We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,241)
Filter reviews
1,241 results
Traveller rating
735
338
119
25
24
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
735
338
119
25
24
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the cliff konnos bay umi restaurant ayia napa cape bar ravioli shuttle bus star hotel cape greco pool area wedding parties hair salon sea view sister hotel tennis courts waiter service main restaurant
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 1,241 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Room Tip: Could have used tea/coffee making facilities as I didn’t always fancy going down for breakfast!
  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Jet2holidays
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Just returned from a week at this lovely hotel. It's almost perfect. If you are looking for a quiet and grown up week relaxing by a large pool, treating yourself to a few luxuries then this is a good option. Quiet in the evenings and peaceful during the day with the exception of the 30 minute water aerobic class music which is the only noisy aspect of the day. It is remote, there are very few things to do - which suited me. The hotel is on the top of a cliff which gives it the most amazing views but does mean the walk up and down to the beach is not for the faint-hearted. There is a shuttle but didn't bother with it as I quite liked the extra workout the steps gave me each day. The beach is lovely with crystal clear water and amazing snorkelling. It's extremely safe and family friendly. It's also popular with locals and day trippers so it pays to get there early, especially on the weekend (before 11). Sunbeds are 2.50 and a parasol is 2.50 so good value. There is also a nice little kiosk/cafe for supplies.

The hotel is popular for weddings but even though there was one each evening there was no noise and everyone drifted off by 11:00pm. There is no shortage of sunbeds by the pool or on the lawn and the waiter service is excellent. The prices for drinks at the hotel are what you'd expect. Probably E10 for a cocktail and E5 for a beer. Fair enough if you're sitting by the pool but you might consider going to the Cape Bar next door for a drink in the evening where the prices are about half and the two guys who run it are lovely.

The room was spotless and kept so each day. It's recently been refurbished with bright white shower room, decor and furniture. There is tea and coffee in the room and a fridge and safe. The air con worked perfectly and was quiet. Get a sea view room, it's worth it.

The only downside is the spa. It's just not acceptable to have a sauna and a couple of treatment rooms and call it a spa! It's been bunged upstairs as an after thought and is very neglected. It really needs ripping out and starting again on the ground floor in the area occupied by the indoor pool and games room. The female changing room is clearly used as a cleaners' store room and one of the lockers had a couple of plates of food under clingfilm which were obviously the cleaning staff's lunch! Grim.

Overall, everything about it was fine with the exception of the spa. I did not have any of the problems mentioned by others on this forum and had a lovely, relaxing week in pleasant surroundings. I would recommend but not necessarily give it the full five stars.

Room Tip: Sea views are worth the extra
  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jules L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

Ten years ago on 9 September 2008 my Son was married at this hotel. We returned for a tenth Anniversary celebration and enjoyed some of the fabulous changes and improvements hat have been made in the past decade. This is a superb hotel from every aspect: service, quality of rooms and food, poolside and beach ambience and cleanliness.

For Cyprus lovers this is one you should not miss. If you have never been to Cyprus before, Shangrilar awaits you!

Stayed: September 2018, travelled with family
2  Thank Tex P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2018 via mobile

What a great place to be came for friends wedding and stayed for 10 days and can't fault it nice rooms and very friendly staff good food to be had 1st time here and won't be the last time this place and it's restraints are the best

Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank den310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2018

We arrived at Grecian Park on the 3rd of September. Upon arrival I was quite shocked about how dated and dark the lobby / reception area was and feared that this was a bit of an error of judgement in choosing the hotel. It’s not really near anywhere either, there is a restaurant across the road which is part of the hotel and there is a convenience store, but that’s about it. Felt very isolated.
We booked an executive sea view room, the room 153 was horrific, dark, dated, and the balcony was crammed with chairs and tables and secluded with fencing that massively restricted any kind of sea view. When you did reach the end of the balcony the roof of the restaurant then ruined any kind of view of the grounds or sea. We paid quite a premium for this room.
Upon discussion with the hotel we moved to a smaller room on a corner block 259, much nicer much better view and much cheaper! The hotel actually reimbursed us for this difference which was excellent.
Some of the rooms have been refurbished to white minimalist rooms and some haven’t, the ones that haven’t been done are very dark and old. Similar to the reception area. Some areas in the hotel have been modernised and some haven’t it’s very odd.
Lot of choice for breakfast although the food is all lukewarm and always the same no variety. I ended up asking to have mine microwaved I don’t want to eat cold food.
Lunch at the pool bar was great, huge portions and reasonable.
Dinner we are at the Japanese which is lovely but expensive and raviolis across the road, I wouldn’t rush back there it was very average.
The drinks are a little pricey in the cliff bar which is stunning, the views are worth it.
Every day at 1130 beware the water aerobics class starts with possibly the loudest banging music I ever heard, I like music but this is totally ridiculous and the people in the pool can’t even hear the instructor. It is very bizarre and management need to rectify that quickly. Literally everyone stops and stares as it’s so random.
The pool area is nice, pool is dirty needs a good clean and a scrub around the tiles. The hotel should consider making the pool area no smoking, it’s very unpleasant for non smokers when your clothes smell of smoke due to the amount of people smoking.
I didn’t make it to the beach the thought of the walk down all the steps and the walk back in 37 degrees I couldn’t do it, it’s a real shame as it’s not clear that the beach is so far from the hotel and it isn’t private, it’s totally rammed packed full too.
There is a free shuttle to Ayia Napa to the Grecian bay which is then about 20 minute walk to Ayia Napa centre. I wouldn’t bother, it’s hugely closed down lots of chains and lots of places boarded up quite sad. Protaras is much more pleasant people are nice and there are lots more restaurants and nice shops to peruse. It’s €10 in a cab not sure why they don’t do a shuttle there considering the remote location of the hotel.
It is also very family friendly so if you like holidaying with children that are not your own then this may be the place for you, and there is at least one wedding per day, the best one was a local wedding on Saturday night that was outside in the hotel grounds blasting music out until 2am. We were not advised of this prior to the holiday.
We won’t be back to the Grecians hotels, and I would think carefully about booking this one, it’s in dire need of a refurbishment, it’s remote, it’s just not that great.

Room Tip: 259 great sea view
Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
3  Thank helenlh2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews