We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Brilliant!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Brilliant Hotel Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Brilliant Hotel Apartments
Ranked #5 of 66 Hotels in Protaras
Certificate of Excellence
Birmingham
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Brilliant!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2009

Our two weeks at the Brilliant Apartments was lovely. We stayed self catering in a one bed apartment which was fully equiped with hobs, microwave, kettle, toaster and regular clean towels. The staff we very friendly and helpful also. The hotel offers a bbq on a thurs night which I highly recommend as the food is great. There was entertainment several times a week and a social atmosphere in the lobby where guests could relax and watch dvds or the tv. We arrived at the very start of the season so protaras was very quiet but the hotel did its best to offer something to do in the evening. The hotel was very clean, with plenty of sunbeds around the pool. The strip and beach were only a 5 minute walk away. Fig tree bay is the nicest beach and there is lovely coastline walk to another resort further up.

The only downside was that cyprus was very expensive. However there is a supermarket as you enter paralimni. The bus leaves from the stip, drops you outside the supermarket and picks you up an hr later. Also we did the Jeep Safari with First Choice which was poor for the price of it.

I would recommend the Brilliant Apartments and hope you have as lovely a time as we did.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MaryBirmingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

705 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    450
    197
    44
    8
    6
See reviews for
373
206
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (230)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Greek first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
South Wales
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2009

We travelled to the Brilliant Apartments in June '06, you are in one of the best spots as it can be a little noisy down on the main strip, knowing Protaras very well it was one of the reasons why I chose it.

The apartments are very spacious and spotlessly clean. The air-conditioning was freezing! A god send after ther heat wave we were having!! Pool area is great and again very clean.

Overall, I would mark theses apartments 10 out of 10 for everything you could want from a fantastic holiday!!

  • Stayed June 2006, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Penny R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wales
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2009

Myself and my husband stayed in these apartments with our 2 year old twins along with our family ( a party of 11 in total). We were really surprised with the size of the apartments, they were in excellent condition and very clean. We didnt see the cleaner for the first few days but after that she was there everyday. Cots were supplied for the children. The rooms included microwave and hair dryer which you dont often find. Poolside was clean, although the water was very cold, food in the hotel was good. My one dissapointment was the childrens park, the swings were broken and not in very good working order. Only a 2 minute walk to the main strip and beach. The beach was amazing. Cyprus has gone a bit expensive but i think that is the same where ever you go. All in all i think this holiday was a 10 out of 10. Will definatley return to these apartments.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cheethamWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham UK
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2009

Upon our arrival late on Sunday 19th April we were quickly welcomed and checked in by Barry. We then discovered our studio was very spacious and very well equipped with 2 gas rings an electric kettle, toaster, microwave and hairdryer, Studio was cleaned everyday and towels changed after 2 days. Very well located out through rear of pool area accross road and down Eden Square footpath and you are in resort centre.
Best restaurants --- Erato ( complimentary cocktail after meal) Astoria, Yiannia Maries, and Anatolias (cheap but busy) Nicrotis (good for beachside lunches)
Must Do ! book a trip at Kariatas Travel to Famagusta ask for it to be guided by Lazaros amazing, informative and emotional

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank greekfanatic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GLOUCESTERSHIRE
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2009

Our family stayed here last August..It has taken me till jan 09 to be able to write a review as still distressed about the whole experience ! We had read the reviews, so we thought we were going to basic but clean apartments.It was basic, more like a run down asylum...very clinical, with ant infestation !
I don't know where to start really, so will keep it short & sweet....when we booked, we upgraded to half board, to find on arrival, no restaurant, just a very hot , grubby pool side snack bar, with very limited menu(quickly got our money back), but had to search for breakfast & evening meals each day...pricey...inconvienient..air con did not work and in 40 degrees heat even with extra fans , still uncomfortable..the fridge was situated by the childrens bed(unable to move it) and made so much noice had to turn it off each night....constantly ask for loo roll, clean towels, clean sheets and ant powder. The girls only tried to pool once , for 5 minutes , before getting out, the overflow was filthy, pool bottom cracked and things were floating ! the sunbeds had seen better days...
even though off the main road, due to single glazed windows, you constantly heard the passing traffic....
The only good thing to say is the staff were all very helpful and honest ! the apartment were situated in a good location for nightlife.....we love cyprus BUT the brilliant apartments are no longer brilliant!!!!!
p.s When we contacted First choice with our queries, they just said "sorry ,you were mislead and not happy with the apartments , but things do go wrong on holiday !"....

  • Liked — THE STAFF
  • Disliked — OPENING THE APARTMENT DOOR
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank LOCKIES_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2008

My wife and I picked up a last minute SC deal with First Choice and were pleasantly surprised.

We had a third floor apartment which had been partly refurbished, new kitchen equipment and a coat of paint and it was very nice. The tiny bathroom had been left out of the refurb package and although was cleaned daily it looked tired with discoloured grouting and stained bath.

We also had an issue with the towels which were supposed to be changed 5 times a week. Arriving on a Wednesday night our first change was Saturday and Monday we had to chase them up again. No problem they were very apologetic (twice) but it was a minus point.

Everywhere was clean and the staff were friendly and helpful,

As per previous reviews the pool and area was kept spotless and the sunbeds were plentiful. The beach 10 minutes walk away was also clean and the water clear and definately one of the best I have seen for a long time.

Also found the hotel drinks and food were expensive compared to the miriad of restaurants 5 minutes walk away through the Eden Square development. Chatting to half board residents they found the choice limited and repetitive.

The breakfast was good at 5.80 Euros but the 6 Euro Full English at Cheers bar was twice the size and a large pot of tea to boot so they got our custom after the first morning.

All in all a very nice resort, would we come here again, most definately and would probably stay at the Brilliant Apartments again.

  • Liked — Newly refurbished dining and living area
  • Disliked — 70's vintage bathroom with discoloured grout and stained bath/toilet
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank StingreyCanterbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2008

I have stayed at this hotel 4 times now, and have never had any problems. I have stayed with my partner and on a seperate occasion with my mum and friend. The Brilliant has everything you could want from a basic package holiday,and at very good rates. The accomodation is basic, but clean and has huge rooms. The location is excellent just a little 2 minute walk down the path to the centre, but far enough out of the way so you don't experience the noise. The staff are very friendly, and the food is cheap and very nice. The pool is clean and a good size and stores are close at hand, we go to Georges. This is not the Ritz, but for the price you cannot complain, it is good for mainly couples, older travellers and families. You tend to find mainly British people at this hotel and resort, and people return to this hotel year after year and i can see why. The BBQ night is worth a look and trips are plentiful, we always travel with Thomson and so far have had no problems. We can't wait to return, and will definately stay at the Brilliant!

  • Liked — the location and relaxed, friendly environment
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dag758
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Protaras hotels
0.1 mi away
Sunrise Gardens Hotel
Sunrise Gardens Hotel
#1 of 66 in Protaras
5.0 of 5 bubbles 404 reviews
0.3 mi away
Capo Bay Hotel
Capo Bay Hotel
#8 of 66 in Protaras
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,518 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sunrise Beach Hotel
Sunrise Beach Hotel
#6 of 66 in Protaras
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,735 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Constantinos the Great Beach Hotel
1.8 mi away
Golden Coast Beach Hotel
Golden Coast Beach Hotel
#11 of 66 in Protaras
4.5 of 5 bubbles 940 reviews
0.1 mi away
Vrissiana Beach Hotel
Vrissiana Beach Hotel
#15 of 66 in Protaras
4.0 of 5 bubbles 881 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brilliant Hotel Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brilliant Hotel Apartments

Property: Brilliant Hotel Apartments
Address: Cavo Greco Avenue | P.O.B. 3043, Protaras, Paralimni 5310, Cyprus
Region: Cyprus > Famagusta District > Paralimni > Protaras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Protaras
#7 Romantic Hotel in Protaras
Hotel Class:1 star — Brilliant Hotel Apartments 1*
Number of rooms: 117
Also Known As:
Brilliant Hotel Protaras

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing