We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap, clean but not keen.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Protaras
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Tropical Dreams Hotel Apartments
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 June 2012

This is clean but basic 2 star accomodation, having supposed to have been just been refurbished for 2012.
Just come back and was not impressed our room had the following faults:
1. Shower rail holder not fitted to wall securely, screw missing.
2. Microwave not working.
3. Fridge missing smaller freezer compartment door.
4. Toilet leaking.
We booked via Thomas Cook and the hotel was late opening so was not available till 3 days into our weeks' stay.

Room Tip: Choose a room away from the lift.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sharon h H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (120)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

82 - 88 of 120 reviews

Reviewed 30 December 2011

This is a great base to explore Cyprus beautiful beach just a short walk down the road more than 3 min walk, we stop off on the way to the beach in the morning to grab the best doughnuts i'v had in the shop to the right hand side of the street.
The hotel it's self is nice clean food is good and the hospitality is the best i'v ever had on holiday. We have stayed at the Tropical Dreams for the last 7 years from a newly met couple to a married couple with 2 small children all 7 times of staying we have always been well looked after. If i'm to be honest i don't know why i'm writing this review all the other reviewers have more or less summed up this hotel before me, if you want a nice friendly hotel not expensive but makes you feel speical then this is the place for you if you want to pay over the odds have silver service staff who have no idea who you are then this is not the place for you.
Were off again in 2012 so really would someone keep going back if it were not a nice place

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank lynnyloo72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2011

We returned on the 15th October 2011 after spending a week at the Tropical Dreams Apartments. We wanted a cheap last min holiday, which would guarantee great weather, food, people etc.. The weather was great, just one cloudy day.
This is exactly what we got, the apartment is very old fashioned, it all needs a good refurb, its really dated and our room wasnt actually that clean...the bathroom was really old and stained.
The beds and bedsheets were clean and we got fresh towels and toilet roll every day.
The balcony was good to have and the rooms were very spacious, the fridge was clean. The sun rose on our balcony every morning.
The pool was small, nice but very cold! The sunbeds were ok but again very old, there was an old fridge just unplugged by the steps from pool to reception, that should just be thrown away..just generally needed a good refurb and clean/update.

The Tsokko Beach Hotel opposite was nice and we used the pool a couple of days, it was much more lively, had music and games for the all inclusive residents.
The location is perfect, down the hill a few minutes to the beach, 10 min walk or so to Fig Tree Bay beach, bars, shops and restaurants a few secs walk up the hill.
Restaurants and people are amazing... would reccomend Georgios at the top of hill on the left corner, also Hippocampus which is on the right hand side. Then keep walking up the strip past the 2nd fountain on the left hand side is Romeos Taverna- which does a great Greek Night, with Belly dancers, plate smashing, music etc..
Overall great holiday, but probably wouldnt return to these Apartments unless like the previous comments says they are closed and completely refurbed...but I am sure that will mean there will then be a large increase in price! The 8euros a day for air conditioning is really bad, and luckily we didnt really need it, we also just left the windows open and thankfully didnt get biten by mosquitos..

Room Tip: I would ask for rooms facing out to the pool, furthest from the strip and a nice view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carlywarly10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2011

having returned from these apartments in the early hours of this morning i agree that they are fairly basic but they are spotless. now the good news from monday the apartments are closed for a total refurb. given that they are in a perfect place for everything and most people only complained about them being shabby i think that will help advance these apartments

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Gillian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2011

Stayed at Tropical Dreams with my partner (both 22) for ten days this September.
Apartments are fairly basic, don't expect fabulous decor! Seperate bedroom, bathroom and living room/kitchen. Plus a balcony.

Kitchen had everything you need, fridge (with little freezer compartment), sink, 2 hobs, microwave, dining table! There were a few plates/bowls/pans/glasses/cutlery. The cups were very small though so I bought one from a nearby shop for just over a euro. There was no kettle but it was easy enough to boil water in a pan.

There was a tv in the lounge but all greek, 5 or so channels... but who goes on holiday to watch tv?! The sofa is a sofa-bed.. no idea how comfortable the bed is though!
Chairs and table on balcony, we had a nice view of the beach.

Bedroom was spacious, 2 reasonably comfy single beds but they're easily pushed together. The bathroom was clean.. watch out for the hot taps, they're scalding! The hot water for the shower could be a little tempermental but we didn't report this as it was so hot we took cold showers (cold water actully comes out luke-warm).

We had maid service 7 out of the ten days (at first they knocked at 9am but after 2 days of asking her to come back later she began coming early afternoon). Each time the bins, towels and sheets were changed. Though they weren't good at restocking loo roll, but it's easy to get from reception.

It was about 36-38 degrees when we were there and the sun rose our side so the apartment was very hot.. air con is 8 euros a night so at first we were tight and slept on the balcony! (I got a few mosquito bites but nothing bad) but it was too hot by about 8am.. so 4 days in we gave in and paid for air con which worked very well! (1 system for bedroom and 1 for living room/kitchen).

The pool was nice and clean, but not very deep. Deepest part was 130cm (I'm 5'4 and when stood flat feet it came to my chin). Theres also a shallow pool for kids. Plenty of sunbeds for everyone but watch out cause a couple were broken!

I do not recommend going all inclusive as the food is poor. I had a jacket potatoe, my other half had an omelette on our first day and it was terrible, we didn't eat there again (these meals cost about 8euros) and very rarely saw anyway else eating there either. There are plenty of lovely restuarants all along the strip.. make sure you walk all the way down cause there's lots of choice!

The beach is beautiful and only a 2 minute walk (make sure to go on a boat trip). The strip is about a 3 minute walk but it isn't loud. Even sleeping on the balcony, we were only woken by a heated drunken arguement as people walked past presumabley to their hotel. You couldn't really hear the noise from the bars etc.

The bus is only a euro, or 2euros for a day pass which takes you lots of different places including ayia napa (last bus is 4am, then they start again at 7am).

Staff were friendly at the hotel and I would definitely recommend it. Just bear in mind it is basic, but clean and in a very good location (couple of shops practically next door which is handy for drinks/snacks).
There aren't many facilities there, just the pools and a tennis court (never saw anyone use this.. probably cause of the heat!). Theres a pool table (though a ball is missing) and a few video games in reception.
In regards to graffiti - its just the wood panels by the lift where people have scratched their names in!

I would definitely come back again :)

Room Tip: We were on 4th floor and balconys are seperate, so we were able to leave windows etc open as it was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank abi-national
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2011

Just back from a week here.

First the bad things: first night we were moved across the road to the Tropical Beach hotel as they had overbooked on the first night. This was a 1 night upgrade as the Tropical Beach was supposed to be a better hotel, which overall I thought it was but I thought the rooms in the Tropical Dreams were better.
Air conditioning was a little steep, 5 Euros a day, but it was definately needed!
Also we had a room on the ground floor just off the lobby which didn't have much of a view.

Other than that though I was pleased with the hotel - the rooms were a good size and had all the facilities you would need as a self catering apartment. Nice little pool area, its a small pool but pretty chilled and relaxed.
Really well located too - just off the main strip which keeps you away from the noise of the bars at night, but close enough to get to the bars/restaurants easy, and only a short walk to the beach.

Would definitely recommend this place for the future.

One final tip, don't bother paying for the Dancing Light Show next door at 20Euros per person. Instead go up to the top floor and you can see it all from the top hotel corridor for free!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Pie5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2010

Hotel as previously commented on is basic but very clean!!
Room we were allocated was large with seperate bedroom,living area/Kitchen.
Maid service every day and cleaned to a acceptable standard.

Pool area again was basic but very clean in fact the pool was cleaned first thing every morning.
Attached bar served very nice food at a reasonable price Manager and staff very freindly.

Idealy situated for all local bars and eateries but far enough away to not be too noisey.

Now for the bad bit!!!!! The rooms as mentioned before are rented to locals and i am affraid to say its usually the brits that get a bad name for themselves for noisey/disruptive bad conduct but this lot take the gold medal for noise arriving early morning after a night on the tiles and running up and down corridors slamming doors and basicaly causing a nuisence!!!

Don't let that put you off too much because it realy is a nice Hotel!!

Just request a top floor room as they did not seem to have the same problems or purchase the tried and trusted ear plugs!!!

One other point Air Conditioning 6euro's a night?????????????????????????

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank OrvilHarrogate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Protaras hotels
0.1 mi away
Tsokkos Beach Hotel
Tsokkos Beach Hotel
#31 of 65 in Protaras
1,339 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sunrise Gardens Hotel
Sunrise Gardens Hotel
#3 of 65 in Protaras
562 reviews
0.6 mi away
Capo Bay Hotel
Capo Bay Hotel
#7 of 65 in Protaras
1,780 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Evalena Beach Hotel Apartments
0.6 mi away
Tsokkos Gardens Hotel
Tsokkos Gardens Hotel
#38 of 65 in Protaras
829 reviews
0.1 mi away
Odessa Beach Hotel
Odessa Beach Hotel
#40 of 65 in Protaras
1,316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tropical Dreams Hotel Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tropical Dreams Hotel Apartments

Address: 7 Lefkolas Street, Protaras, Paralimni 5296, Cyprus
Region: Cyprus > Famagusta District > Paralimni > Protaras
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 53 Speciality Lodging in Protaras
Hotel Class:3 star — Tropical Dreams Hotel Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tropical Dreams Apartments are conveniently located in the heart of Protaras where guests can enjoy the resort's attractions. A modern, comfortable complex with a welcoming and lively atmosphere. Just a short stroll from the glorious golden sandy beach of Protaras Bay where water sport enthusiasts can take full advantage of the excellent facilities. An ideal choice for families and couples wishing to combine quality accommodation and fun with a hospitable ambiance. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Tropical Dreams Apartments Hotel Protaras

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing