We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“we loved it!!”
Review of Polycarpia Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Polycarpia Hotel
Ranked #64 of 65 Hotels in Protaras
Reviewed 23 August 2011

We stayed at the polycarpia from the 12th August 2011 to 19th August. The hotel was lovely, food and service was excellent. We stayed all inclusive so had plenty of options for all meals. all cocktails, hot beverages, and water was included! We were a little disappointed about the childrens play area it def needs worked on but apart from that no complaints!!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank becks3010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (313)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

110 - 116 of 313 reviews

Reviewed 14 August 2011

After arriving several hours late, courtesy of Viking Airlines, Olympic Holidays chosen instrument of torture and latterly fear, it was dark when we booked in. We therefore formed an initially favorable impression of the Polycarpia, as we could not really see it.

Once in our room we noted that we had been transported back in time, to the height of the 70's package holiday boom. The room was shabby, some lights did not work, and for good measure, one light fitting had been ripped off of the wall all together. We discovered that the air conditioning (added as it has to be in a hotel in Cyprus for the summer months) did not really work.

The bathroom was similarly poor, but at least effective in it's function.

We stayed on a half board basis and initially thought the food OK, but even my partner, who will complain less about these things than I, was happy to eat out the lady two nights we were there, as the average nature of fare, and the usual buffet presentation, wore us down.

The pool area is fine, and is probably the best feature of the hotel. It's a quiet hotel, which is what we wanted, and is off the main local drag, but has bars and tavernas within a short walk.

The position is good and there is lots to do. Honourable mentions go to the Shirley Valentine boat, which we had a lovely relaxing few hours on, and the Fools and Horses bar, which was tacky but run by good people.

We heard from other people staying at other hotels owned by the same chain as the Polycarpia, that they were dated and needed an update too. If they do that I would go back, but as I lived the 70's the first time round, I have no need to do it again.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Westcliffo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2011

Having read mixed reviews we went with an open mind. On arrival during early hours we checked in at reception expecting to be given keys to the apartments that we had booked however we were given a room with 2 double bedrooms and a room consisting of a double bed and bunks both on the 3rd floor of the hotel and were advised that after breakfast later we should come along to reception see whoever was on to be told why we had not got apartments as booked. We were advised by the head receptionist that the apartments were not available as they were all being refurbished and to compensate they gave us a connecting room as the room with the bunks was not suitable for our family make up, we informed reception that the air conditioning in the 2 double room was not working and as temperatures were up into the 90's stated that we needed it sorting out however when we left 10 days later it was still not working, as a result the half of our family that stayed in this room had very little sleep !!! The hotel itself was clean, it is just generally in need of a complete refurbishment as everything is so dated, threadbare carpets in corridors, ripped wallpaper , lifts were frequently breaking down with people in them and an electric socket cover hanging off the wall,( Fawlty Towers.)
On the 2nd evening my son & daughter in law were having a drink at the bar outside just before midnight when all hell broke loose behind the bar, a large rat had run along the rooftop of the bar down the shutter onto the bar and off in the direction of the front of the hotel, the following morning the staff were bleaching everything as a precaution.
The main pool was excellent and there was small pool for our little ones which they loved, the pool that had been used for schoolchildren was also available as the schools had broken up for there annual hols too.
We were all Inclusive and had no complaints really about the food albeit there could have been a bit more choice however what did infuriate us was that with little ones in the heat we were getting them small bottles of water to drink from the pool bar throughout the day only to be told on day 3 that water was no longer available on all Inclusive, there were a lot of families unhappy with that decision. The entertainment was poor although the one person responsible tried hard with water aerobics, water polo and quizzes there was nothing for the younger ones and the 2 small pieces of play equipment available were plastic and in the blazing sun all day so not usable, on one of the 2 evenings that there was entertainment tables had been set for evening meal outside to enable people to enjoy the show and we went to sit at a table for 8 in front of the stage only to be told that we would have to move as this was reserved for the manager and his family, we moved and about 5 minutes later another family went to sit there and were also moved, I thought this was disgraceful as we were paying guests !!!!
All in all we enjoyed our holiday but thats because we were determined to do so and I have to say that the staff contributed to this, despite being constantly reprimanded in front of customers by the manager they were a lovely polite & friendly dedicated team who always had a smile for us, we spent most of our time in and around the pool we also enjoyed the small waterpark across the road and some of the amazing watersports on offer at the beach which is a couple of minutes walk away. On the evening of our departure I spoke to the manager ( a younger version of Basil Fawlty ) to say what a lovely team they have at the hotel and to tell him that I felt it was wrong for him to keep degrading staff in front of customers we had overheard him telling some of the staff that they should not be talking to the customers !!!! I would have thought that a high standard of customer service is vital for this hotel as at the moment there's not a lot of anything else going for it.
We were told before we left that the apartments are all now used for staff employed by the Tsokkos group to work in the hotels in the immediate area and will therefore not be used for customers although I believe they are still taking bookings for the apartments !!!
If you holiday here in the next few weeks I just hope that you get a room that has working air con !!!! This hotel is rated a 3 star however I would say that 2 star is more appropriate.

Room Tip: Check out the air con before you accept the room !!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Clarke-317
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2011

Once arrived in Cyprus we were transferred to the holiday resort Protaras, Polycarpia Hotel.
We were shocked by the condition, having paid for and had expected a 4 star hotel.

The room looked as if it was never cleaned, with dirt on the floor, bed sheets were not changed, the bathroom had mould on the walls, the shower curtain was a dirty and turned yellow from overuse, and the sockets had exposed wires.

I had waffles for breakfast which contain foreign bodies (a large, dark hair). Ever since, I lost my appetite for the hotel's restaurant.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HolidayNightmare93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2011

booked our holiday then read the reviews left on trip advisor - nearly changed accomodation as we were expecting to be met by basil fawlty on our arrival - but then there are alot of victor meldrews in the world so we went expecting 3* as the brochure stated and got 3*......

we stayed all inclusive which we found to be better as the hotels prices are expensive i.e 9.50 for a chicken sandwich + side order of chips - we found the breakfast to have lots of choice. we didnt have lunch as the snack menu had a great choice and you could eat at the pool side. dinner had a different choice of food very day - we didnt have any complaints on the quality. The drinks were available all inclusive until 12 midnight after this time you had to pay - but there is a few bars just outside the hotel which are cheaper.

the hotel itself is clean but just needs an uplift - i believe it has recently been taken over by the tsokkos hotel group and they plan over the next few years to update this hotel.

one of the swimming pools is used 5 days a week by locals for swimming lessons but there is plenty of room at the main pool and once the contract with the schools has been fulfilled which i believe in the next 2 years they wont be renewing this - although the kids are very well behaved - so didnt see this as a problem.

the entertainer on our stay tried hard to keep everyone entertained and found him very friendly - day time activites: water aerobics, 12 o'clock lunch time cocktail quiz, water polo around 3pm, darts. Evening: bingo 9:30, quiz ..... the quizes are hard but its the taking part !! as i say he does try !! don't go expecting to have carabet shows every night

the beach is a 5/10 min walk and 20 min walk to potaras (or about 7 euros in a taxi or you can get the bus)

Staff are friendly and helpful.

If you travel to this hotel expect 3* and you'll enjoy your holiday - expect 4* plus pay the extra and go to a hotel that states this status.

Met some lovely friends on this holiday

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank kewilson1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2011

booked our holiday then read the reviews left on trip advisor - nearly changed accomodation as we were expecting to be met by basil fawlty on our arrival - but then there are alot of victor meldrews in the world so we went expecting 3* as the brochure stated and got 3*......

we stayed all inclusive which we found to be better as the hotels prices are expensive i.e 9.50 for a chicken sandwich + side order of chips - we found the breakfast to have lots of choice. we didnt have lunch as the snack menu had a great choice and you could eat at the pool side. dinner had a different choice of food very day - we didnt have any complaints on the quality. The drinks were available all inclusive until 12 midnight after this time you had to pay - but there is a few bars just outside the hotel which are cheaper.

the hotel itself is clean but just needs an uplift - i believe it has recently been taken over by the tsokkos hotel group and they plan over the next few years to update this hotel.

one of the swimming pools is used 5 days a week by locals for swimming lessons but there is plenty of room at the main pool and once the contract with the schools has been fulfilled which i believe in the next 2 years they wont be renewing this - although the kids are very well behaved - so didnt see this as a problem.

the entertainer on our stay - day time activites: water aerobics, 12 o'clock lunch time cocktail quiz, water polo around 3pm, darts. Evening: bingo 9:30, quiz ..... the quizes are hard but its the taking part !! he does try !!

the beach is a 5/10 min walk and 20 min walk to potaras (or anout 7 euros in a taxi or you can get the bus)

Staff are friendly and helpful.

If you travel to this hotel expect 3* and you'll enjoy your holiday - expect 4* plus pay the extra and go to a hotel that states this status.

Met some lovely friends on this holiday

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank kewilson1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2011

My husband & I booked a room at the Polycarpia as part of a package through Thomas Cook but the holiday was with Olympic Holidays. The flight with Strategic Airlines from London Gatwick to Larnaca airport was very loud & restless. Most of the passengers were between 16-22 years old in larger groups of lads & girls holiday makers on their way to Ayia Napa for their post GCSE/A-Level/Graduation.

When we arrived at the Polycarpia, we were impressed by the polite & welcoming manner of the reception staff. We went half board - you need to pay 2 Euro per day if you want to use the mini-fridge - I would recommend it!

Our room was a bit dated but was excellent for storage - I've never been so lucky to have lots of room to put my clothes, shoes & things! The room felt safe & had a safety deposit box if you want to hire one. We had a room not facing the sea, all rooms seemed to have baloncies with 2 chairs & a table. Hairdryer good. Kettle provided with cups & spoons but no tea/coffee.

It is true what previous people have written - the 2nd pool was used to teach children to swim Monday - Saturday 9am-6pm, but was not a problem as the other pool was never crowded with plenty of sunbeds.

Breakfasts were good, we weren't so keen on the dinners.

The reception was manned 24/7.

The bus stop was a 2 minute walk from the hotel - 102 into Protaras/Ayia Napa/Waterworld & 101 back towards Parlimni. The bus cost 1 Euro for a single & 2 Euros for an all day ticket - excellent value! Alternatively you can walk to Protaras along the seafront or along bus route alongside main road, but this takes 20-30 minutes in the full heat to Fig Tree Bay beach - but well worth it - the beach is gorgeous!

During our holiday the Explosions happened at Zygi, near Larnaca. We spoke to our Olympics Rep, Martin, who was fantastic! He reassured us that the airport was fine & there were no problems. The only issue is that not many places have aircon - to save electricity & water for flushing the loos was limited. Some shops/restaurants in Nicosia (when we did a daytrip) had no aircon & lifts were 'out of action'. The Polycarpia asked for guests to preserve energy & water. The Greek-Cypriots have given the majority of electricity & water to the tourists so you don't really need to worry.

Make sure that if you can't sleep with loud music at night, bring ear plugs!!! The karaoke bar over the street is open 7 nights a week and plays music until 1.30AM!!!

A taxi back from Ayia Napa to the Polycarpia after midnight only cost us 17 Euros. Not too bad.

The staff in the restaurant were so polite & welcoming! Avoid the orange juice with dinner (breakfast ok) as this is not freshly squeezed and tastes like a sickly-sweet melted orange ice lolly.

Polycarpia does not have a shop but 'My Market' supermarket is 2 minute walk away. TV in the room has BBC World News and another TV channel which shows films/TV shows in English with Greek subtitles, so you can watch it.

We'd never been to Cyprus before & were told by others who had that it was really expensive for food & drink, we didn't find this to be the case - on par with our holiday in Crete last year.

Excursions:
Nicosia - well worth - fascinating history - bring your passport!
Lazy days boat trip from Ayia Napa to Famagusta & back - really good for relaxing/swimming off the boat.

Check out other reviews on here under 'Polycarpia'.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Megjane_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Protaras hotels
0.2 mi away
Tsokkos Gardens Hotel
Tsokkos Gardens Hotel
#39 of 65 in Protaras
829 reviews
0.5 mi away
Artemis Hotel Apartments
Artemis Hotel Apartments
#48 of 65 in Protaras
359 reviews
0.9 mi away
Antigoni Hotel
Antigoni Hotel
#51 of 65 in Protaras
851 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Vangelis ApartHotel
Vangelis ApartHotel
#54 of 65 in Protaras
517 reviews
2.2 mi away
Adelais Bay Hotel
Adelais Bay Hotel
#47 of 65 in Protaras
72 reviews
0.4 mi away
Jacaranda Hotel Apts
Jacaranda Hotel Apts
#46 of 65 in Protaras
123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Polycarpia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Polycarpia Hotel

Address: 17 Afroditis Street | Pernera, Protaras, Paralimni 5296, Cyprus
Region: Cyprus > Famagusta District > Paralimni > Protaras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #64 of 65 Hotels in Protaras
Hotel Class:3 star — Polycarpia Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 326
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This lively hotel offers a friendly and hospitable atmosphere and a wide range of facilities and services. It is peacefully located in the picturesque Marlita area, near Pernera center with its colorful attractions, and a few minutes away from the golden sandy beach of Marlita Bay. The hotel features two pools surrounded by beautiful gardens, an ideal area for guests to relax and enjoy the sizzling Cyprus sun. Within a few meters you may find the brand new coastal pedestrian footpath, which leads to Protaras center, a great opportunity for an afternoon walk. Next to the hotel, the famous Anastasia Aquamania Waterpark offers exciting rides and splashing fun for all ages. A perfect choice for families and couples who are seeking friendly atmosphere with peaceful surroundings for a memorable holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Alpha Holidays Limited, Travel Republic (UK), 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Polycarpia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing