We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Place for a break”
Review of Odessa Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Odessa Beach Hotel
Ranked #32 of 65 Hotels in Protaras
Liverpool
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Nice Place for a break”
Reviewed 7 August 2014

Very good hotel, clean, tidy and staff very helpful.

A Little dated and food needs a little important, but worth the money.

Family and I stayed here. Very close to the beach, water sports and the protaras main restaurants and pubs.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,215 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    441
    411
    223
    88
    52
See reviews for
422
535
12
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (305)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014

Looking at the other recent reviews, I am left wondering if we went to the same hotel. The good bits first. Yes some of the staff are lovely, some are definitely not. The reception staff try really hard. The aircon in the room was effective,the beds were comfortable but that's about it for the good bits.
We were there all inclusive at an obviously busy time of year which has to be taken into consideration. However, the pool area is too small and crammed for this many guests, with very little room between the sunbeds. Getting a towel for the sun bed was fraught with difficulty, as you had to appear in the gym at certain times of the day when, hopefully, the bad tempered lady keeper of the towels might favour you with a fresh one! Our corridor was particularly badly kept with questionable stains, and even spilled paint on the carpet. On two days the drain smell in this corridor was overwhelming. Our room had curtains that couldn't be properly closed due to a portion of the curtain at both ends being off the track.The wardrobe door had a hole the size of a fist in it. The soft furnished chairs were very grubby. The magnetic keys continually failed and had to be re-programmed.The wardrobe front above the doors was hanging off as was the left side of the wall mounted bed-head. However, even though it was decrepit it was clean, as was the bathroom.
Other reviews have mentioned the juxtaposition of a night club with a family hotel. Inappropriate as it was it only totally prevented all sleep on that side of the hotel on Saturday nights from mid night to 4.30am. Why the owners think it is reasonable to market this property as a family hotel, then allow this situation only goes to show their greed I suppose.
And so to the food - never have I tasted such awful stuff as this in a hotel. Breakfast was largely inedible though the cup of tea was always good, lunch literally stank the place out - don't know why it was so foul smelling - with the only saving grace being that they did try with dinner, though they inevitably failed. It was obvious that the owners procure the cheapest of everything that they can possibly get away with, for both food and beverage. Of course the alcoholic local drinks will do the job and get you drunk, but they taste of nothing irrespective of the drink you have ordered. And - get this in a family hotel - ice creams for the kids only between 3 and 5 in the afternoon!! If your 3 year old wants one outside of these times you have to pay!
All in all the place was dingy, the food awful, and the worst part, clearly no concern by the owners for their customers. The staff generally do try to give friendly and efficient service, and some succeed, but within an environment where it is all too obvious that the owners don't give a damn.

Room Tip: No good rooms here at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank 250Rog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 August 2014

Staying at the odessa hotel in june 2013, we had an amazing time. Staff very friendly, hotel was fantastic, in walking distance for all shops, bars, restaurants. Beach was a stone throw away. To top it all off weather was red hot. Would recomend the odessa to anyone looking to stay in protarus.

Room Tip: Look no further than the odessa hotel they have fabulous rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carol B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

My partner and I have just returned from two weeks at the Odessa. We arrived on the 2nd July and left on the 16th July, and can honestly say we were delighted with our stay. There are so many good things to say that I will try and be brief. To give some context as well, my partner and I are in our early 20's.

Firstly, the staff. Like many have said before, the staff at this hotel are amazing. In fact, they are probably the best that we have encountered in our time travelling together. The restaurant staff are quick to clear plates and always polite. Even if you see them outside of meal times about the hotel, they make the conscious effort to say hello. The bar staff are equally as good and become a part of your holiday. To name a few Dimitris, Michal and Veronica were superb!

The entertainment staff, like the rest of the hotel staff, are probably the nicest, friendliest and most welcoming we have ever met. Ewelina, Rita, Sareem and Michael were the four entertainers while we were there and they were fantastic. Not only were the shows they put on entertaining, but they made the effort to get to know guests and would literally sit and chat with us over a drink for hours - Even when their shifts had finished. We were extremely impressed with their language skills, not only English, but a range of other languages also. I cannot express how lovely these people were - They made our holiday! We hope to meet with them when we return to the Odessa next year!

The accommodation was really comfortable. We were on the 4th Floor (Room 411) and we had a stunning view of the pool and sea. If you have the option, request a sea view room. As many have said, there is a club attached to the hotel and the noise if you are above this is noticeable on a Saturday night. However, we managed to sleep OK and if like us, you have late nights anyway, it really isn't a problem for the sake of one day a week. The rooms are clean and extremely comfortable. They were, like the rest of the hotel, a little rough around the edges, but nothing major that will effect your comfort or stay as a whole (Unless you are extremely fussy).

The location of the hotel is ideal, the only quibble that we had was that the pictures to make the hotel appear slightly closer to the beach than it actually is, however, the beach is still only a 2 minute walk from the pool area of the hotel so it is difficult to consider this a problem. The Protaras strip is quite lively as well, with plenty of bars, restaurants etc. Basically, if like us you like decent night life but are not keen on the likes of Ayia Napa, then Protaras and this hotel is ideal. Also, if you like water sports, this is a great location. The beaches are beautiful and you can do everything from hiring Jet Skis to Paragliding.

The food was good. There was a decent variety, it was always warm and well cooked with plenty to go around. The only issue we had was that my partner can not eat pork and they seemed to serve it quite often. However, this was not the hotels fault, it was personal preference.

Overall this has been our best holiday yet, and we are already looking at returning next year! We have made friends who we will be definitely be keeping in contact with! Thank you Odessa for such a fab holiday!

Room Tip: Pay extra for a sea view! As good as the hotel food is, do make the effort to explore the strip! Th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Luke S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

We have just got back from this hotel! We had a pool view room on the first floor! Great big double bed lovely cool air con.
The staff work so hard and are very attentive, great bar staff too! Demetri, Mike, Veronica etc
Then as for the entertainments girls!! Eve and Rita! Life and soul of the party! None stop energy! And friendly, I recommend this hotel

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Downer67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lutterworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014 via mobile

We arrived home early this morning. Our sons wedding took place at the Odessa , very good setting, 3mins walk from lovely beach. Staff were excellent in every way, as a late flight home, managed to stay in same room until the evening for a reasonable price of €25, well worth the feeling of travelling back to uk fresh and rested.
One improvement could be for late arrivals, in our case 01:00 with all inclusive maybe a welcome refreshment in room fridge, we actually went to macdonalds which was a few mins walk.
Having said that the rest of the service, good choice of drinks , food and pool areas made up for this......

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Davidnewbold1600
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridgend, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
139 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2014

Well we just returned from a two week stay at the Odessa and we had a great time.
The hotel itself was in a wonderful position 100 mtrs from the Beach and the front was right in the centre of the strip for all the restaurants and bars.
The hotel was very clean and tidy and all the staff worked very hard, rooms were also kept very clean and tidy by a very pleasant hard working maid service we had a sea view room 223 which was ideal.
The Bars were run by a very hard working, pleasant and entertaining team.
The food was above average and the evening restaurant was laid out very well.
The food did get a little bit repetitive so we opted to eat out every couple of nights.
The entertainment was the normal average hotel type of quiz, bingo and music but I must say the entertainment team worked very hard and tried their best at all times of the day (well done guys EVY & Rita)
The hotel itself is ready for a make over in my opinion but this in no way soils your holiday because its just dated in parts.
I would recommend this hotel and we look forward to going back.
Watch out for the night club joined on to the hotel it only opens on Saturday night so you need to be in room numbers 223 and others around there not to hear the noise

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the night club Sofa Sofa
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank colin_williams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Protaras hotels
0.1 mi away
Vrissiana Beach Hotel
Vrissiana Beach Hotel
#18 of 65 in Protaras
911 reviews
0.8 mi away
Anastasia Beach Hotel
Anastasia Beach Hotel
#34 of 65 in Protaras
1,347 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tsokkos Beach Hotel
Tsokkos Beach Hotel
#25 of 65 in Protaras
1,231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Constantinos the Great Beach Hotel
0.3 mi away
Iliada Beach Hotel
Iliada Beach Hotel
#45 of 65 in Protaras
523 reviews
0.3 mi away
Silver Sands Beach Hotel
Silver Sands Beach Hotel
#24 of 65 in Protaras
750 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Odessa Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Odessa Beach Hotel

Property: Odessa Beach Hotel
Address: 3 Amfitritis Street | Protaras, Paralimni, Protaras, Paralimni 5296, Cyprus
Region: Cyprus > Famagusta District > Paralimni > Protaras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 65 Hotels in Protaras
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Odessa Beach Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 209
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Odessa Beach Hotel enjoys a prime location right in the heart of Protaras and a breath away from one of the best golden sandy beaches of Cyprus, Protaras Bay. The hotel features comfortable guestrooms with contemporary and chic style, an excellent range of facilities and services, spacious public areas with a great choice of restaurants, cafes and bars, and a traditional hospitable atmosphere. From your room balcony you may enjoy the view of the Mediterranean sea with a glass of wine while relaxing. A star choice for families and couples seeking comfort, fun and an enjoyable memorable holiday experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Priceline, TravelUp, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Odessa Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing