many thanks to the odessa for a lovely holiday and also for the pathos break.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Shelley H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014

Stayed for two weeks from 21/05/14 and was impressed with the hotel which was very modern but was a 3/4 rather than 4. The staff made the hotel and were very helpful and could not do enough for you.The hotel was very central with a Costa coffee shop next door with free WiFi and if you wanted to eat out there were many cheap eating places also you were very close to the beach were you payed 5 euro for bead and umbrella.If you had children there was things for them to with special staff.The hotel had one problem THE FOOD which was not up to standard for a 4 star hotel,the food was very repetitive and not a great variety.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Ivork4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014

we have just returned from family holiday in the odessa great location room abit dated but were clean and tidy the only fault i have with this hotel the evening menu wasnt great so if i go back to the hotel i shall book in bed and breakfast my last evening meal was a roll and 4 potatoe wedges not good for a 4 star hotel

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rosemary663
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Stayed for a week on AI and was very impressed with this hotel. The staff I feel make this hotel as they cant do enough for you. As we were AI we only had to pay €5 deposit for the key to the fridge and was refundable upon return of the key. We need to hire an iron and ironboard (we were going to a wedding and needed to iron creases out of our finery lol) deposit of €10 refundable upon return of iron and ironingboard, which we only returned on last day. We didnt use the gym but still had our pool/beach towels. The air con is free and I believe its whether AI or not. Our room was large but there was three of us sharing and all being female did at times seem as if we were on top of each other, bathroom was small incomparison to our room but couldnt fault the cleanliness it was spotless as was the room. Plenty of wardrope space which was a blessing. We hired the safe for €13 for the week but think its €22 for two weeks. Around the pool area there was ample beds and umbrellas to be had. The entertainment team did a very good job of involving guests to take part in their pool activities however if you didnt want to they didnt harass you to join in but were still very friendly and chat with you. I certainly couldnt complain about the food, ok some of it I didnt like but there was always plenty of variety that you didnt go hungry. Dont expect bottled water free you have to pay but you can have water by the glass from a machine, in fact seen some people fill their bottles up with this water, we bought ours from the supermarket its cheap enough and just keep them in the fridge. We went with Thomas Cook and the transfer bus dropped us off and picked us up from the hotel. It was my first time to Cyprus and will most certainly go back again but only to this hotel.

Room Tip: Third floor room 306
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank BoltonSunshine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Protaras hotels
0.1 mi away
Vrissiana Beach Hotel
Vrissiana Beach Hotel
#18 of 65 in Protaras
980 reviews
0.3 mi away
Silver Sands Beach Hotel
Silver Sands Beach Hotel
#20 of 65 in Protaras
828 reviews
0.1 mi away
Constantinos the Great Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Anastasia Beach Hotel
Anastasia Beach Hotel
#36 of 65 in Protaras
1,458 reviews
0.3 mi away
Iliada Beach Hotel
Iliada Beach Hotel
#49 of 65 in Protaras
554 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tsokkos Beach Hotel
Tsokkos Beach Hotel
#28 of 65 in Protaras
1,306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Odessa Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Odessa Beach Hotel

Address: 3 Amfitritis Street | Protaras, Paralimni, Protaras, Paralimni 5296, Cyprus
Region: Cyprus > Famagusta District > Paralimni > Protaras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 65 Hotels in Protaras
Price Range: £113 - £219 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Odessa Beach Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 209
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Odessa Beach Hotel enjoys a prime location right in the heart of Protaras and a breath away from one of the best golden sandy beaches of Cyprus, Protaras Bay. The hotel features comfortable guestrooms with contemporary and chic style, an excellent range of facilities and services, spacious public areas with a great choice of restaurants, cafes and bars, and a traditional hospitable atmosphere. From your room balcony you may enjoy the view of the Mediterranean sea with a glass of wine while relaxing. A star choice for families and couples seeking comfort, fun and an enjoyable memorable holiday experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Odessa Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing