We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best meal in town”
Review of Nicolas Tavern

Nicolas Tavern
Ranked #17 of 157 Restaurants in Protaras
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$112 - US$112
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Kids, Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, After-hours, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Traditional Cypriot Cuisine. The only restaurant in Protaras to use a traditional clay oven. Exceptional customer service and all meals made from fresh quality local ingredients. Open daily from 11.30am to midnight.
Gravesend, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Best meal in town”
Reviewed 17 June 2014

My wife and I are in Cyprus now and have just finished another fabulous meal in Nikolas Tavern restaurant where the service is second only to the food prepared which is delicious and well worth the money.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank George G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

626 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    440
    99
    41
    20
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
West Yorkshire
Level Contributor
176 reviews
107 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
“Best food in Cyprus !!!”
Reviewed 8 June 2014 via mobile

Yes Nikolas, told you I would put this on TripAdvisor ! Just come back from holiday near Protaras ( end of May 2014 ) & once again would highly recommend this restaurant especially if you like traditional Cypriot specialities. We came here 3 times on our trip including on my birthday when we ordered the meze which was fantastic as usual & so generous we were totally stuffed ! Then they brought us free desserts of delicious creme caramel with strawberries & cream, mine with a sparkler in ! Thank you Youllia ( hope that's how you spell it.) They also gave our 10 yr old son TWO burgers & chips, such generosity. They give everyone a free starter of salad, warm pitta breads & dip. We love the Cypriot specialities of stifado, tavvas & kleftiko lamb & it makes a lovely change to get potatoes, couscous or rice instead of " chips with everything " too. All in all it's simply the best place to eat on the island, thank you Nikolas, Youllia & staff, we'll be back yet again !

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank MattAndLol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Yorkshire
Level Contributor
176 reviews
107 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
“Best food in Cyprus !!!”
Reviewed 7 June 2014

Yes Nicholas, told you I would put this on Tripadvisor ! Just come back from holiday near Protaras ( end of May 2014 ) & once again would highly recommend this restaurant if you like traditional Cypriot specialities, we came here 3 times on our trip including on my birthday when we ordered the meze which was fantastic as usual with such generous amounts of dishes we were totally stuffed, then they brought out free desserts of delicious crème caramel with strawberries & cream on, mine with a sparkler for my birthday ! Thank you Youllia. They also gave our 10 yr old son TWO burgers with chips, they really treat" regulars". Mind you everyone gets a free starter of salad, warm pitta breads & hoummous. The Cypriot specialities of stifado, tavvas & kleftiko etc were gorgeous as usual, it's lovely to get potatoes & couscous or rice instead of chips with everything too. All in all it's simply the best place to eat, thank you Nicholas, Youllia & staff, we'll be back !

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MattAndLol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridgend, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Lovely Restaurant”
Reviewed 6 June 2014

First visited there 10 years ago and it was superb, Went again last week, same owner who looks that much older but once again superb for local Cypriot cuisine

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Neil-Sian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Ezcellent Meze”
Reviewed 5 June 2014 via mobile

Visited this resteraunt with my girlfriend and we had the Meat Meze for two. We couldn't believe how many dishes we got considering it was only €34 for both of us. We'd never really tried greek/cypriot food before and this was a really good way of trying a little bit of everything. Everything was really nice and good quality. Would recommend going in really hungry if you are having this dish as you get loads. Staff were really nice too and will definitely return if we ever visit Protaras again.

Helpful?
Thank markandkirsty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Nicolas Tavern also viewed

 

Been to Nicolas Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing