We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2nd time at the Brilliant & fab time again!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Brilliant Hotel Apartments
Ranked #6 of 65 Hotels in Protaras
Certificate of Excellence
West Midlands, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“2nd time at the Brilliant & fab time again!!”
Reviewed 3 July 2013

We have been to Protaras 8 times and this was our 2nd year running at the Brilliant! You will see from other reviews that the hotel is only about 5 mins from the strip and 10 mins from the beach. At the weekends hotels on the beach get rammed with locals, but the Brilliant apts are not affected.

You have a fab kids pool which is great for under 5's & also play area in the shade. The main pool has the jacuzzi bubble beds & music is played around the pool area which gives a good atmosphere. There are various activities during the day for the older kids such as water volleyball, darts, killer pool etc. My daughter aged 7 went to the kids club 2-4pm, and Holly & Eve made her holiday, all the kids have a fantastic time, and she made lots of friends. You must have booked with Thomson, otherwise you cannot use the kids club.

Apts on the ground floor have larger balconies and this what we requested. Rooms facing the tennis courts are quieter, as some evening singers can go on til 12pm, and pool view rooms are noisier.

We always go self catering as there are so many nice restaurants to eat in. The kitchen & room facilities are great, and we had a big king bed. Flat screen tv has some good music channels as well. Only gripe was no wifi, but free in all the bars in the resort so no probs.

The hotel restaurant is ok for the odd snack, but we got most of our supplies from lidl & sat on the balcony for lunch. No problems with rushing for a sunbed at 7am in the morning, 9am was fine to get beds on the grass area near the pool.

Make sure you take the beach walk along the wooden path which is all lit up at night, and walk into Pernera. You turn right down past waves bar to the jetti where he boats trips are, and then left along there. Takes about 30 mins or so, but bars along the way where you can sit & look out at the sea. Ok when you want a chill out night.

Otherwise, there are loads of fab tribute acts along the strip, mainly at rockerfellas & love boat !

There are trampolines & mini fairs for the kids, and this is a real, fun family resort!

If you don't like it here, then there is something wrong with you!!

Enjoy.

Ps weather, schorchio!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank w88mjb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

730 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    462
    207
    47
    8
    6
See reviews for
390
212
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (238)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Greek first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2013

Just returned! Absolutely fabulous! Couldn't ask for more, Pool, staff and apartments were everything we'd hoped for. Fully equipped kitchen with microwave, toaster, kettle, 2 ring hob, full fridge with freezer compartment and all you need utensils. Beds are memory foam so extremely comfortable. Free air con which is really cold so very welcoming as it was reaching 40 as we left and the temp is rising daily. 15 euro's per wk for the safe in room.
We hired a car 30 euros per day which was lovely for exploring the Cypriot villages, petrol is a little more expensive than the uk.
Drinks on the strip local lager leon or keo (very good) 2-3 euros per pint. Cocktails 3 euros.
Meals in all restaurants range from Greek salads at 7 euros to steaks, beef stiffardo and lamb kleftico at 10-15 euros, The food is fantastic throughout the whole strip and would recommend Erato and Georgia's as well as Thomas Shack in pernema which you can walk to (40 mins) along the wooden walk on the beach.
Alcohol to bring home is a little expensive in the local supermarkets but we found a cash n carry in paramali that was worth the visit with litre bottles of most spirits around 7-10 euro's.
Hope this review helps, we had a fabulous time and have already recommend the Brilliant apartments to friends and family.

Room Tip: Room 217 had pool and sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Michelle m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 July 2013 via mobile

We spent two weeks here and have really enjoyed our stay.

All the staff members are really friendly and helpful, from the bar staff to the cleaners.

The pool area is lovely. No shortage of sun loungers at any time of day.

As other reviews have said, Lidl is literally just across the road but we found we preferred the supermarkets on the strip (10 minute walk).

The room itself (studio) is spacious and modern, with lots of lights! Might seem odd to mention that but so many hotel rooms are dimly lit with just a couple of bedside lamps.

We stayed on B&B basis - breakfast is served til 11.30 and you choose from the breakfast menu - we had a full English everyday!

The nearest beach is approx 15 minute walk. It's worth getting down to Fig Tree Bay (a little further but still walkable) as the water is so clear.

Loads of bars and restaurants to choose from in the evening. Ayia Napa is easily accessible on the bus - €1.50; €2.50 after 11pm (if you can squeeze on) - or taxi - €15.

I would happily recommend Brilliant to anyone coming to Cyprus.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Claire A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2013

Stayed 22nd - 29th May 2013 with my sister and two sons aged 14.
I had read lots of reviews and they helped us to choose these apartments. We went with high expectations, but would it live up to them?
No need to fret, in fact it exceeded our expectations!

The location could not have been better, the apartments were spotlessly clean ..everywhere, and our kitchenette was really well equipped. We hired the safe in our room for 15 euros payment (not deposit). Plugs are three pin (not two) so if you've got GHD's don't just take the two pin like we did!!!
Our room (306) overlooked the main pool and sea view it was perfect.
We stayed b & b which we can recommend. The menu had anything from full English breakfast to scrambled eggs on toast, omelettes, cereals etc. It was freshly cooked and delicious.

The pool area was a beautiful centrepiece. Plenty of comfortable sunloungers and parasols and we didn't experience any difficulty getting them; even after coming back from the beach in the afternoon we managed to get four - poolside!!
The childrens pool was perfect for small children.

Evening entertainment was limited to one live show a week - Thursdays. Due to the proximity of apts, I know previous reviews had stated that noise had been an issue, perhaps the evening entertainment has been reduced?? It certainly was not a problem for us.

Finally, the thing that made our holiday unforgetable was the very friendly, hard working and efficient staff. They will go out of their way for you. Especially Tracy on reception, Christine and Teddy on the bar, they made us feel so welcome and were really helpful, friendly and a credit to these apartments!!

If you haven't booked yet... don't hesitate!
We will definitely be returning hopefully next year. We would go back tomorrow if we could!!!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Katrina W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
birmingham england
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2013

this was a second stay at the brilliant apartments,after staying last year.where do i start the roomsare excellent spacious queen size bed very moderm we had a studio no.321 ted rogers we called it after the game show..aircon was lovelt cooled the room just great after aday in the 30s.fridge cooker,hairdryer,microwave toaster all the things u need all working all spotlessly clean,power shower rooms cleaned most days fresh towels.our room over looke the pool and the sea.infact it was the same room we had the previous year,the hotel its self is spotlessly clean.the pool is amazing again spotlessly cleaned everyday,you can get in by steps wic h is great for all ages theres a pool bar a seperate kids pool with sunbeds around.and to mention sunbeds yes they do get reserved at certain parts of the pool but when ever u went down no matter wat time of day u could get a bed.and the beds are the cloth type note the hard plastic type that bend wen u get on them .the pool bar was good but as everywhere you do pay a bit more than u wud at home.but theres ways around that but i will leave that to ur imagination.lidil is across the road no as cheap as england lidil but cheaper than the cyprus supermarkets.the apartments are in a great position.5 mins from the strip,10mins from the beach and fig tree bay,there are plenty of place to eat on the strip cheers,only fools & horses,there the value places then uve got island afairs.and antolias which is packed every nite by 7.30 the set meals for 14 euros are amazing very filling very nice,best cocktails was at ripples.plenty to do in potaras plenty of walks,boat rides.plenty of water sports,just going back to the brilliant ive saw a couple of reports saying about the hotel reception staff need people skills i find this very hard to beleave weve found them very helpfull even sumthing like the nite my wifes button came off her top the reception staff got her a needel and thread and brought to our room something stupid i know but they never had to.very helpfull tell u how to save money.by using the local transport,the pool entertainers work very hard all day ,with the darts,water polo,quizzies and many others.night entertainment is low key something on every other nite but theres plenty on the strip to see,the thomson kid reps seem to work very hard with the children.as for the rep nicola dont really know.she just seem to walk around lookin pretty and selling the hotel coffe and cake teas,and selling over priced trips as they all do.but overall brilliant 2nd stay i will be returning again next year,we met a lovely couple the first year we was there and they was there again this which was great to meet up again,wat i wud RECOMMEND is the the red bus tour of famagust,or the village tour its run by english guides and drivers very interesting,loads to see loads of photos,and our tour guide dave was just brilliant full of information,w travelled with our 14 year daughter who loves it as much as us,,we will be returning next year just dont know wat time of year yet,,the breakfast in the morning is 5 eruos but it does include tea,coffe and orange juice,u can get cheaper on the strip but as always watch on the over priced drinks wen ordering a cheap breakfast,,thanks to the brilliant for a great 2nd holiday!!! see u next year

Room Tip: lower rooms have pool views
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lilybear71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
liverpool
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2013

Great family place to stay. Rooms are modern and clean. Massive beds!! Great location. Would definitely return but not bed and breakfast as there are plenty of cheap places to eat, including the bakery on the strip which sells delicious pastries. As mentioned by others we did think the reception staff needed a bit more customer service skills but this certainly did not have any effect on our holiday. Overall, we as a family would stay here again if we returned to protaros on a self catering based holiday. Enjoy !!!!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LiverpoolLouby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2013

When we arrived at the brilliant appartments, first impressions was great.. when we got to the room it was so spacious and clean. we had a sea/pool view which was a bonus..lidl was just across the road for all your holiday essential etc, and you could be on the main strip in 5 mins, it was perfectly situated.. in fact, we enjoyed it that much weve booked to go back.. cant wait!!
would definatly recommend

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank damianlisacourtney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Protaras hotels
0.4 mi away
Capo Bay Hotel
Capo Bay Hotel
#7 of 65 in Protaras
1,646 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sunrise Gardens Hotel
Sunrise Gardens Hotel
#1 of 65 in Protaras
456 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sunrise Pearl Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Sunrise Beach Hotel
Sunrise Beach Hotel
#8 of 65 in Protaras
1,834 reviews
1.8 mi away
Golden Coast Beach Hotel
Golden Coast Beach Hotel
#12 of 65 in Protaras
1,036 reviews
0.2 mi away
Vrissiana Beach Hotel
Vrissiana Beach Hotel
#18 of 65 in Protaras
910 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brilliant Hotel Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brilliant Hotel Apartments

Property: Brilliant Hotel Apartments
Address: Cavo Greco Avenue | P.O.B. 3043, Protaras, Paralimni 5310, Cyprus
Region: Cyprus > Famagusta District > Paralimni > Protaras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Protaras
#7 Romantic Hotel in Protaras
Hotel Class:1 star — Brilliant Hotel Apartments 1*
Number of rooms: 117
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Brilliant Hotel Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brilliant Hotel Protaras

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing