We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“fantastic apartments” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Brilliant Hotel Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Brilliant Hotel Apartments
Ranked #5 of 66 Hotels in Protaras
Certificate of Excellence
barnsley
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“fantastic apartments”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2013

We returned here for the second year running and enjoyed it just as much. If you want to stay in a clean spacious apartment I don't think there is anywhere better. We have been coming to Protaras for over ten years and now our children are teenagers we need more space than a hotel room provides and these apartments are ideal. The hotel grounds are nice, even in July you could get sunbeds on the grass at 11am although towards the end of our stay I noticed more reserving of beds around the pool. I don't like pool areas where the beds are lined up and you are touching the people next to you, here there is plenty of room to have your own space.
The snack bar and pool bar are nice with friendly staff although the drinks are overpriced as they are everywhere. Even though the signs say you cannot bring your own food and drink down to the pool most people did especially bottles of water.
The location of the apartments is great as you are away from the noise of the strip but only a five minute walk away if you cut through Eden square. Also because it is not a beach front hotel, it is not overrun by locals using the pool and taking all the sun loungers.
Finally I have read all the reviews for other apartments in Protaras and come across reviews that talk about their apartments been broken into, the expensive cost of air con, dirty sheets, ant infestations, dirty pools and rude staff, the Brilliant apartments have none of these problems, they are clean, the air con is free and in both rooms with separate controls and the staff are nice. The only thing that annoyed me was there was no free wifi anywhere and we had to pay for it but apart from that we will be back next year as it's the perfect base for us.

Room Tip: I emailed to ask for a pool view room which also have sea views. If you don't want to overlook t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank LilMissDynamite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

705 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    450
    197
    44
    8
    6
See reviews for
373
206
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (230)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Greek first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
cumbria
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

Our 2nd stay at the Brilliant. Was a bit unsure about going back as we had such a good stay 2 years ago I was concerned it may have changed but as soon as we got there I knew if was just as good. Stayed from the 18th August to 1st September 2013. Receptions staff are lovely and helpful. The cleaners are not the most friendly but defiantly do their job well, room was spotless, We stayed in a studio apartment, lovely room, good size, overlooking the pool and with a sea view. Room cleaned 5 days a week, towels changed at least twice a week or more if you want it, Couldn't fault it.
Restaurant and bar were under new management from last time but still nice, apart from one waitress who was not the friendliest but didn't let that spoil it, great staff on the pool bar, Mr Chris was great and looked after us for 2 weeks, was attentive and friendly, kept the area clean and made sure everyone was happy.
Fun times joining in with the entertainment in the pool area and watching the nightly entertainment, The parrot show on the Monday night is a must see, The adults enjoyed it more that the kids I think.
Pool area is really nice, plenty of sun beds with umbrellas and you can choose from being by the pool or further back on the grass. Pool cleaned daily and the area round it was kept spotless.
The hotel is a couple of minutes walk from the main strip and about 5 mins walk to the beach, perfect location, not too close to be effected by the noise but near enough to be able to enjoy the night life.
And with Lidl right next door and plenty of shops near by you don't have to carry shopping far.
Can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jsrg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2013

Stayed at the Brilliant for two weeks from the 11th August, from the moment we arrived everything was just Perfect. These are the best apartments both myself and husband have every stayed in, I emailed them a few weeks before we arrived with a couple of request which was granted. The strip is a stroll away with lots of fab resturants and bars. We have a 16 year old daughter which enjoyed every moment of it. Would go back tomorrow if had the chance and def choose the brilliant to stay in again, staff very friendly and kind and apartments top notch! Weather is hot hot hot!!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Smileyxxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2013

We stayed here in August 2013, travelling as a family. Let me start off by saying that we did not like Protaras. It baffles me that people travel over 4 hours on their holidays to stay somewhere that has no identity of its own - there are thousands of other, nicer and more authentic Mediterranean destinations. We had stayed in Nissi Beach previously which was much more our style - more laid back and not packed with the Sports Bars, gift shops and fast food takeaways you find at Protaras: there is also space on the beach! You live and learn. With particular regard to the Brilliant our main gripes stem from our room location and the sunbed situation which has been mentioned elsewhere. The view from our one bedroom apt was of a busy road junction and the Lidl supermarket. Not quite what we had in mind for our holidays! It was impossible to sit out on the balcony after 3 in the afternoon as the traffic queues built up and it was hardly peaceful with customers coming to and fro from Lidl from 8am until 10pm. The sunbed situation was ridiculous. If you didn't get down by 8 in the morning then no sunbed for you as early risers had been down and bagged them; this despite signs requesting guests not to reserve sunbeds before 8am. Resorted to setting our alarm - I didn't go on holiday to set my alarm or stare at a supermarket. In summary: 'Meh'.

Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank Colin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2013

We just returned from our 5th year at the brilliant, family of 2 Adults 2 16 year old girls, our daughter and her friend, My daughter met up with many old friends she has made over the last 5 Years. We stayed 7th-21st August. We had room 301 on the corner with pool and sea view. Air con in both bedroom and lounge is a great.rooms are of excellent standard, maid service is great. All staff very friendly especially Tracey on reception. Mariana the daytime entertainer is great she gets all involved with darts, water polo water aerobics and quizzes all the kids loved her. Food was good although we only ate there at lunch time as there are so many places to choose from on the strip which is a few minutes walk away through eden square. One of our favourites is Erato and also Only Fools and Horses bar, which serve great food at very reasonable prices.. Some reports on here complain about sunbeds being reserved but if you put your towels down and then went back to your room before 8am then they would be moved by the reception staff.Getting out and about is easy, aya napa is 10mins on the bus and only cost €1.50. If going to water park go on the public transport it much cheaper than booking with tour company. We went on Aphrodite boat trip which you can book at the little jetty near McDonalds it a 2 1/2 hour trip for €10 adults €5 for children great value get to go swimming at cape creco. Would definitely recommend this hotel and resort to anyone. Nicola the Thompson rep was lovely, she always had a smile and would stop and chat. We have once again had a great holiday at the Brilliant and look forward to going back again soon.

Room Tip: Email prior to ask for good room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Debbie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the hotel for 2 weeks in one of the apartments. The rooms were spacious and it was brilliant to have so much space for the holiday.

The pool area was lovely and kept very clean. Each morning someone would be out cleaning the pool before being used. The only thing we noticed though, was that as it got further into July it became a lot busier and people were putting towels on sunbeds and leaving them virtually all day without using them. We were lucky though as we were up early most mornings and could get a good spot as there was so many good places to sunbathe!

The bar staff were very friendly and pleasant and surprisingly there were a few English staff too. We only had breakfast once and a lunch once at the hotel, but were very impressed with the standard and quality of the food. However we did prefer to eat on the strip and this was merely for convenience.

The only real thing we had a bad experience with was booking a trip with Thomson. We booked a day trip to Aphrodite's Kingdom and nobody turned up to pick us up, as there had been no communication between the reps and the company to relay this information. We did find a great company on the strip though who we booked our trips through in the end and they were much cheaper than Thomson, the tour guide was fantastic and overall these excursions were great!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sarah-and-Aaron1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2013

This is the second time we have been to the Brilliant Apartments and I was pleased to find that they have remained an excellent standard. Our Apartment 329 was very nice overlooked the Pool which could be a bit noisy in the evening when the entertainment started around 10pm. Apartments are well equipped and very clean, beds/sofa beds are comfortable, Air Conditioning in the Lounge and Bedroom was very good, the kitchen was well equipped with Microwave, Toaster Fridge with Ice Box although we only used the Fridge. Bathroom with Bath and overhead shower was very clean and they provided you with Shampoo/Conditioner and Shower Gel, Hairdryer in the bedroom also. Maid service very good with Towels and Linen changed regularly.
Pool area very clean, Restaurant we used for Breakfast and Lunch which was fine and reasonably priced.
Location is great Lidl opposite for your daily essentials, again reasonably priced. Protaras main strip is 5mins walk away through Eden Square and there are countless restaurants our favourites were Andama and Promises we paid around €100 for Starters, Main Course and sometimes Desert with Beer, Wine and Soft Drinks.
Beach is lovely about a 10min walk max, spent most of our time there €10 for 3 beds and an umbrella make sure you get your drinks from the Shops or Ice Cream man at the top of the hill by the lookout/park not from the hotel kiosks as this was €15 for 4 regular cokes. Watersports reasonably priced also, we did Parasailing / Jet Skiing and hired the Pedaloes.
We hired a car for 2days small Kia Picanto with AC for €150 locally from the Thomson Rep.
Our main gripe with the Brilliant was not really the Apartments fault was that people were getting up at 6am to reserve sunbeds, there is a notice at reception which advises Sunbeds cannot be reserved before 8am so therefore some people thought they would get up at 6 put there towels down on there beds sit by the pool til 8am and then go back to bed or go off for Breakfast, the main culprits for this were couples that had no children with them yet still proceeded to reserve beds at 6am at the shallow end of the Pool, if you was a family with small children that didn't get round the Pool til 10am you had no chance of getting beds near the front so that you could watch your children play, I just found this extremely inconsiderate my children are 12 and 7 and got bored by the pool so we only spent 4 days there and went to the beach.
We would definitely recommend the Brilliant but remember to pack your Alarm Clock, we love Protaras and would definitely return here.

Room Tip: First Floor Sea View, overlooking the Pool, they do have apartments that overlook Lidl's so requ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 123TRAVELAGENT123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Protaras hotels
0.1 mi away
Sunrise Gardens Hotel
Sunrise Gardens Hotel
#1 of 66 in Protaras
5.0 of 5 bubbles 404 reviews
0.3 mi away
Capo Bay Hotel
Capo Bay Hotel
#8 of 66 in Protaras
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,518 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sunrise Beach Hotel
Sunrise Beach Hotel
#6 of 66 in Protaras
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,735 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Constantinos the Great Beach Hotel
1.8 mi away
Golden Coast Beach Hotel
Golden Coast Beach Hotel
#11 of 66 in Protaras
4.5 of 5 bubbles 940 reviews
0.1 mi away
Vrissiana Beach Hotel
Vrissiana Beach Hotel
#15 of 66 in Protaras
4.0 of 5 bubbles 881 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brilliant Hotel Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brilliant Hotel Apartments

Property: Brilliant Hotel Apartments
Address: Cavo Greco Avenue | P.O.B. 3043, Protaras, Paralimni 5310, Cyprus
Region: Cyprus > Famagusta District > Paralimni > Protaras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Protaras
#7 Romantic Hotel in Protaras
Hotel Class:1 star — Brilliant Hotel Apartments 1*
Number of rooms: 117
Also Known As:
Brilliant Hotel Protaras

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing