We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely hotel and great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Vrissiana Beach Hotel
Ranked #15 of 66 Hotels in Protaras
Certificate of Excellence
Essex
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel and great location”
Reviewed 4 September 2009

After reading the reviews on Trip Advisor I was very worried about the experience we were going to have but I must say I was pleasantly surprised. The hotel was stunning in both decor and location. We were placed on the first floor in the middle and yes we could hear the noise from the bars but in no way did it bother us and we never had a problem sleeping.
We spent most of our time on the sunbeds in the garden area near to the beach, with a beach that gorgeous why not! To get a sunbed around the pool you would need to get to get in there early but there were always plently of sunbeds to go around, even at the busiest time at the weekend we still managed to get a sunbed.
I would like to mention the locals, now after seeing other complaints about the situation I would like to say that we never experienced any problems. We were Half Board and therefore were not visiting the bar but I would say that the locals got preferential treatment because of one simple fact, they were spending money and lots of it! They did get charged to use the sunbeds but as I said there were plently to go around.
The food in the hotel was of a good standard and at breakfast there was something for everyone. But I would like to recommend for a traditional Greek night visit Romeo's Taverna which it towards the end of the Protarus Strip in Fig Tree Bay. (turn left out of the hotel and keeping walking for 10 minutes and it is next to a large Chinese restaurant) On Wednesday, Friday and Sunday nights they have traditional Greek dancing and entertainment and you have to try a traditional Greek Meze, yummy!
I would say that this hotel would be more suited to couples rather than familes as not a lot for children to do and the First Choice brochure does recommend the hotel as adults only.
We had a fantastic time and would stay again at the Vrissiana Beach Hotel.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SXGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

882 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    460
    218
    107
    57
    40
See reviews for
290
388
13
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (175)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2009

My partner and I arrived on the Sunday evening to find the pool bar taken over completely by the locals and the noise levels were horrendous. We just looked at each other and thought "what have we done". This fabulous hotel is completely spoiled by the fact that the hotel is taken over at weekends by the locals and guests are pushed to the side by hotel management. Our First Choice Rep didn't want to know. You couldn't find a table at lunchtime and service at the bar was awful as locals came first. The pool was the same. So crowded, not pleasurable at all. Such a shame as the location of hotel is fantastic. Food was okay, breakfast excellent, but evening meals were mediocre. By the second week evening meals all had a sameness about them. Wouldn't consider going half board again to this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lesley044
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
merseyside
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 August 2009

The hotel we couldn't fault,spotless everywhere,staff on the whole were great ( sergej,maria,pambos,aris,ion,eugeneous-my friend) very helpful,nothing was too much trouble.Big up to adelle and jenna,made us feel very welcome,loved our chats!! Rooms were cleaned etc every day for 2 weeks. The hotel is right on the beach,lovely clear water,lots of watersports on the door step,bars and shops again right on your doorstep,we were on the 5th floor in the middle,we could hear the noise from the bar at the top of the road but it didnt keep us awake,it finishes around 2am. At weekends there are locals but they are only allowed in the bar area or if holiday makers had vacated the sunbeds they could use them at the night time also the pool,again didnt bother us. It was sometimes hard work trying to get drinks at the pool bar (if all inc) because of the paying locals but there are people walking around the pool area taking your orders so wasnt a major problem.. Wish everyone we met all the very best and enjoy the rest of the season out there.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jus111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sunderland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2009

After reading all the reviews on this hotel, i was a bit worried to say the least. The one thing that all the reviews seemed to say was "the locals take over", and werent they right! We arrived on the Wednesday for a 2 week holiday, and for the first couple of days, it was fine, but then the weekend came along...and so did the locals! The poolside bar was crawling with them, even in the pool, total madness! They came on the Friday (it was there bank holiday weekend), were willing to buy full price food and drink, even though there was the rest of us who had paid for our holidays in advance, and it seemed as though we were pushed to the back of the queue for these locals. The only time there was a lifeguard was at the weekend, when the locals were there!

Enough about the locals, because, ok, for 4-5 days of the holiday werent that good poolside....the other 9-10 days were brilliant! Ok, not many poolside activities, but we made our own laughs with another English family (Crazy Liverpool lot!) The hotel is perfectly situated, 20 yards from the poolside bar to the beach! Even going out on a night, only 30 yards to the main strip! It can be quite noisy on a night, we were in room 003, and altough it was quite loud, were just became used to it after 2-3 nights. The rooms were faultless. very spacious rooms, with a king size bed!

The food was ok...breakfast had plenty to chose from every morning. The evening meals were quite good. I would say that for over 14 meals, there was only 2-3 times when i struggled to find a nice meal. Word of warning...AVOID THE CYPRIOT NIGHT! The food was awful, the worst menu by far! Each night has a different menu i.e Greek night, carvery night, Italian night!

And last but not least JENNA AND ADELLE! The 2 premiere entertainers. Jenna has a great voice, which you can hear in the hotel on a night. Jenna is such a nice girl, will do anything for you...EXCEPT HELP ME WITH QUIZ ANSWERS!

All in all, we had such a fantastic holiday, so im not going to let the locals spoil it or change my review. The rest of the staff at the hotel were very nice too...Eygenios couldnt do enough for you! If you are going on holiday to this hotel, dont be put off by the locals...JUST GO AND SPLASH THEM!

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank seanj1888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Wales
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2009

Well lets start on a positive note. We stayed at this hotel for 2 weeks in July all-inclusive. The hotel is beautiful and its location on the beach is fantastic. We found the bedrooms, decor, cleanliness, food, service and friendliness of the staff excellent and could find no fault. This was the most that we had ever paid for a holiday and was the first without our two children and we were expecting a peaceful sophisticated 4 star hotel where we could relax for two weeks, however, there were two major problems with it and I mean major.

Firstly the influx of hundreds of young 'locals' every Saturday and Sunday with a DJ by the pool bar blasting out music from lunchtime until early evening, which made sitting by the pool area totally unbearable for my parents who were in their 70's, in effect there were four days of their holiday which were ruined because they were not able to enjoy the beautiful pool area due to the noise.

On weekends, the paying guests are forgotten by the hotel management because all they are interested in is getting money over the bar and pool snack bar with grossly inflated prices. (Jacket potato was 10 euro and a coke 4 euros). During the weekend invasion, forget it if you needed to use the toilets serving the pool area urgently because they were being used by the 'locals' as changing rooms and were being left in a disgusting state with wet floors and paper strewn all over the place. Weekdays the toilets were spotlessly clean. There were also different rules for paying and non-paying guests. It was ok for a 'local' to stand in the pool with a cup of coffee, but not for a paying guest to play with a ball. They were also allowed around the pool area with glass bottles. By the way the 'locals'were not supposed to be in or around the pool.

Secondly, the nosie from the Ghetto bar and the Bliss bar (owned by the hotel) is horrendous until 2am every morning. This is the first hotel in over 20 years that we have been to, in which we have not been able to enjoy a drink on the balcony in the evenings because of the noise. Many of the guests including my parents had bought ear plugs from the chemist and even these were not effective . The only solution to a nights sleep was to go out, have a good drink and go back to the hotel when these bars have closed! (but you shouldn't have to when you are paying a lot of money for your holiday in a four star hotel).

The management are supposed to have control over the Bliss bar but they do nothing about it. In fact they sit there in the bar themselves watching the tills ringing and turn up the loudness of the 'music' to compete with the Ghetto bar opposite. They must know that they are upsetting the hotel guests because there were so many requests to the Reps and reception to change rooms to try and get away from the noise. I suggest that they try sleeping in one of the rooms nearer to the street..We really felt sorry for guests who were unable to change bedrooms and had to suffer night after night.

It must sound that we are continual moaners, but this is the first negative report that we have ever written about an hotel because we are so angry that our holiday was spoilt. It is such a pity that this hotel is being ruined by it's own management. We would dearly love to return to this hotel because there are so many positive aspects to it, but unless the hotel management sort out the problems that paying guests are continually protesting about then we and others will not return.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank frustratedSouthWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambs
Level Contributor
1 review
Reviewed 9 August 2009

We stayed at the Vrissiana for a week in july, overall the hotel was really good and we enjoyed our stay there. The hotel itself was very clean, the staff were friendly and helpful and we had a lovely room with a good sea view. The pool area was well maintained and finding a sunbed by the pool was no problem. There were locals there at the weekend but we didn't have a problem getting served at the bar and it wasn't half as bad as what some people have made out. The location was great as it was right on the beach but you need to be at the beach early to get a sunbed.
The option of changing dinner to lunch at the hotel is a very good idea as the food in the restaurant is poor. Only on the sunday when we went for lunch we were told that we couldn't eat lunch at the pool bar and had to go to the restaurant for the buffet food because we weren't Cypriut! So we were p****d off.to say the least lol. This didn't matter too much though as there was a really nice restaurant at the top of the road called the "Andama" and the spring rolls must be tried lol, they also gave you 10% off each time you came back.
The noise from the bliss bar and the ghetto bar might be a problem for some people as it carries on until the early morning around 2am but overall we had a really good stay there.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank skaba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LONDON!
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2009

JENNA... apart of the entertainment team Primaire is amazing!! she made our holiday worth while! Lovely girl who will go out of her way for you! absolutly amazing singer, but unfortunutly dont get to hear her sing unless you snink next door to conts to hear her sing!
Me and my boyfriend stayed her on the 15 july for 2 weeks~! A beautiful hotel shame about the noise and the locals.
The locals do get invited in at the weekend and get complete prioritie over the guests staying! The management is ovoiusly not run very well! the way they treat there staff is discusting!
When eating your dinner or lunch dont put your knife and fork down unless you have finished as the waiting staff are litterally waiting to take your plate off of you!
The actuall hotel is gorgeous! and the staff are friendly!
the noise from the bliss bar and ghetto bar is soo loud so dont be affraid to complain as they will move you to a differnt room!
Overall the hotel is amamzing, the food is okay but you might find your self going out to eat some nights as some of the themed nights are awfull.
The staff are lovly just annoying when they are hoovering over you waiting for your plate. The entertainment in the hotel is not the bad, the girls do try there best!
Jenna is absolutly great!!!!!! she deserves a pay rise!!

This comment was written mainly for the eyes of the management as there attitude towards there guests is discusting!!! Being a paying customer whilst being a guest means nothing to them! this hotel is money money money! that is all they want from you!!
They will soon relise that all there old guest ( me and my partner been there 2 times!)
will not be returning to the vrissina as we will be going to capo bay next year!
Every year less and less holiday makers will be going to this hotel as it will probly be a local hotel!!!!!!
If you want people to return the treat your guest with respect!! and staff!!!!!

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SASASASASAHA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Protaras hotels
0.1 mi away
Constantinos the Great Beach Hotel
0.4 mi away
Capo Bay Hotel
Capo Bay Hotel
#8 of 66 in Protaras
1,534 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sunrise Pearl Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Golden Coast Beach Hotel
Golden Coast Beach Hotel
#11 of 66 in Protaras
961 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sunrise Beach Hotel
Sunrise Beach Hotel
#7 of 66 in Protaras
1,750 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sunrise Gardens Hotel
Sunrise Gardens Hotel
#1 of 66 in Protaras
406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vrissiana Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vrissiana Beach Hotel

Property: Vrissiana Beach Hotel
Address: Hotels Avenue, Protaras, Paralimni 5311, Cyprus
Region: Cyprus > Famagusta District > Paralimni > Protaras
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Protaras
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Protaras
#12 Luxury Hotel in Protaras
#14 Romantic Hotel in Protaras
#15 Family Hotel in Protaras
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Vrissiana Beach Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Designed to resemble a billowing sail with its unique boat shape, Vrissiana Beach Hotel combines architecture, chic interior design, and contemporary style. With its fresh modern aesthetic, breathtaking surrounding and impeccable service, guests are spoiled in every way. It is primly located on one of the finest golden sandy beaches of Cyprus in the heart of Protaras, next to many attractions. The elegant and spacious rooms offer stunning panoramic views of the crystal clear Mediterranean Sea, tempting you to enjoy a relaxing morning or an afternoon on the room's balcony. The plunge pool with its private cabanas and the popular beach bar are the ideal spot for your ultimate relaxation. It is the perfect setting for holiday makers that seek prime location, tasteful accommodation, delicious cuisine, sports and entertainment, peace and relaxation. One of the contemporary hotels in the area and an ideal refined getaway for couples. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and HotelQuickly so you can book your Vrissiana Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vrissiana Boutique Beach Protaras
Hotel Vrissiana Boutique Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing