We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Silver Sands Beach Hotel
Ranked #26 of 65 Hotels in Protaras
Reviewed 11 June 2012

Only Stayed BB as too many nice eating places we like to visit.Hotel was spotless location great some rooms can be a bit noisy.However it is right on the strip so it is expected and after all people are on holiday having fun !!!!.Been going to Cyprus for many years and 1st time we are ever going back to the same hotel. Sunbeds are lovely really could,nt fault staff do anything for you.Lovely outside bar area with fab views.We had 2 rooms both lovely looking forward to going back

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank janetskem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (862)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

620 - 626 of 862 reviews

Reviewed 10 June 2012

We stayed at Silver Sands Hotel, Protaras, for one week 23/05/12 B&B. This was my third stay. Having lost my husband in January I was reluctant to return. My daughter-in-law kindly came on holiday with me. We had a real chill out on the super king-size sunbeds. The room was spotless and clean, with a fantastic view, clean towels and beach towels daily, the buffet breakfast had great choice and was great quality. Location as perfect as ever. A special thank you to the lovely Magda, front desk manager, who knew my late husband, was kind, thoughtful and understanding. We hope to return again, with so many preciosu memories Silver Sands holds a special place in my heart. Well done all staff. Thank you.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Jean S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2012

Some rooms are OK but others were dirty and stains on the bed covers which I don't want to know what they were! On our landing there were someones fake nails on the carpet which were there for about a week before the cleaners hoovered. YUK !

If you think you're getting a front sea view room think again. They don't meet UK safety regulations so if you have booked from the UK you won't get one even if your travel agent take a booking for it like ours did and expensive it was too and when you get back home to dispute it they will deny you ever paid extra! You won't want one anyway as a whole host of HUGE insects crawl out of the balcony drain cover at night so you can't even enjoy sitting out there at all unless one of you is on insect watch poised with the killer spray.

Special mention to the manager, there are to many names to list of what I called her in my head. Rude, unprofessional, will try to over charge for anything she can. You can tell the other staff hate her too.

There are loads of other hotels to choose from, yes this one looks nice but the photos on sites are at a guess about 7 years old and nothing like whats there.

Room Tip: Don't pay extra, just take a side sea view (standard room)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank GavF123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2012

Wife and I stayed here in April 2011. Location near the beach is spot on although not as good as the Odessa Beach Hotel (owned by the Tsokkos group and right beside the silver sands) its pool area touches the beach. Silver sands is a few minutes walk along a stoney path (wife was pregnant at the time so it wasnt as easy as it might be for some people). The odessa - looked a million times better when we were in there (which was quite regularly as it turns out).

The hotel entertainment in the silver sands is a bit different to the odessa - as you might expect ones a 3 star and the others a 4 star. You awake around 10am to the water gym team warmin up - "Move ya body nice and slow and sexy" then the dance music starts and the (mostly) elder guests get in the water. The guy on the mic continues this sort of shouting for a while before the water polo. If you wana sit by the pool you are harassed - entertainment team seemed worried for their jobs when I was there and sat on the end of your lounger to have a chat about why you didnt wana join in. When we were there it was the over 60s chav club from various parts of England running the place. Drinking from 11am and generally shouting chucking each other into the pool and shouting loudly. Now they werent intimidating or unfriendly but they were LOUD. Two days in we walked along the beach to the right and decided to try a lounger over at the odessa (last row over looking the sea) - best move we ever made and never went back. Quieter and no hassle for the games - so I did join in when it suited me. We were B&B and only tried the dinner in the silver sands once - found it to be a dull over priced buffet. There are loads of eateries dotted along the strip which blow this place out of the water for both service, price and taste. Even the staff at the restaurant couldnt work out why were eating in the hotel. They checked our room number and said - "your only B&B". We said yeah but we thought we'd check out the hotel food. They had to check this out with the floor manager. A big show was created and we were told we would have to pay (I think it was 25e per head or so) - we never said we wouldnt. Once it had all been explained (real complicated stuff) and we were given the food (similar to a £5 chinese buffet) we were soo angry we never went back.

Night time entertainment was typical enough loud karaoke and party games for kids - we were far enough away from the main disco room but when you went out on the balcony for a drink it was like you were in the disco - if you like that sort of thing this is the place for you.

My advice is - if you enjoy loud in your face entertainment and games go here otherwise spend a few extra quid and check out the odessa!

Room Tip: Far far away from the entertainment
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Power_2_The_HaveNots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2012

We stayed at this resort as recommended by my in laws. They go to Protaras every year and stay at the sister hotel Illiada (which is next door) We booked Silver sands as it was cheaper than Illiada and my father in law said he always wanted to try the hotel, so we did instead. We arrived around 2am to a rather fed up looking receptionist. But we felt the same as we had been travelling for a while! On arrival the hotel was lovely and really clean, this reflected on our room and we had a partial sea view. Breakfast was the usual buffet style, it wasn't overally amazing but nice all the same, well apart from the eggs they were disgusting! We stayed on a B&B basis so cannot comment on lunch or dinner as we dined out every night. The staff were friendly and the hotel manager was often seen around and very approachable. The hotel in my opinion is in the perfect spot. The front is on the beach and the back is on the main strip where there is numerous restaurants, pubs and food outlets. The noise can be heard from our room but that didn't bother us at all. We used to walk a few minutes up to Ripples bar(near Mcdonalds and Psynix bar) which serves the best food and cocktails around. Our only down side was the quality of the late check out room we used, as we weren't flying home till late evening and check out is 12 we were offered an hour slot to use a late check out room. This isnt cleaned after each use and we had to use it after some couple who didn't flush the toilet or clean the shower area after them. But there is an option to keep your room for longer on the day of check out but we were to late to book it, so my advice is book this as soon as you arrive. Once we have done our travelling around we will most definitely be going back to Silver Sands, we loved it!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank kelly281702
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for a week and the hotel has obviously just recently been done up, after reading previous reviews about this hotel before arriving. Can not fault it, perfect location right in the centre of the resort down a side street. Had an amazing sea view role which is definitely worth paying more for! Breakfast overlooking the pool and sea view in an outside area. The pool sunbeds are amazing and so comfy! There are many of them as they are like king size beds as sunloungers, but never had to rush up early to get them. Plus there is always the sunloungers overlooking the beach!. I only stayed bed and breakfast, which I would recommend as there are so many fantastic restaurants in the resort!. The staff are friendly to everyone and always want to help. Would definitely go back to this resort, I always normally go for 4 star minimum but this is definitely worth a visit and deserves a higher rating!

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Emmaj03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2012

This is our 8th time at the Silver Sands, and once again we had a superb holiday. The amenities are great, as it has been totaly refurbished, the food is great, and the staff are very helpful and friendly, especially David who is on reception of a night time.he is so helpful, and friendly. It is a great location to have a chill out holiday, right on the beach, and also only a short walk to all the bars and shops. We will definitely be back again next year. Thankyou to Mr Tsokkos and all his superb staff.

Room Tip: Side sea view rooms are superb, and also the front sea view rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Derek M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Protaras hotels
0 mi away
Iliada Beach Hotel
Iliada Beach Hotel
#49 of 65 in Protaras
569 reviews
0.3 mi away
Constantinos the Great Beach Hotel
0.2 mi away
Vrissiana Beach Hotel
Vrissiana Beach Hotel
#19 of 65 in Protaras
1,020 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Sunrise Beach Hotel
Sunrise Beach Hotel
#6 of 65 in Protaras
2,023 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sunrise Gardens Hotel
Sunrise Gardens Hotel
#3 of 65 in Protaras
564 reviews
0.2 mi away
Capo Bay Hotel
Capo Bay Hotel
#7 of 65 in Protaras
1,783 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silver Sands Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silver Sands Beach Hotel

Address: Dimokritou 3, Protaras, Paralimni 5296, Cyprus
Region: Cyprus > Famagusta District > Paralimni > Protaras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 65 Hotels in Protaras
Price Range: £76 - £279 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Silver Sands Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 132
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Silver Sands is superbly located in the heart of Protaras center and primly set directly on one of the most beautiful crystal clear sandy beaches of Protaras. The hotel appeals to families and couples who seek a cozy, contemporary, stylish hotel, offering a relaxing retreat by the beach in a hospitable and welcoming atmosphere. The plunge pool with its private cabanas and the popular beach bar are the ideal spots for the ultimate relaxation. Enjoy from the lobby bar terrace the beautiful sunsets and magnificent views of the Mediterranean Sea, along with your favorite cocktail. The ideal choice for a truly memorable beach holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Silver Sands Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silver Sands Beach Protaras
Hotel Silver Sands Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing